Skip to Content

School of Medicine Columbia


Our students and faculty regularly win prestigious awards thanks to the vigorous educational and research opportunities available at our school. 

  • Tenure - Congratulations to Dr. Mohomad Azhar for receiving tenure in the Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy. Dr. Azhar was recruited to the University of South Carolina School of Medicine in 2015 from the Indiana School of Medicine where he was a non-tenure track Assistant Professor.

  • Promotion - Congratulations to Dr. Susan Lessner for her promotion to Professor.  Dr. Lessner was recruited to the university as a Centenary Assistant Professor and has played an instrumental role in development of the Biomedical Engineering program.  Her research in vascular mechanics and remodeling is internationally recognized and has been funded by multiple grants from the National Science Foundation and National Institutes of Health.  

  •  South Carolina IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (SC INBRE) - Congratulations to Dr. Edie Goldsmith and the SC INBRE team for the fourth consecutive competitive renewal of the SC INBRE from the National Institute of General Medical Science (NIGMS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).  This $18.9 million grant is designed to support biomedical research and infrastructure across the state of South Carolina. For a full story of this new, click here.

  •  SC INBRE Administrative Supplement for Research in Women's Health – Dr. Holly LaVoie has received funding though the SC INBRE program for her research related to extracellular matrix remodeling in the heart during pregnancy and the postpartum period.  Dr. LaVoie’s research will provide important information regarding the mechanisms of postpartum cardiomyopathy seen in some women following pregnancy. 

  •  Cardiovascular Translational Research Center - Dr. Clinton Webb formerly of Augusta University has been recruited as a Professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy and founding director of the University of South Carolina Cardiovascular Translational Research Center.  Dr. Webb is an internationally-renowned expert in vascular physiology with longtime funding in the hypertension field.  He has mentored numerous junior scientists and led the Department of Physiology at Augusta University to becoming one of the leading physiology departments in the nation.

  •  Welcome - Dr. Ben Hawfield has joined the department as a Clinical Assistant Professor.  Dr. Hawfield received his Doctorate of Physical Therapy (DPT) degree from the University of South Carolina and is engaged in clinical practice with the Prisma Health Geriatric Mobility Research Clinic.  He has quickly integrated into the human anatomy educational program in the department.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.