Skip to Content

Division of Human Resources

Holidays

The University of South Carolina observes the same number of holidays as other state agencies even though the days on which the holidays are observed may differ because of the academic schedule. When a university holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday the holiday will be observed on the preceding Friday or the following Monday. 


Holiday Schedule 

The following dates have been approved as the official university holidays.

2021 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
  New Year's Day  Friday, January 1, 2021
 Martin Luther King Jr. Day  Monday, January 18
 National Memorial Day  Monday, May 31
 Independence Day (observed)  Monday, July 5
 Labor Day  Monday, September 6
 Thanksgiving Day  Thursday, November 25
 Day After Thanksgiving  Friday, November 26
 Christmas Eve  Friday, December 24
 Christmas Day (observed)  Monday, December 27
 Day After Christmas (observed)  Tuesday, December 28
 December Holiday  Wednesday, December 29
December Holiday Thursday, December 30
December Holiday Friday, December 31
New Year's Day (first 2022 holiday) Monday, January 3, 2022


2022 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day (observed) Monday, January 3, 2022
Martin Luther King Jr. Day  Monday, January 17
National Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24
Day After Thanksgiving  Friday, November 25
Christmas Eve (observed) Friday, December 23
Christmas Day (observed) Monday, December 26
Day After Christmas (observed) Tuesday, December 27
December Holiday Wednesday, December 28
December Holiday Thursday, December 29
December Holiday Friday, December 30
New Year's Day (first 2023 holiday) Monday, January 2, 2023


Holiday Leave

Holidays are to be taken on the day designated in the university holiday schedule unless it is necessary for the employee to be at work. To the extent possible, prior notice will be given to employees who must work on holidays. All holiday leave must be reported through the university’s Time and Absence System or other applicable time recording system. For more information about entering time, or for additional details about holiday leave, please visit the Policies and Procedures section of this site.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©