Skip to Content

My Arts and Sciences

Chairs and Directors

Department chairs and directors are the leaders within the college's academic units, and serve as liaisons between the administration and faculty. Chairs and directors are responsible for stimulating and encouraging diversity and professional growth among faculty and students.

Search by keyword or name to find the director or chair of a specific program, school, center, or institute in the College of Arts and Sciences. Select a link below to filter the list.

Academic Unit Name Title Email Phone Keywords
African American Studies April Langley Chair 803-777-7248 DepartmentChair
Anthropology Marc Moskowitz Chair 803-777-5527 DepartmentChair
Biological Sciences Tammi Richardson Chair 803-777-6389 DepartmentChair
Chemistry and Biochemistry Qian Wang Chair 803-777-2682 DepartmentChair
Criminology and Criminal Justice Wendy Regoeczi Chair 803-777-6537 DepartmentChair
English Language and Literature Susan Courtney Chair 803-777-7120 DepartmentChair
Geography Jerry Mitchell Chair 803-777-0328 DepartmentChair
History Jessica Elfenbein Chair 803-777-3282 DepartmentChair
Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Paul Malovrh Chair 803-777-4882 DepartmentChair
Mathematics Linyuan (Lincoln) Lu Chair 803-777-4154 DepartmentChair
Philosophy Matthew Kisner Chair 803-777-4166 DepartmentChair
Physics and Astronomy Alexey Petrov Chair 803-777-4983 DepartmentChair
Political Science Brent Simpson Interim Chair 803-777-3109 DepartmentChair
Psychology Nicole Zarrett Chair 803-777-4638 DepartmentChair
Religious Studies Adam Schor Chair 803-777-3729 DepartmentChair
School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment Gene Yogodzinski Interim Director 803-777-9823 DepartmentChair
School of Visual Art and Design Laura Kissel Director 803-777-4236 DepartmentChair
Sociology Matthew Brashears Chair 803-777-6988 DepartmentChair
Statistics Edsel Pena Chair 803-777-5346 DepartmentChair
Theatre and Dance Stephanie Milling Chair 803-777-0768 DepartmentChair
Women’s and Gender Studies Leland Spencer Chair 803-576-5995 DepartmentChair
Baruch Institute Jill Stewart Chair TBD TBD CenterDirector
Cardiovascular Technology Lydia Matesic Chair 803-777-2520 ProgramDirector
Carolina Autism and Neurodevelopment Research Center Jane Roberts Executive Director   CenterDirector
Carolina Autism and Neurodevelopment Research Center Caitlin Hudac Steering Committee Chair 773-848-8848 CenterDirector
Center for Bioethics         CenterDirector
Center for Science Education Katherine Ryker, Co-Director Sean Yee, Co-Director Chair 803-777-9513
Colorectal Cancer Prevention Network Annie Thibault Chair 803-777-1231 CenterDirector
Electron Microscopy Center Vacant Chair TBD 803-777-7085 CenterDirector
Film and Media Studies Program  Lauren Steimer Director 803-777-4236 ProgramDirector
Humanities Collaborative Holly Crocker Chair 803-576-5957 CenterDirector
Institute for Mind and Brain Rutvik Desai Chair 803-777-9029 CenterDirector
Institute for Southern Studies  Mark Smith Director 803-777-6362 ProgramDirector
Jewish Studies Program  Saskia Coenen Snyder Director 803-777-7472 ProgramDirector
Linguistics Program  Emily Manetta Director 803-777-8312 ProgramDirector
Master of Public Administration (MPA) Carla Flink Director 210-827-4923 ProgramDirector
McCausland Center for Brain Imaging Chris Rorden Chair 803-777-4137 CenterDirector
McKissick Museum Lana Burgess, Interim Chair 803-777-7251 CenterDirector
Museum Management Lana Burgess Chair 803-777-5486 ProgramDirector
Neuroscience Jessica Green Chair 803-777-4595 ProgramDirector
SC Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology Adam King Chair 803-576-6577 CenterDirector
Walker Institute  Carl Dahlman Director 803-777-2679 CenterDirector,ProgramDirector

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.