Skip to Content

Department of Biological Sciences


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the Department of Biological Sciences or contact us. You may enter a keyword in the text box below to filter the list of people by Title or Name.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Staff Alam, John Aftab Systems Administrator 803-777-7068 alam@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Alquati, Andrea Bonisoli Postdoctoral Research Associate 803-777-8241 alquati@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Armstrong, Alissa Richmond Assistant Professor 803-777-9621 ararmstrong@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Barbour, Karen Research Associate 803-777-4398 barbour@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Bates, Millie TFAC Instructor batesmm2@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Benner, Ronald Carolina Distinguished Professor 803-777-9561 benner@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Marine Science,Academic Advisors,Earth Ocean and Environment,Ecology and Evolution
Faculty Berger, Franklin G. Director of Center for Colon Cancer Research Professor Office: 803-777-1171, Lab: 803-777-7216, Office: 803-777-1231 fgberger@mailbox.sc.edu Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Biological Sciences,Ecology and Evolution
Faculty Boggs, Carol Professor 803-777-6869 boggscl@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Advisors,Ecology and Evolution,Earth Ocean and Environment,Environment and Sustainability,Biological Sciences
Faculty Bolander, Franklyn F., Jr. Associate Professor 803-777-7656 bolander@sc.edu Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Biological Sciences
Staff Bowman, Lewis Associate Professor 803-777-4142 lbowman@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Breeland, Peggy Adm. Coordinator for the Chair 803-777-5084 breeland@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Brown, Herrick Assistant Curator - A. C. Moore Herbarium 803-777-8175 brownh@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Chen, Hexin Associate Professor 803-777-2928 chen53@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Chen, Huan Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen323@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Chen, Jian Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-6759 chen328@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Cirtain, Margaret Lab Coordinator 803-777-3759 mcirtain@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Clifton, Sandra Program Coordinator Advisor 803-777-2852 clifton@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Crickenberger, Sam 803-777-3936 crickens@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Czako, Mihaly Instructor 803-777-8928 czakomi@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Datt, Anil TFAC Instructor 803-777-1095 datt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Davis, Celestia Core Manager CCCR Mouse Experimentation Core 803-777-6286 davis@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Davis, Shannon Associate Professor 803-777-8349 (office), 803-777-9940 (lab) swdavis@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Faculty DeCoursey, Patricia Arboretum Director 803-777-3934 decourse@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Dewey, Micheal Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Dhameja, Milan TFAC Instructor 803-777-8618 dhameja@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Dietrick, Jeremy Biological Sciences
Faculty Dudycha, Jeff Professor 803-777-3987 dudycha@biol.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Staff Earley, Pat Graduate Studies Coordinator 803-777-2755 pe@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Ely, Bert Professor Director of Center for Science Education 803-777-2768 ely@sc.edu Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Biological Sciences,Ecology and Evolution
Staff Faulk, Garrett Business Manager 803-777-1769 faulkgd@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Felder, Michael Professor 803-777-5135 mrfelder@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Franklin, William "Trey" Eugene, III Instructor Laboratory Coordinator 803-777-2054 frankliw@mailbox.sc.edu Ecology, Evolution, Entomology Biological Sciences
Faculty Friedman, Bob Associate Professor 803-777-0655 bobf@biol.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Staff Fronillo, Marguerite TFAC Instructor 803-743-0731 mff426@gmail.com Biological Sciences
Faculty Fu, Zhengqing Assistant Professor 803-777-8753 zfu@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Plant Sciences
Staff Gamble, Megan Dantzler Instructor 803-777-6014 gamble@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Ghoshroy, Soumatra Director, Electron Microscopy Center 803-777-7085 ghoshroy@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Greenwold, Matthew Postdoctoral Researcher 803-576-6135 greenwold@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Hagenbuch, Isaac Lab Coordinator 803-777-2062 hagenbui@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Handy, Carmel Indhira 803-777-1856 indhira@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Herr, John M. Distinguished Professor Deceased in 2016 Biological Sciences
Staff Higgins, Kevin Adjunct Faculty Biological Sciences
Faculty Hilbish, Jerry Professor 803-777-6629 hilbish@biol.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Faculty Ho, Yen-Yi Assistant Professor 803-777-5163 hoyen@stat.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Statistics,Department of Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Staff Hughes, Austin L. Distinguished Professor, Deceased 2015 Biological Sciences
Faculty Kathrein, Katie Assistant Professor 803-576-6211 kathrein@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Krizek, Beth Professor 803-777-1876 krizek@sc.edu Biological Sciences,Plant Sciences
Staff Lawther, Robert Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Lee, Seung Joon Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-9216 lee346@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Levina, Elina Biology 101 Lab Coordinator 803-777-5410 levinae@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Lincoln, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Liu, Shou Postdoctoral Researcher liu282@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lizarraga, Sofia Assistant Professor 803-777-2100 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Loiodice, Gaitano Tom TFAC Instructor Instructor In Anatomy and Physiology 803-777-2852 loiodice@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Lovell, Charles R. Professor 803-777-7036 lovell@biol.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Staff Martin, Charlene Human Resources Coordinator 803-777-4142 ccurry@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Marton, Laszlo Professor 803-777-6676 martonl@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Plant Sciences
