Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Caryn Outten Named AAAS Fellow

For her research in iron metabolism, Outten was recently elected a fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Congratulations Ting Ge

His proposal has been selected to receive the DOE ASCR Leadership Computing Challenge award.

Congratulations to Poster Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the 2020 SC Environmental Conference Student Poster Awards

Magellan Scholar Recipients Announced

Congratulations to the undergraduate students that received Magellan Scholar Program grants.

Big data and synthetic chemistry could fight climate change

Big data and synthetic chemistry joined forces to show a better way to create materials that filter greenhouse gases

James Sitter Awarded

Congratulations to James Sitter for being awarded the NDSEG Fellowship from the DoD

Congratulations Ken Shimizu

Ken Shimizu received a grant from the National Science Foundation

Congratulations Sophya Garashchuk

Sophya Garashchuk received a grant from the National Science Foundation

Congratulations Aaron Vannuci

Aaron Vannuci has received an award from the National Science Foundation

Congratulations to EPSCoR GEAR Award Recipients

Congratulations to the recipients of awards for $60,000

Congratulations John Ferry

Congratulations to John Ferry for receiving an ACS award

Congratulations Brian Benicewicz

Congratulations to Brian Benicewicz for receiving an ACS award.

SPARC Recipients Awarded

Congratulations to the students that had their research grants funded

Donna Chen Recognized

Congratulations to Donna Chen for receiving the Carolina Trustees Professorship in Public Health, Engineering, Medical Sciences and Sciences

Andrew Greytak Recognized

Congratulations to Andrew Greytak for receiving the Mungo Undergraduate Award.

Chuanbing Tang Recognized

Congratulations to Chuanbing Tang for being awarded the Russell Research Award.

Natalia Shustova Recognized

Congratulations to Natalia Shustova for being awarded the Hans Fischer Fellowship.

Aaron Vannucci Recognized

Congratulations to Aaron Vannucci for being awarded the Ada B. Thomas Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award.

Samantha Rush Recognized

Congratulations to Samantha Rush for receiving the NOAA Hollings Scholarship.

Gabrielle Leith Recognized

Congratulations to Gabrielle Leith for receiving the NASA South Carolina Space Grant Scholarship

Undergraduate Student Achievements Honored

Congratulations to Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry undergraduate students that received 2019-2020 awards.

Congratulations Michael Myrick

Congratulations to Michael Myrick for receiving the 2020 Garnet Apple Award

Congratulations Thomas Vogt

Congratulation to Thomas Vogt for being named a co-chair of the Provost Search Committee

Congratulations Susan Richardson

Congratulations to Susan Richardson for receiving the 2020 Herty Medal from the American Chemical Society.

Travel Award Winners Announced

Congratulations to the graduate students that received departmental travel awards.


News Archive

2020     2019     2018     2017     2016     2015

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.