Skip to Content

Darla Moore School of Business


Laura B. Cardinal

Title: SmartState Endowed Chair and Director, Center for Innovation and Commercialization
Department: Department of Management
Darla Moore School of Business
Phone: 803-777-5970

Darla Moore School of Business, Room 410G



Laura B. Cardinal is the SmartState Endowed Chair and Director for the Center for Innovation and Commercialization at the Darla Moore School of Business at the University of South Carolina. Previously, Cardinal was a faculty member at Tulane University, where she served as director of the Burkenroad Institute for the Study of Ethics and Leadership. As director, Cardinal was responsible for the Annual Symposium on Business and Society: Themes included “The Quest for Fool’s Gold: Risks and Rewards of Emerging Technologies,” “Leadership and the Eye for Innovation,” and “Critical Moments in Leadership: Changing the Rules of the Game.”

Cardinal’s expertise centers on the implementation of innovation goals and strategies and includes the effects of organizational control and coordination on innovation, R&D, new product development teams, product commercialization, and founding firm adaptation. She has received awards for both research and teaching in these areas. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin where she was a National Science Foundation grant recipient.

Cardinal serves on the editorial boards of the Academy of Management Journal, the Academy of Management Discoveries, and the Journal of Organization Design. She was a Co-Chair for the 37th Annual Strategic Management Society 2017 Houston Conference. She sat on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Management (AOM) and on the Board of Directors of the Strategic Management Society (SMS) and served as Associate Editor of the Academy of Management Annals and on grant panels at the National Science Foundation. She previously served on the editorial boards of Organization Science and Strategic Management Journal, as the Chair for the Competitive Strategy Interest Group of the SMS, and as the Program and Division Chair for the Technology and Innovation Management Division of the AOM.


  • Ph.D., University of Texas, 1990 
  • B.A., University of Texas, 1982