Skip to Content

Academic Advising

Transfer Student Advisory Council

The mission of the Transfer Student Advisory Council is to review, research, evaluate, develop and implement best practices for transfer students' retention and graduation with the University of South Carolina.  The Transfer Student Advisory Council is a Provost-appointed coordinating council.

Transfer Student Advisory Council

Eleven offices across the UofSC Columbia campus meet monthly to discuss and review the transfer student experience from admissions to graduation at the University of South Carolina.  Committee members are committed to one-year appointments, often renewed each year.  

Transfer Student Advisory Council Charge

Members of the Transfer Student Advisory Council will lead and guide the following: 

  1. Review and disseminate national literature on transfer student success.
  2. Research, develop, and implement best practice for transfer students’ retention and graduation.
  3. Review the needs of transfer students from recruitment through graduation, with special emphasis on their retention and degree completion.
  4. Coordinate efforts across multiple offices and departments to improve communication and streamline transfer support efforts.
  5. Coordinate communication to transfer students.
  6. Evaluate the current transfer experience at the University. Create and distribute a survey for transfer students.
  7. Review and utilize data and/or assessment from students, OIRAA, Data Analytics, Admissions, etc. related to transfer student data trends.
  8. Review policies and procedures related to transfer student experience and make recommendations where appropriate.
  9. Publish a report and offer a forum presentation on the state of supporting transfer students to the UofSC campus community.

Council Members

Name Affiliation Contact
Amanda Lucas
Assistant Director
Transfer Advising &
Retention Initiatives
 University Advising Center
alucas@sc.edu
Mike Dial
Assistant Director
First Year Advising
 University Advising Center
 mdial@mailbox.sc.edu
Claire Robinson
Assistant Dean
Undergraduate
Advising & Director of University
Advising Center
 University Advising Center 
 claire1@mailbox.sc.edu
Lauren Writer
Assistant Director
Conferences & Continuing
Education for the
National Resource Center
 National Resource Center
for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition
 hallla@mailbox.sc.edu
Amanda Therrell
Assistant Director
On Your Time Initiatives
 On Your Time Initiatives 
 atherrell@sc.edu
Mike Wade
Associate Director
Diversity, Access & Inclusion
 Office of Undergraduate Admissions
 mw88@mailbox.sc.edu
Teresa Florentin
 Office of Undergraduate Admissions
 tafloren@mailbox.sc.edu
Alison Scheide
Assistant Director
Transfer Partnerships
 Office of Undergraduate Admissions
 scheidea@mailbox.sc.edu
Marla Mamrick
Director
Enrollment Data Analytics
 Office of Undergraduate Admissions
 mayoung2@mailbox.sc.edu
Jackeline Bonilla
Assistant Director
New Student Orientation
 Office of New Student Orientation
 bonillaj@mailbox.sc.edu
Donna Watson
Director
Student Services & Advisement
 College of Education
 watsond5@mailbox.sc.edu
Dawn Hiller
Director of Students
Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
College of Arts & Sciences
 hiller@sc.edu
Nora Dragovic
Director of Students
Science & Math
College of Arts & Sciences
 dragovin@mailbox.sc.edu
Kathy Smiling
Assistant Dean
Student Services
Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
 smiling@sc.edu
Dana Talbert
Director
Student Success Center
Student Success Center
 jblonsk@email.sc.edu
Andrea Williams
Assistant Director
Special Student Population
Student Success Center
 andrea.r.williams@sc.edu
Aaron Marterer
University Registrar
Office of University Registrar
 acmarte@mailbox.sc.edu
Danielle Rymer
Office of Financial Aid
 rymer@mailbox.sc.edu

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©