Skip to Content

Weather Update: UofSC Columbia campus will be closed Friday, Sept. 30 due to inclement weather. Classes are canceled and only essential personnel are required to report to campus. See sc.edu/weather for updates.

Division of Human Resources

Holidays

The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday or the following Monday. 


Holiday Schedule 

The following dates were approved as the official university holidays.

2022 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 3, 2022
Martin Luther King Jr. Day  Monday, January 17
National Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24
Day After Thanksgiving  Friday, November 25
Christmas Eve (observed) Friday, December 23
Christmas Day (observed) Monday, December 26
Day After Christmas (observed) Tuesday, December 27
December Holiday Wednesday, December 28
December Holiday Thursday, December 29
December Holiday Friday, December 30
New Year's Day (first 2023 holiday) Monday, January 2, 2023

 

2023 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 2, 2023
Martin Luther King Jr. Day  Monday, January 16
National Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23
Day After Thanksgiving  Friday, November 24
Christmas Eve (observed) Friday, December 22
Christmas Day (observed) Monday, December 25
Day After Christmas (observed) Tuesday, December 26
December Holiday Wednesday, December 27
December Holiday Thursday, December 28
December Holiday Friday, December 29
New Year's Day (first 2024 holiday) Monday, January 1, 2024

 

Holiday Leave

Holidays are to be taken on the day designated in the university holiday schedule unless it is necessary for the employee to be at work. To the extent possible, prior notice will be given to employees who must work on holidays. All holiday leave must be reported through the university’s Time and Absence System or other applicable time recording system. For more information about entering time, or for additional details about holiday leave, please visit the Policies and Procedures section of this site.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©