Skip to Content

Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures


Our People

We are currently accepting applications for a tenure-track Assistant Professor of Arabic Studies. 

The Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures at the University of South Carolina invites applications for a tenure-track Assistant Professor position in the field of Arabic Studies. The successful candidate will be able to teach Arabic at all levels, have native or near native fluency in Modern Standard Arabic, and competency in at least one dialect.  Specializations in fields such as Arabic literature in the context of world literature, postcolonial studies, translation studies, and/or transnational feminism would be desirable. Additional requirements include demonstrated interest in promoting effective language teaching; a record of commitment to scholarly research; and experience teaching at the college level. A Ph.D. in Arabic or related field completed by August 15, 2019 is required.

All applicants must fill out an application through the online employment system “USC Jobs” at http://uscjobs.sc.edu/postings/41459. Candidates should be prepared to upload a CV, a cover letter, writing sample, name and contact information, including telephone number and email, for at least three references. Three letters of recommendation are required to be submitted directly to the uscjobs system by the reference letter providers. For full consideration, complete applications must be received no later than October 15, 2018.

The University of South Carolina is an affirmative action, equal opportunity employer.  Minorities and women are encouraged to apply. The University of South Carolina does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender, age, disability, veteran status or genetics.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Faculty Allorto, Andrew Spanish Instructor allorto@mailbox.sc.edu spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Anderson, Lara Lomicka Professor 803-777-1600 lomicka@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Baba, Junko Associate Professor 803-777-4882 babaj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Japanese Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Beck, Mark A. Associate Professor Assistant Department Chair, Undergraduate Director & Classics Program Director 803-777-4882 beckma@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Beecroft, Alexander Professor abeecrof@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Benavente, Maria Seila Senior Instructor 803-777-2144 benavenm@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Bertucci, Pia L. Senior Instructor Italian Program Director 803-777-4882 bertucci@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Biondi, Megan Instructor of Italian biondim@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Bonafos, Alexandre J. Assistant Professor 803-777-4882 bonafos@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Breen, Alanna M. Senior Instructor 803-777-4882 breenam@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish, portuguese Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Brightwell, Ellen Senior Instructor brightek@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Brooks, Youko Languages, Literatures and Cultures brooksy@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Camacho, Jorge Professor camachoj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Carlson, Erin Spanish Instructor ecarlson@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Castner, Catherine Distinguished Professor Emerita, Classics castnerc@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Corley, Andrew Senior Instructor 803-336-8477 corleyam@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Crowe, Purificacíon Senior Instructor pvcrowe@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Cueto, Ana Senior Instructor cueto@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Curry, Valerie Proietto Instructor curryvp@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Dal Molin, Aria Assistant Professor dalmolin@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Dalola, Amanda Assistant Professor dalola@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French, Linguistics Languages Literatures and Cultures,Linguistics
Faculty Davis, Patricia Instructor padavis2@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Di Cecco, Daniela Associate Professor dpdicecc@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ducate, Lara Professor DLLC Director of Teacher Education ducate@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German, Sustainability, Saxony, paymaster Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Duffy, John Senior Instructor duffyj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Engelbrecht, Ursula Instructor engelbru@mailbox.sc.edu German Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Garane, Jeanne Professor French Program Director garanej@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Gardner, Hunter Associate Professor Classics Program Director gardnehh@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Goblirsch, Kurt Professor of German and Linguistics German Program Director, Director of USC-Bamberg Exchange kggoblir@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures,Linguistics
Faculty Guillemin-Persels, Brigitte Senior Instructor bguillem@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Guo, Jie Associate Professor Director of Comparative Literature guoji@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Holt, D. Eric Associate Professor Spanish Program Director deholt01@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Linguistics,Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty House, Michael Assistant Professor housemk@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ivory, Yvonne Associate Professor ivory@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Janzen, Rebecca Assistant Professor janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Kalb, Judith Associate Professor kalbj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Russian Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Kellogg, Beatriz Senior Instructor kellogbr@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Lee, Cari Senior Instructor kepner@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Lindsey, Leah Senior Instructor Spanish Major Advisement lindseyl@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Liu, Jiang Assistant Professor jiangliu@mailbox.sc.edu Chinese Linguistics,Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Lopez Rodriguez, Mercedes Assistant Professor lopezrod@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Malovrh, Paul Associate Professor malovrh@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Spanish Linguistics,Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Marinelli, Patti Senior Instructor pjmarine@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty McAteer, Timothy Senior Instructor Placement Coordinator tcmcatee@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Placement, Spanish, language Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Moraes, Ariston Instructor moraesro@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, portuguese, spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Moreno, Nina Associate Professor Spanish TA Supervisor morenon@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures Linguistics,Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Mueller, Agnes Professor of German and Comparative Literature College of Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of the Humanities; Director, Program in Global Studies acmuelle@mailbox.sc.edu Languages, Literatures and Cultures, German, Global Studies Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Muroya, Shunko Instructor muroya@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Newton, Margo Senior Instructor newtonm@mailbox.sc.edu French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Noviello, Dominick Instructor of Italian dnoviell@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ogden, Alexander Associate Professor Russian Program Director ogdenj@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Osborne, Jason Instructor osbornjm@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Owens, Brad Senior Instructor owenscb@mailbox.sc.edu German Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Pastor, Joel Instructor of Italian pastor@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Patterson, Gregory Assistant Professor gpatters@mailbox.sc.edu Chinese Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Persels, Jeff Associate Professor perselsj@mailbox.sc.edu French Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Rajca, Andrew C. Associate Professor of Portuguese and Spanish Portuguese Program Director rajca@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Portuguese Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Sakakibara, Yoshitaka Associate Professor Japanese Program Director sakakiy@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Sanchez, Francisco Professor sanchezf@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish, Graduate Director Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Schneider, Wendy Senior Instructor wcschnei@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Sefrin-Weis, Heike Associate Professor 803-777-3723 sefrinwe@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures,Philosophy
Faculty Stefanić-Brown, Kristina Instructor stefani2@mailbox.sc.edu German, Italian Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Swygert, Carla Senior Instructor aguado@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Van Fleit, Krista Associate Professor Chinese Program Director vanfleit@mailbox.sc.edu chinese Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Vazsonyi, Nicholas Professor Department Chair nvazsony@mailbox.sc.edu German, Wagner, Languages Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Villicana, Mariela Instructor villican@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Williard, Ashley Assistant Professor awilliar@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Wiskes, Catherine Senior Instructor wiskes@mailbox.sc.edu Spanish Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Ye, Tan Professor Confucius Institute Director yet@mailbox.sc.edu Chinese, Confucius Institute Languages Literatures and Cultures
Faculty Zalba, Rocio Spanish Instructor zalba@mailbox.sc.edu Languages Literatures and Cultures