Skip to Content

School of Medicine Greenville

Faculty Profile

Faculty and Staff

Marjorie Jenkins, MD, M.Ed.H.P, F.A.C.P.

Title: Dean, UofSC School of Medicine Greenville
Biomedical Sciences
School of Medicine Greenville
Phone: 864-455-7992
Office: 701 Grove Rd.
Greenville SC 29605


Background: Dr Jenkins joins U of SC School of Medicine from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock, Texas, where she was a Professor of Medicine and the founder of the Laura Bush Institute for Women’s Health, a biomedical research and health education institute spanning across five health professionals’ schools and six campuses. Her most recent endeavor is her work as the Director of Medical and Scientific Initiatives for the FDA Office of Women’s Health since 2015 where she provided sex and gender scientific expertise within scientific programs. In addition to her medical degree from East Tennessee State University in Johnson City, Tennessee, Dr Jenkins holds a degree in Chemical Engineering and a Master of Education in the Health Professions (MEdHP).

Dr Jenkins is a well-recognized expert in women’s health and sex and gender based medicine and has served in a variety of national roles such as Program Chair of the 2015 and 2018 National Sex and Gender Health Professional Education Summits, co-Chair of the Reproduction Workgroup of NASA’s Decadal Review, USMLE Women’s Health National Board of Medical Examiners Writing Group, and HRSA expert panel advisories and NIH expert panels.

Dr. Jenkins has delivered over 150 scientific and consumer presentations and co-authored numerous research publications, scientific commentaries, and textbooks. She has been honored through numerous awards such as the American Medical Women’s Association Elizabeth Blackwell Award, the Women’s Health Congress Award for Public Policy and Advocacy in Women’s Health, and the Cedars Sanai Linda Joy Pollin Advancing Women’s Heart Health Leadership Award, and recognized multiple times as a Texas SuperDoc.

Her academic credentials are stellar as she has served as the Associate Dean of Women’s Affairs for Texas Tech Health Sciences Center School of Medicine, Chief Science Officer of the Laura Bush Institute, and has been faculty with Johns Hopkins MEdHP program where she also filled the capacity of CAPStone Program Director.
Honors & Awards: Award for Public Policy and Advocacy in Women’s Health
FDA Commissioner’s Special Recognition Award: Research Impact and Outcomes Framework
Linda Joy Pollin Women’s Heart Health Leadership Award
Commissioner’s Special Recognition Award, Sex as a Biologic Variable Brookings Institute Workshop and White Paper
Director’s Recognition Award, Sex Differences in Clinical Trials Working Group
Elizabeth Blackwell Award
Johns Hopkins MEHP Alumni Award
Keynote, Diversity Series: Women in History
Keynote, White Coat Ceremony
Texas “Super Doc”
Distinguished Speaker
Women Making a Difference Award
Regional Dean’s Award: Most Published Faculty
McGuire Distinguished Lecturer
President's Excellence in Community Engagement Award
Pikeville College School of Osteopathic Medicine, Graduation Presentation
Soroptimist Club Woman of the Year
“Taking Care of our Own” Award
Texas Woman to Watch
Texas Woman to Watch
TTUHSC SOM Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Service Award
Amarillo Business Woman of the Month (October)
Texas Tech University Faculty of the Year Award
TTUHSC Convocation Ceremony Participant – Hood Presentation
TTUHSC Ob/Gyn Resident Clinical Teaching Faculty Award
Dr. Thomas G. Arnold Cancer Patient Care Award Recipient
Obstetrics/Gynecology Award
Special Dean’s Scholarship Award
The Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Award
The Upjohn Award
McGraw-Hill Award

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.