Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature

Open Book Series

The Open Book, a yearly event, is sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences and hosted by Elise Blackwell. It is a literary series, public course, and community read all in one. Writers who have visited include Ian McEwan, Colson Whitehead, John Banville, Celeste Ng, Teju Cole, Jennifer Egan, David Mitchell, Chang Rae Lee, and Marilynne Robinson. All events are free and open to the public.

The four 2019 Open Book authors

(L-R) Elizabeth Strout | Michael Crummey | Timothy Donnelly | Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

2019 Open Book

The 2019 Series will run Mondays and Wednesdays for four weeks: March 25 - April 17, 6-7 p.m. in the Campus Room of the Capstone Building. You are welcome to attend all eight nights as a public course or just come out to hear a new favorite author.

Each Monday will feature host Elise Blackwell or a guest speaker discussing that week's book, followed by the author's talk on Wednesday. All talks and author appearances run 6-7 p.m., including time for questions. Author visits conclude with a book-signing reception at 7 p.m.

Seating is first come, first served. Sponsored by the College of Arts and Sciences, The Open Book is free and open to all, including students, faculty, staff, and the wider community.



View lists of this year's authors as well as past year's authors.



Monday, March 25: Elise Blackwell’s talk on Anything is Possible

Wednesday, March 27: Elizabeth Strout visits

Monday, April 1: Eli Jelly-Schapiro’s talk on Sweetland

Wednesday, April 3: Michael Crummey visits

Monday, April 8: Samuel Amadon’s talk on Cloud Corporation

Wednesday, April 10: Timothy Donnelly visits

Monday, April 15: Elise Blackwell’s talk on A Kind of Freedom

Wednesday, April 17: Margaret Wilkerson Sexton visits

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.