Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business

Program Structure

With eight classroom sites and a flexible, distance-learning format, the Professional MBA program allows you to access your coursework when and where is most convenient for your busy schedule. The program consists of six seven-week terms in a calendar year, with up to a week off between each term.

In each seven-week term, students are enrolled in one to two courses that meet one evening per week from 6–9 p.m at PMBA regional locations and on-demand (in real time). A recording of each evening class session is made available the following morning. 

  • Spring I:  January to March
  • Spring II:  March to May
  • Summer I:  May to June
  • Summer II:  July to August
  • Fall I:  August to October
  • Fall II:  October to December 

2023 Academic Calendar

Please note that these dates are subject to change if there are revisions to the UofSC calendar due to COVID-19.

Saturday, Jan. 7
Spring 2023 New Student Orientation (UofSC Columbia campus)

Monday, Jan. 9
Spring I term begins

Monday, Jan. 16
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (no classes)

Saturday, Jan. 21
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Saturday, Feb. 18
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Monday, Feb. 27
Spring I term ends

Tuesday, Feb. 28–Thursday, March 9
Term Break (no classes)

Monday, March 13
Spring II term begins

Saturday, March 25
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Saturday, April 22
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Thursday, April 27
Spring II term ends

Monday, May 1–Thursday, May 4
Term Break (no classes)

Thursday, May 4
Darla Moore School of Business Spring Hooding Ceremony

Tuesday, May 9
Summer I term begins

Saturday, May 20
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Monday, May 29
Memorial Day holiday (no classes)

Saturday, June 17
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Moday, June 19
Juneteenth Holiday 

Thursday, June 22
Summer I term ends

Monday, June 26
Summer II term begins 

Monday, July 3-Tuesday, July 4
Observance of Independence Day holiday (no classes)

Saturday, July 15
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Saturday, Aug. 5
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Tuesday, Aug. 15
Summer II term ends

Wednesday, Aug. 16–Thursday, Aug. 24
Term Break (no classes)

Saturday, Aug. 19
Fall 2023 New Student Orientation (UofSC Columbia campus)

Monday, Aug. 28
Fall I term begins 

Monday, Sept. 4
Labor Day holiday (no classes)

Saturday, Sept. 9
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Saturday, Oct. 7
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Monday, Oct. 16
Fall I term ends

Tuesday, Oct. 17 - Tuesday, Oct. 24
Term Break (no classes)

Wednesday, Oct. 25
Fall II term begins

Saturday, Nov. 11
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Wednesday, Nov. 22–Thursday, Nov. 23
Observance of Thanksgiving holiday (no classes)

Saturday, Dec. 9
Class day for select PMBA courses (UofSC Columbia campus)

Thursday, Dec. 14
Fall II term ends

Sunday, Dec. 17
Darla Moore School of Business Fall Hooding Ceremony

Course Delivery Options 

 

Real-Time Classrooms

Attend face-to-face classes in real time at one of eight regional sites.

Saturday Classes

Attend day-long, in-person classes on select Saturdays in Columbia to network with fellow students.

Video Conferencing

Traveling for work or have a conflict that prevents you from attending class in-person? Join class virtually or watch a recording of the lecture at a time that's convenient for you.  


 

Upcoming Events

Professional MBA Webinar

Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2023

Location: See Description for Event Location.

Cost: FREE

Professional MBA Webinar

Monday, Feb. 20, 2023

Location: See Description for Event Location.

Cost: FREE

Professional MBA Webinar

Thursday, Mar. 23, 2023

Location: See Description for Event Location.

Cost: FREE

View the Calendar

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©