Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

Department of Biological Sciences

Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Armstrong, Alissa Richmond Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Stem Cell & Developmental Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-9621 ararmstrong@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Bates, Millie Instructional Faculty 803-777-2424 batesmm2@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Benner, Ronald Carolina Distinguished Professor Research Concentration - Marine Biology 803-777-9561 benner@mailbox.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment; Biological Sciences
Staff Berger, Franklin G. Distinguished Professor Emeritus Professor Office: 803-777-1171, Lab: 803-777-7216, Office: 803-777-1231 fgberger@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Boggs, Carol Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-6869 boggscl@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Staff Bolander, Franklyn F., Jr. Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-7656 bolander@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Bowman, Lewis Professor Emeritus 803-777-4142 bowman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Brasington, Gerald Instructional Faculty 803-576-6886 brasingg@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Brown, Herrick Curator - A. C. Moore Herbarium 803-777-8175 brownh@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Chen, Hexin Associate Professor Research Concentration - Cancer Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-2928 chen53@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Chen, Huan Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen323@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Studies
Staff Chen, Jian Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen328@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Czako, Mihaly Instructor 803-777-8928 czakomi@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Datt, Anil TFAC Instructor 803-777-1095 datt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Davis, Shannon Associate Professor Research Concentration - Stem Cells & Developmental Biology 803-777-8349 (office), 803-777-9940 (lab) swdavis@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff DeCoursey, Patricia Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-3934 decourse@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Dewey, Michael Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Dhameja, Milan TFAC Instructor 803-777-8618 dhameja@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Dudycha, Jeff Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-3987 dudycha@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ely, Bert Professor, Director of Center for Science Education Research Concentration - Evolution 803-777-2768 ely@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Faulk, Garrett Business Manager 803-777-1769 faulkgd@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Felder, Michael Professor Emeritus 803-777-5135 mrfelder@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Franklin, William "Trey" Eugene, III Director of the W. G. Belser Arboretum & Instructional Faculty Laboratory Coordinator 803-777-2054 frankliw@mailbox.sc.edu Ecology, Evolution, Entomology, Instructor Biological Sciences
Faculty Friedman, Bob Associate Professor 803-777-0655 bobf@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Frongillo, Marguerite TFAC Instructor 803-743-0731 mff426@gmail.com Biological Sciences
Faculty Fu, Zhengqing Associate Professor Research Concentration - Plant Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-8753 zfu@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Gamble, Megan Dantzler Instructional Faculty 803-777-6014 gamble@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Ghoshroy, Soumitra Director, Electron Microscopy Center 803-777-7085 ghoshroy@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Hagenbuch, Isaac Instructional Faculty Lab Coordinator 803-777-2062 hagenbui@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Hallman, Lee IT Manager 803-777-1106 lmhallm1@email.sc.edu CAS - Biological Sciences
Staff Higgins, Kevin Adjunct Faculty Biological Sciences
Faculty Hilbish, Jerry Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-6629 hilbish@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ho, Yen-Yi Assistant Professor 803-777-5163 hoyen@stat.sc.edu Statistics, Biological Sciences
Staff Hogan, Kristen Instructional Faculty Lab Coordinator 803-777-3689 kmlarsen@email.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Hollis, Brian Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Evolution 803-576-8478 brian.hollis@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Kathrein, Katie Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Stem Cells & Developmental Biology 803-576-6211 kathrein@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Kingston, Alexandra Postdoctoral Researcher kingstoa@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Krizek, Beth Professor Research Concentration - Plant Biology; Stem Cells & Developmental Biology 803-777-1876 krizek@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Lawther, Robert Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Levina, Elina Instructional Faculty Lab Coordinator 803-777-5410 levinae@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Lincoln, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Lizarraga, Sofia Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Neurobiology; Stem Cells & Developmental Biology 803-777-2100 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Loiodice, Gaitano Tom Instructional Faculty 803-269-9099 loiodice@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lovell, Charles R. Professor Research Concentration - Ecology 803-777-7036 lovell@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Martin, Gabriel Administrative Coordinator for the Chair 803-777-5084 MARTINGR@biol.sc.edu Administrative, Chair Biological Sciences
Staff Marton, Laszlo Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-6676 martonl@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Matesic, Lydia Associate Professor Research Concentration - Stem Cells & Developmental Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-2520 lmatesic@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff McKeown, Eric Electronic Technician 803-777-7163 ericm@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Mishra, Nawin Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Genetics & Genomics mishra@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Morris, James Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-3948 morris@inlet.geol.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Faculty Mousseau, Timothy Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-8047 mousseau@sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth Ocean and Environment