Faculty Matesic, Lydia Associate Professor 803-777-2520 lmatesic@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff McBride, Kendra Business Manager 803-777-9165 mcbridek@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff McKeown, Eric Electronic Technician 803-777-7163 ericm@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Mishra, Nawin Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Genetics & Genomics 803-777-5938 mishra@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Morris, James Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-3948 morris@inlet.geol.sc.edu Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Earth Ocean and Environment,Ecology and Evolution
Faculty Mousseau, Timothy Professor 803-777-8047 mousseau@sc.edu Environment and Sustainability,Earth Ocean and Environment,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Faculty Nelson, John Curator of the Herbarium 803-777-8196 nelson@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Patel, Rekha Professor 803-777-1853 patelr@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Faculty Pena, Maria Majorette Director, Mouse Core - Center for Colon Cancer Research 803-777-1060 mpena@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Pinckney, James Professor Director of the Belle W. Baruch Institute for Coastal and Marine Research 803-777-5288 pinckney@sc.edu Biological Sciences,Earth Ocean and Environment,Academic Advisors,Marine Science,Ecology and Evolution
Faculty Poulain, Fabienne Assistant Professor 803-777-0713 fpoulain@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Staff Pruss, Gail Research Professor Biological Sciences
Faculty Quattro, Joe Professor Graduate Director, School of Earth, Ocean and Environment 803-777-3240 Quattro@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Environment and Sustainability,Biological Sciences,Academic Advisors
Staff Rambert, David Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Staff Reeves, Tom TFAC Instructor 803-777-2852 reevest@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Reisman, David Graduate Director Professor 803-777-8108 reisman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Faculty Richardson, Tammi Professor Associate Chair 803-777-2269 richardson@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Earth Ocean and Environment,Academic Advisors,Marine Science,Ecology and Evolution
Staff Rivero, Gonzalo Postdoctoral Researcher machoriv@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Rykaczewski, Ryan Associate Professor 803-777-8159 ryk@sc.edu Academic Advisors,Earth Ocean and Environment,Marine Science,Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Staff Sahoo, Pabitra Postdoctoral Researcher 803-777-9216 sahoop@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Sawyer, Roger Carolina Trustee Professor 803-777-0525 rhsawyer@mailbox.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Staff Schumpert, Charles Andy Lab Coordinator 803-777-3379 schumpca@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Showman, Richard Associate Professor 803-777-2457 showman@biol.sc.edu Academic Advisors,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Earth Ocean and Environment
Faculty Smith, Deanna Associate Professor 803-777-3020 deannasm@biol.sc.edu Neurobiology,Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Staff South, April Instructor Instructor BIOL 301 803-777-3167 south@sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Speiser, Daniel Assistant Professor 803-777-6597 speiser@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Advisors,Ecology and Evolution,Marine Science,Biological Sciences,Earth Ocean and Environment
Faculty Stancyk, Stephen Distinguished Professor Emeritus Biological Sciences
Faculty Stewart, Jason Assistant Professor 803-777-1551 (Office), 803-777-4767 (Lab) jason.stewart@sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Faculty Stone, Joshua Assistant Professor 803- 777-2932 stone@sc.edu Biological Sciences,Ecology and Evolution,Department of Biological Sciences
Faculty Stratmann, Johannes Professor 803-777-5084 johstrat@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Plant Sciences
Staff Sutton, Jessica Instructor and Lab Coordinator 803-777-2054 suttonjr@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Szalai, Gabor 803-576-5775 Biological Sciences
Staff Thames, Elizabeth Research Technician 803-777-9216 elthames@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Twiss, Jeff Chair of Biological Sciences SmartState Chair in Childhood Neurotherapeutics 777-6389 twiss@mailbox.sc.edu Neurobiology,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Biological Sciences
Staff Vaish, Vivek Postdoctoral Researcher 573-825-5161 vaish@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Vance, Vicki Wade T. Batson Jr. Professor of Botany 803-777-3179 vance@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology,Plant Sciences
Faculty Vogt, Richard Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-8101 vogt@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Waldman, Alan Professor 803-777-8405 awaldman@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences,Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology
Faculty Waldman, Barbara Research Associate Professor 803-777-9104 Biological Sciences
Staff Wang, Yibin Postdoctoral Research Biological Sciences
Faculty Watt, Ward Professor 803-777-9884 wattw@mailbox.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Faculty Wethey, David Professor 803-777-3936 wethey@biol.sc.edu Ecology and Evolution,Biological Sciences
Faculty White, Alan Professor 803-777-4141 arwhite@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Woodin, Sarah A. Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-4254 woodin@biol.sc.edu Earth Ocean and Environment,Biological Sciences
Staff Xu, Kaimei Laboratory Technician 803-777-4141 xu89@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Faculty Xu, Mingli Assistant Professor 803-576-8337 minglixu@sc.edu Biological Sciences,Department of Biological Sciences
Faculty Yoch, Duane Distinguished Professor Emeritus 803-777-2322 yoch@biol.sc.edu Biological Sciences
Staff Youngblood, Julie Biological Sciences
Staff Zeigler, Amanda Director of Undergraduate Studies 803-777-2518 polsona@mailbox.sc.edu Biological Sciences