Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Washington, D.C. Alumni Council

Council Members


Eric Dell 

Eric earned his B.A. in political science from USC in 1994 and his J.D. at the USC School of Law in 1997. During his time at USC, he was involved in Student Government and various university committees and organizations, serving as a Student Senator and Student Body Treasurer. After graduation from law school, Eric served as a judicial law clerk to the late Marc Westbrook. He has been active in politics for many years and served as Chief of Staff to then State Senator Joe Wilson. He currently serves as Chief of Staff and Counsel to Congressman Joe Wilson.

Steven Dillingham

Steven Dillingham 

Steven Dillingham directs the Transportation Safety Institute for the U.S. Department of Transportation, located in Oklahoma City. He received his M.P.A., Ph.D. and J.D. from the University of South Carolina. He has held senior positions in more than a dozen Federal offices and agencies, including the departments of Transportation, Justice and Energy. He has served at the U.S. Embassy in Iraq and was on the faculty at Carolina. In addition to working for Congress, Steven has also worked with both private companies and non-profits.

Jotaka Eaddy

Jotaka L. Eaddy 

Jotaka Eaddy is a 2001 graduate of Carolina with a dual degree in political science and criminal justice. While at Carolina, she served as Student Body President of USC, becoming the first African-American woman to serve in that position in the University's 200 year history. She formerly served as the domestic program coordinator at the National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty, where she coordinated the office's Grassroots, Education, and Mobilization project. She has been involved with the anti-death penalty movement for over nine years.

Julian Malasi

Julian Malasi 

Julian Malasi graduated from USC with a B.A. in International Studies and has a J.D. from the Charleston School of Law and a Certificate in Legislative Affairs from Georgetown University. During his time at USC, he worked for Senator Luke A. Rankin in the South Carolina Senate. Julian is currently the Manager of Federal Affairs for AbbVie, a global biopharmaceutical company in their Washington, DC office. Prior to joining AbbVie, Julian worked at the American Chemistry Council where he was a Federal Policy Issues Manager, for Rep. Linda Sanchez (D-CA) and for the Ninth Judicial Circuit Solicitor’s office in Charleston, SC as Communications Director.

Abbey Roach

Abbey Burdyl Roach 

Abbey graduated from the University of South Carolina in 2008 with a B.A. in international studies. During her undergraduate studies, she lived abroad in Avignon, France where she attended the Institute for American Universities. Abbey also holds a M.P.S. from Georgetown University in public relations and corporate communications. After graduating from USC, she moved to Washington, DC to pursue her career interests in international and health organizations. She has held positions at WorldVison, Airbus Americas and Inova Health System. She currently serves as the lead development officer for the School of Nursing & Health Studies at Georgetown University. Abbey and her husband, Brian, reside in the Del Ray neighborhood of Alexandria, VA, with their much-loved goldendoodle, Rigby.

Matthew Shannon

Matthew T. Shannon 

Matthew Shannon graduated magna cum laude from USC in 2012 with a B.A. degree in experimental psychology before continuing his education with a M.S. degree in clinical psychology from Loyola University Maryland. During his time at Carolina, Matthew worked as a research assistant and lab coordinator in the Department of Psychology, winning first place in the General Psychology category at Discovery Day 2011 and 2012. Also in 2011, Matthew was honored as Outstanding Greek Member of the Year and USC Homecoming King. Currently living in Washington, D.C., Matthew is a research analyst at CEB, the world’s leading member-based advisory company, where he focuses on best practices in corporate finance.

kathryn Sullivan

Kathryn Sullivan 

Kathryn Sullivan graduated magna cum laude from the University of South Carolina in 2012 with a Bachelor of Arts in English. While at Carolina, she received the Honors College Cooper Scholarship, the Mould/Sederberg Scholarship, and the J. Gordon Belser Outstanding Junior Award in English. Upon returning from a semester of study abroad in Seville, Spain, she served an internship in the Washington, D.C., office of U.S. Representative Joe Wilson (R-SC), and after graduation, she interned in the Leadership Office of House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA). A native of Falls Church, Virginia, Ms. Sullivan resides in Arlington, Virginia, and works at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Center for Education and Workforce. She is an active member of Phi Beta Kappa.

Michael Tongour

Michael Alexander Tongour 

Michael Tongour completed his B.A. in political science in 1978 at Carolina and his Juris Doctor in 1981 from the USC School of Law. In 1996 he founded TCH Group, LLC, a full service government relations consulting firm that provides strategic guidance and lobbying services to its select group of clients. Over the last 15 years, he has compiled a successful record representing clients in a variety of areas and sectors including energy and environmental policy, health care, tax, appropriations, education policy, national security and federal legal policy.

Not pictured: Erika Lee Baum (Political Science, ‘91),  Neil A. Baumgardner (Int’l Studies ‘98), Mr. Preston O. Bell (History ’11), Christopher F. Buki (Political Science ,’12), Andrew M. Frassetto (Science, ’04),  Andrew T. Gaeckle (Int’l Studies, ‘09), Joan Goldenberg (Biology, ‘63 & ‘66),  Marcia L. Hale,  (Int’l Studies, ‘74; Public Admin, ‘76), Elizabeth Horning (Int’l Studies and Spanish, ‘15), Katharine M. Klein (Arts, ‘12),  Allen G. Klump (Political Science, ‘08), John M. Lawson (Int’l Studies ’76 & ’84), Harriet G. McCombs (Psychology, '74), Anne Hale Miglarese (Geography, ’82 & ‘84), Erin I. Peck (Business Admin, ‘18), Lindsay N. Richardson (Business Admin, ’15; Law, '18), Clinton B. Riddle (Political Science, ‘12), Stuart M. Shalloway (Geography, ‘82), Steven K. Smith (Political Science, ‘77, ‘79, ‘83), Ebrahim “Ebbie” S. Yazdani (History, ‘11)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.