Staff Nelson, Greg Undergraduate Advisor 777-5410 gdnelson@email.sc.edu
Staff Nelson, John Professor Emeritus Former Curator of the A.C. Moore Herbarium 803-777-8196 nelson@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Ogilvie, Robert W Instructional Faculty 803-777-1769 ogilvie@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Patel, Rekha Professor Research Concentration - Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-1853 patelr@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pena, Maria Majorette Professor; Director of the Mouse Core - Center for Colon Cancer Research Research Concentration - Cancer Biology 803-777-1060 mpena@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pinckney, James Professor, Director of the Belle W. Baruch Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences Research Concentration - Ecology; Marine Biology 803-777-7133 pinckney@sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Faculty Poulain, Fabienne Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Neurobiology; Stem Cells & Developmental Biology 803-777-0713 fpoulain@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Pruss, Gail Research Professor Biological Sciences
Faculty Quattro, Joe Professor Research Concentration - Evolution; Marine Biology 803-777-3240 Quattro@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Staff Rambert, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Reeves, Tom TFAC Instructor 803-777-2852 reevest@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Reisman, David Professor, Director of Graduate Studies Research Concentration - Cancer Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-8108 reisman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Richardson, Tammi Professor, Associate Chair Research Concentration - Ecology; Marine Biology 803-777-2269 richardson@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Staff Sahoo, Pabitra Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-9216 sahoop@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Sawyer, Roger Carolina Trustee Professor 803-777-0525 rhsawyer@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Schumpert, Charles Andy Instructional Faculty Lab Coordinator (803)777-8759 schumpca@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Senner, Nathan Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-4254 senner@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Showman, Richard Associate Professor 803-777-2457 showman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth Ocean and Environment
Staff Simmons, Constance Human Resources Coordinator 803-777-4142 CASIMMON@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Smith, Deanna Associate Professor Research Concentration - Neurobiology 803-777-3020 deannasm@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Smith, Terika Postdoctoral Fellow smithtp@email.sc.edu Twiss' Lab
Staff South, April Instructional Faculty 803-777-3167 south@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Speiser, Daniel Associate Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution; Neurobiology; Marine Biology 803-777-6597 speiser@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Stancyk, Stephen Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Stewart, Jason Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Cancer Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-1551 (Office), 803-777-4767 (Lab) jason.stewart@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Stone, Joshua Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Marine Biology 803- 777-2932 stone@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Stratmann, Johannes Professor Research Concentration - Plant Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-5084 johstrat@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Thames, Elizabeth Research Technician 803-777-9216 elthames@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Thomas, Quill Research Technician Poulain Lab 803-777-0713 cmt2@email.sc.edu CAS - Biological Sciences
Staff Tolles, Heidi Graduate Program Coordinator, 803-777-2755 tollesh@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Twiss, Jeff Professor, Interim Departmental Chair, SmartState Chair in Childhood Neurotherapeutics Research Concentration - Neurobiology 777-6389 twiss@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Vaish, Vivek Postdoctoral Researcher 573-825-5161 vaish@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Vance, Vicki Professor Emeritus 803-777-3179 vance@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Vaughn, Lauren Instructional Faculty 803-576-8466 vaughnls@email.sc.edu Instructor, Instructional Faculty Biological Sciences
Staff Vogt, Richard Distinguished Professor Emeritus vogt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Waldman, Alan Professor Research Concentration - Cancer Biology; Biology of Cellular Stress 803-777-8405 awaldman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Waldman, Barbara Research Associate Professor 803-777-9104 Biological Sciences
Faculty Watt, Ward Professor Research Concentration - Ecology; Evolution 803-777-9884 wattw@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Wessinger, Carolyn Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Evolution; Plant Biology WESSINC@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Wethey, David Professor 803-777-3936 wethey@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff White, Alan Professor 803-777-4141 arwhite@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Woodin, Sarah A. Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-4254 woodin@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences; Earth, Ocean and Environment
Staff Xu, Kaimei Laboratory Technician 803-777-4141 xu89@mailbox.sc.edu Department of Biological Sciences
Faculty Xu, Mingli Assistant Professor Research Concentration - Plant Biology 803-576-8337 minglixu@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Yoch, Duane Distinguished Professor Emeritus yoch@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Zeigler, Amanda Director of Undergraduate Studies 803-777-2518 polsona@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©