Skip to Content

National Resource Center for The First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

Editorial Review Board

Members of the Journal editorial review board serve a three-year term and can anticipate being asked to review approximately six manuscripts per year.

2020 Editorial Review Board Members

Name Institutional Affiliation Term Ending
Abdulaziz Alfehaid Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University (Saudi Arabia) 2021
Amber Fallucca University of South Carolina 2021
Benjamin Johnson Utah Valley University 2021
Blanca Rincón University of Nevada Las Vegas 2021
Brad Harmon Furman University 2021
Bryce Bunting  Brigham Young University  2021
Craig McGill University of South Dakota 2021
Deryl Hatch University of Nebraska - Lincoln 2021
Erin Doran Iowa State University 2021
Jennifer Hodges New Mexico State University 2021
Kali Morgan Georgia Institute of Technology 2021
Katie Treadwell University of Kansas 2021
Michael James Stebleton University of Minnesota - Twin Cities 2021
Michele JoAnn Hansen Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis 2021
Peitro Sasso Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 2021
Raul A. Leon Eastern Michigan University 2021
Steffen Peuker California Polytechnic State University 2021
Barbara F. Tobolowsky University of Texas - Arlington 2022
Colleen Blaney Doyle University College Dublin (Ireland)   2022
David Nguyen Ohio University 2022
Mauriell Amechi Old Dominion University 2022
Michael Denton University of South Florida 2022
Michael Hoffshire St. Mary's College of California 2022
Rachel Smith Iowa State University 2022
Richard Gebauer Cabrini University 2022
Ryan Bronkema University of West Georgia 2022
Talia Esnard University of West Indies 2022
Tenisha Tevis Oregon State University 2022
Tracy Ballysingh University of Vermont 2022
Travis Martin Eastern Kentucky University 2022
Amelia V. Noël-Elkins Illinois State University 2023
Angelica DeAngelis  American University of Kuwait 2023
Ashley B. Clayton  Louisiana State University  2023
Catherine Hartman University of South Carolina 2023
Charlie Potter Eastern Washington University 2023
Delma Ramos University of North Carolina at Greensboro 2023
Diane Cardenas Elliott Kutztown University 2023
Hilary Lichterman University of South Carolina 2023
Kathleen J. Lehman University of California, Los Angeles 2023
Katie Koo University of Georgia 2023
Yu Chen  Louisiana State University  2023


Members of the editorial review board:

  • hold advanced degrees (Ph.D. or equivalent preferred)
  • have a minimum of five years' experience in higher education
  • are affiliated with an accredited college or university, and
  • have expertise in quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-methods research design and analysis

Editorial review board members agree to:

  • return reviews within six weeks of receipt
  • assume a dual role of gatekeeper and shaper of research in the first-year experience and students in transition fields by providing a rigorous review of manuscripts submitted for publication
  • offer constructive and encouraging feedback to mentor fellow researchers

To Apply

Individuals meeting the above qualifications are invited to submit the following information to Dr. Rishi Sriram, editor, at or

  • Letter of intent including:
    1. a list of specific scholarly interests (e.g., bridge programs, transfer students, sophomores, senior capstone courses)
    2. interest in reviewing studies employing qualitative, quantitative, and/or mixed methods
  • Current curriculum vita

The deadline for receipt of completed nomination packages is November 1, 2021.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.