Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences


Chairs and Directors

The College of Arts and Sciences department chairs and program directors are the leaders within the college's academic units, and serve as liaisons between the administration and faculty. Chairs and directors are responsible for stimulating and encouraging diversity and professional growth among unit faculty and students.

Department Chairs

Department Chair Contact Email
Anthropology Marc Moskowitz (Interim) 803-777-1536 moskowit@mailbox.sc.edu 
School of Visual Art and Design Laura Kissel (Director) 803-777-4236 kissel@mailbox.sc.edu 
Biological Sciences Jeff Twiss (Interim) 803-777-9215 twiss@mailbox.sc.edu 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Ken Shimizu 803-777-5264 SHIMIZU@mailbox.sc.edu 
Criminology and Criminal Justice Brandon Applegate 803-777-7097 APPLEGAB@mailbox.sc.edu
School of Earth, Ocean and Environment Tom Owens, Director (interim) 803-777-4530 Director@seoe.sc.edu
English Language and Literature Nina Levine 803-777-4203 LEVINEN@mailbox.sc.edu
Geography Caroline Nagel 803-777-4970 cnagel@mailbox.sc.edu
History Christine Ames 803-777-5195 AMESC@mailbox.sc.edu 
Languages, Literatures and Cultures Nicholas Vazsonyi 803-777-0844 nvazsony@mailbox.sc.edu 
Mathematics Linyuan Lu 803-576-5822 lu@math.sc.edu 
Philosophy Christopher Tollefsen 609-865-7272 christopher.tollefsen@gmail.com
Physics and Astronomy Ralf Gothe 803-777-9025 gothe@physics.sc.edu 
Political Science Todd Shaw 803-777-3109 SHAWTC@mailbox.sc.edu 
Psychology Jane Roberts (Interim) 803-777-4638 amaydeu@mailbox.sc.edu 
Religious Studies Michael Dickson (Interim)  803-777-4166 dicksonw@mailbox.sc.edu 
Sociology Douglas Anderton 803-777-3123 DANDERTO@mailbox.sc.edu 
Statistics John Grego 803-777-7800 grego@stat.sc.edu
Theatre and Dance Robert Richmond 803-777-4288 BOURNER@mailbox.sc.edu 


Directors of Graduate Studies

Department Director Contact Email
Anthropology Joanna Casey 803-777-6700 caseyj@mailbox.sc.edu
School of Visual Art and Design Andrew Graciano 803-777-6631 GRACIANO@mailbox.sc.edu 
Biological Sciences Jerry Hilbish 803-777-4142 hilbish@biol.sc.edu 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Jon Ferry 803-777-2646 ferry@mailbox.sc.edu 
Criminology and Criminal Justice Barbara Koons-Witt 803-777-9921 bakoons@mailbox.sc.edu
School of Earth Ocean and Environment Joseph Quattro 803-777-4142 quattro@biol.sc.edu 
English Brian Glavey 803-777-5535 glaveyb@mailbox.sc.edu 
Geography Jean Taylor Ellis 803-777-1593 jellis@seoe.sc.edu 
History Matthew Childs 803-777-3189 CHILDSMD@mailbox.sc.edu 
Languages, Literatures and Culture Fancisco Sanchez 803-777-9734 SANCHEZF@mailbox.sc.edu 
Linguistics Mila Tasseva-Kurktchieva 803-777-8312 TASSEVAK@mailbox.sc.edu 
Mathematics Matthew Boylan 803-777-7542 boylan@math.sc.edu 
Philosophy Konstantin Pollok 803-777-3737 POLLOKK@mailbox.sc.edu 
Physics and Astronomy Richard Creswick 803-777-3766 CRESWICK@mailbox.sc.edu 
Political Science Kirk Randazzo 803-777-3109 randazzo@mailbox.sc.edu 
Political Science Robert Oldendick 803-777-4566 roldendi@mailbox.sc.edu 
Psychology Bret Kloos 803-777-2704 KLOOS@mailbox.sc.edu 
Psychology  Scott Decker 803-777-4137 SDECKER@mailbox.sc.edu 
Psychology  Amit Almor 803-777-4302 almor@mailbox.sc.edu 
Sociology Brent Simpson 803-777-3123 BTS@mailbox.sc.edu 
Statistics Xianzheng  (Shan) Huang 803-777-5389 huang@stat.sc.edu 
Theatre and Dance Amy Lehman 803-777-6352 LEHMANA@mailbox.sc.edu 
Women's and Gender Studies J. Daniel Jenkins 803-777-4708 djenkins@mozart.sc.edu