Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

SC CDBG-MIT Action Plan

South Carolina CDBG-MIT Action Plan
Lead Investigator: Susan L. Cutter

Project Overview

South Carolina is eligible for U.S. Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Community Development Block Grant Mitigation resources (CDBG-MIT) based on Presidential Disaster Declarations #4241 and #4286 covering 2015 and 2016. The CDBG-MIT funds support efforts to improve longer term disaster resilience through mitigating existing disaster risks and enhancing capacity of communities in mitigation planning. Of particular interest are the HUD-identified most impacted and distressed (MID) counties in these two declarations. These nine counties include: Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Sumter, and Williamsburg. South Carolina identified eight additional counties as most impacted and distressed (Berkeley, Orangeburg, Calhoun, Lee, Darlington, Dillon, Marlboro, and Chesterfield). This project provided geoanalytical support for the mitigation needs assessment portion of the plan in five areas: county hazard profile updates, lifeline potential impacts, residential recovery and unmet needs profiles, mitigation project crosswalk, and a summary of overall mitigation needs. 

The South Carolina CDBG-MIT Action Plan [pdf] was posted for public comment and then submitted to HUD for review in February 2020.

Funded by South Carolina Disaster Recovery Office, SC Department of Administration.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.