Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

Department of English Language and Literature

Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Amadon, Samuel Associate Professor 803-576-5983 amadon@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Bajo, David Professor 803-576-5974 bajo@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Barilla, James Associate Professor 803-576-5889 barilla@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Blackwell, Elise Professor eliseblackwell@outlook.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Brinkmeyer, Robert Professor 803-777-2340 brinkmey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Britton, Jeanne M. Affiliate Faculty Curator, Irvin Department of Rare Books and Special Collections 803-576-5954 JBRITTON@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brock, Kevin Associate Professor 803-576-6002 kmbrock@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Brown, Paul Tolliver Instructor 803-777-4203 brownpt2@mailbox.sc.edu English, Language and Literature
Faculty Chun, Elaine Associate Professor 803-576-5986 chune@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Clementi, Federica Schoeman Associate Professor 803-576-5885 clementi@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cochran, Shannon Instructor 803-777-4203 ferrism@mailbox.sc.edu English
Faculty Cohen, Debra Rae Professor 803-576-5961 drc@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Collins, Alyssa Assistant Professor 803-576-5886 ac95@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cooper, Mark Garrett Faculty Senate Chair, Professor 803-576-5991 coopermg@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Coriale, Danielle Assistant Professor 803-576-5842 dcoriale@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Countryman, Liz Assistant Professor 803-576-5891 countrym@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Courtney, Susan Professor Associate Chair 803-777-3265 courtney@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Cowart, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus cowartd@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Crocker, Holly Professor 803-576-5962 hcrocker@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Davis, Cynthia Professor Associate Dean for Arts, Humanities and Communications 803-777-0525 cjdavis@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Dings, Fred Associate Professor 803-777-9047 dings@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Disterheft, Dorothy Professor Emeritus ddisterheft@sc.rr.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Dowdy, Michael Associate Professor 803-576-5945 mdowdy@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Doxtader, Erik Professor erik.doxtader@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Dubinsky, Stanley Professor 803-777-2208 dubinsky@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Edwards, Jonathan Senior Instructor edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Ercolini, Gina Associate Professor 803-576-5953 ginaercolini@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Feldman, Paula C. Wallace Martin Professor 803-576-5894 feldmanp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Fenske, Mindy Associate Professor 803-777-6595 fenske@sc.edu English Language and LIterature
Faculty Finney, Nikky John H. Bennett, Jr. Endowed Professor of Creative Writing and Southern Letters 803-777-9433 finneylc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Fisk, Nicole Plyler Senior Instructor Associate Director of First-Year English 803-777-7528 fisknp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Forter, Greg Professor 803-576-5895 gforter1@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Friend, Christy Professor 803-777-8322 chfriend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Garriott, Deidre Director of the Writing Center & Instructor 803-777-2078 deidreg@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gavin, Michael Associate Professor 803-777-3741 mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gehrke, Pat J. Professor 803-576-5958 gehrke@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gieskes, Edward Associate Professor 803-576-5909 gieskese@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Glavey, Brian Associate Professor Director of Graduate Studies 803-576-5535 glavey@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Graves, Sammantha Instructor 803-777-6863 gravessm@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Greven, David Professor 803-576-5945 dgreven@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gulick, Anne W. Associate Professor 803-576-5969 agulick@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Gwara, Scott Professor 803-777-9493 gwaras@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Hawk, Byron Professor 803-576-5910 bhawk@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Holcomb, Chris Professor 803-777-2253 holcombc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jackson, Leon Associate Professor 803-576-5948 jacksol@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jarrells, Anthony Associate Professor 803-576-5993 jarrells@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Jelly-Schapiro, Eli Associate Professor 803-777-4203 jellysch@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Johnson-Feelings, Dianne Professor 803-466-5646 dianne@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Keyser, Catherine Professor McCausland Fellow 803-576-5957 catkeyser@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Lee, Seulghee Assistant Professor 803-777-4203 seulghee@mailbox.sc.edu English
Faculty Levine, Nina Professor and Chair 803-777-7120 levinen@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Liu, Qiandi Assistant Professor 803-777-2635 Qiandi.Liu@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Lynn, Steven Dean, Louise Fry Scudder Professor South Carolina Honors College 803-777-2128 lynns@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Madden, Ed Professor 803-576-5995 maddene@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Miller, David Lee Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus dmill1951@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Minett, Mark Assistant Professor 803-576-5972 minett@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Muckelbauer, John Associate Professor 803-576-5944 muckelba@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Myerson, Joel Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-2165 myersonj@mailbox.sc.edu English Language & Literature
Faculty Ozselcuk, Evren Instructor 803-777-2339 ozselcuk@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature; Film and Media Studies
Faculty Pellechia, Marianne Instructor 803-777-9776 PELLECHM@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Powell, Tara Associate Professor 803-777-4203 tfpowell@gmail.com English Language and Literature
Faculty Rhu, Lawrence Distinguished Professor Emeritus rhul@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rice, Thomas Jackson Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-9493 tomrice@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Richey, Esther Gilman Professor Emeritus 803-777-4203 richeye@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rivers, William Distinguished Professor Emeritus riversw@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Rule, Hannah Assistant Professor 803-576-5975 ruleh@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Scott, Patrick Distinguished Professor Emeritus (803) 777-1275 scottp@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shields, David S. Carolina Distinguished Professor 803-576-5980 dshields@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Shifflett, Andrew Associate Professor 803-576-5977 shifflett@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Steele, Meili Distinguished Professor Emeritus steelem@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Stern, Rebecca Associate Professor 803-777-2171 stern2@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Staff Thorp, Laura Graduate Student Coordinator 803-777-5063 thorp@mailbox.sc.edu Department of English Language and Literature
Faculty Trafton, Scott Associate Professor 803-576-5890 traftons@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Vanderborg, Susan Associate Professor 803-576-5905 sjvander@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Walker, Patti Senior Instructor 803-777-9776 walkerpc@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Weldon, Tracey Associate Professor Associate Dean for Diversity, Interdisciplinary Programs and Social Sciences Welsh (803) 576-5994 | Petigru (803) 777-5371 weldont@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Whitted, Qiana J Director, African American Studies Professor 803-576-5981 whitted@sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Williamson, Jason Instructor 803-777-9775 will4434@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature
Faculty Woertendyke, Gretchen Associate Professor Associate Director, Program in Global Studies 803-576-5954 woertend@mailbox.sc.edu English Language and Literature

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©