Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • DSA15

Awards and Critiques

SIPA recognizes individual student work, publications, advisers and friends of scholastic journalism through contests and scholarships.

Program and Publication Critiques


Individual Contests



SIPA offers four scholarships for students who plan to attend college. Read scholarship descriptions and some requirements below.


Individual Honors

SIPA honors advisers, administrators and other supporters of SIPA and scholastic journalism each year at the convention. SIPA members can nominate individuals for any of the following awards.

Col. C.E. Savedge Adviser Fellowship

One or two fellowships will be awarded in memory of Col. Savedge at each convention. Publications advisers who have never attended the Carolina Journalism Institute are eligible to win. Fellowship must be used to attend the Carolina Journalism Institute in June.

Dr. Kay Phillips Administrator of the Year Award

SIPA's first Principal of the Year Award was presented at the 1988 convention. Recipients are nominated by students or advisers and must nurture the principles of scholastic journalism. The winner should attend the convention.

Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Awards

These awards recognize advisers, teachers and friends of scholastic journalism who have contributed extraordinary amounts of time, talent and energy to SIPA. See form for award requirements. 

Joseph W. Shoquist Freedom of the Press Award

SIPA's Freedom of the Press Award was initiated in 1989 in recognition of an adviser's use of her First Amendment rights on the high school level. The award, named in honor of a former dean of the School of Journalism, will be given periodically when someone makes a strong stand for scholastic journalism.

Karen H. Flowers Outstanding Service Award

SIPA's Outstanding Service Award was awarded for the first time in 2010 as the New Friend of Scholastic Media Award. This award, renamed in honor of former director Karen Flowers, goes to an individual who is not in the classroom but who has significantly supported scholastic journalism. 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.