Skip to Content

College of Information and Communications

  • students at RTDNAC competition

Broadcast journalism students win big at RTDNAC awards

Top photo: Some of the faculty, alumni and students attending the RTDNAC awards ceremony: (l to r): Hanna Barton, Senior Instructor Laura Smith, Deric Rush, Finn Carlin, Justin Walsh, Ashley Listrom and Davia Pugh.

Finn Carlin
Finn Carlin

Student journalists from the University of South Carolina were celebrated Nov. 11 at the 2023 Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas Convention at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. The students, most of whom have since graduated and are now working in the industry, were honored for work completed during their Senior Capstone Course in 2022-23, Carolina News.

Finn Carlin won the top student award and was named the D. Haney Howell Student Journalist of the Year. Carlin also placed first in the Best Student Feature Reporting and Best Student News Reporting categories. He is now a news producer for Action News Jax.

The Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas is a nonprofit, volunteer organization dedicated to showcasing the best broadcast journalism in North Carolina and South Carolina and supporting college students who aspire to a journalism career.

Haney Howell Student Journalist of the Year

  • 1st Place: Finn Carlin

Ken White Best Student Newscast

Best Student TV Weathercast

Best Student Feature Reporting

Best Student News Reporting

Best Student Sports Story

  • 2nd Place: These Dames Play Tackle – Kendall Smith. Smith is now a Charlotte Knights Team Reporter, Charlotte Checkers Host and ESPN+ Sideline Reporter.

Best Student Sportscast

  • 2nd Place: Carolina News Sportscast: Hanna Barton. Barton is now a graduate student at IU-Purdue.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.