Skip to Content

My Arts and Sciences

Chairs and Directors

Department chairs and directors are the leaders within the college's academic units, and serve as liaisons between the administration and faculty. Chairs and directors are responsible for stimulating and encouraging diversity and professional growth among faculty and students.

Search by keyword or name to find the director or chair of a specific program, school, center, or institute in the College of Arts and Sciences. Select a link below to filter the list.

Academic Unit Name Title Full Title (hidden column) Phone Email Keywords
(hidden column, sorted by type)
Anthropology Jennifer Reynolds Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-5527 jenreyn@sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Biological Sciences Tammi Richardson Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2269 richar78@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Daniel Reger Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2587 reger@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Criminology and Criminal Justice Wendy Regoeczi Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-7065 regoeczi@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Earth, Ocean and Environment, School of Gene Yogodinski Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4590 gyogodzin@geol.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
English Susan Courtney Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-7120 courtney@sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Geography Jerry Mitchell  Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2986 mitchejt@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
History Jessica Elfenbein Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-2392  jessicae@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Languages, Literatures and Cultures (LLC) Kurt Goblirsch Chair
Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4882 kggoblir@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair
Mathematics Linyuan Lu Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-576-5800 lu@math.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Philosophy Matthew Kisner Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4166 kisner@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Physics and Astronomy Alexey Petrov Chair
Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4166 apetrov@sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Political Science Kirk Randazzo Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-3109 randazzo@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Psychology Nicole Zarrett Chair, Interim Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4638 zarrettn@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Religious Studies Erin Roberts Chair Acad. Department Chair 401-481-2484 robertej@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Sociology Brent Simpson Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-3123 bts@mailbox.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Statistics Joshua Tebbs Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-576-8765 tebbs@stat.sc.edu Acad. Department Chair 
Theatre and Dance Jim Hunter Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-1203  hunterj@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Visual Art and Design, School of  Laura Kissel Chair Acad. Department Chair 803-777-4236 kissel@mailbox.sc.edu  Acad. Department Chair 
Air Force ROTC, Aerospace Studies Race Steinfort Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-3447 steinfoe@mailbox.sc.edu
Program Director Military
African American Studies and Research, Institute for

April Langley

Director Academic Program Director 803-777-7248

langlea@mailbox.sc.edu

Academic Program Director 
Army ROTC, Military Science Daniel Rausch Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-3644 dlrausch@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director Military
Cardiovascular Technology Lydia Matesic Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2520 lmatesic@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director 
Film and Media Studies Lauren Steimer Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-4236 lsteimer@mailbox.sc.edu Academic Program Director 
Jewish Studies Program Saskia Coenen-Snyder Program Director, Interim  Academic Program Director 803-777-7227 saskiacs@sc.edu Academic Program Director 
Linguistics Mila Tasseva-Kurktchieva Program Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-8312 tassevak@mailbox.sc.edu  Academic Program Director 
Master of Public Administration (MPA) Xuhong Su Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2691 suxuhong@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director Graduate 
Museum Management Lana Burgess Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-5486  lburgess@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director 
Neuroscience Jessica Green Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4595 greenjj3@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director
Navy ROTC, Naval Science John Compton Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4124 navyrotc@mailbox.sc.edu Program Director
Women's and Gender Studies Stephanie Mitchem Program Director Academic Program Director 803-576-5995 mitchesy@sc.edu Academic Program Director 
Ann Johnson Institute for Science, Technology and Society

Allison Marsh
Leah McClimans

Co-Director Centers/Institutes, Director

803-777-0041
803-777-3731

marsha@mailbox.sc.edu
lmm@sc.edu
Centers/Institutes, Director
Belle Baruch Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences William Strosnider Director, Interim
Centers/Institutes, Director 843-904-9031 bill@baruch.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Bioethics, Center for George Khushf Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7371  khushf@sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Colorectal Cancer Prevention Network (CCPN) Annie Thibault Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-1231 thibaula@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Electron Microscopy Center  Soumitra Ghoshroy Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7085 ghoshroy@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Humanities Collaborative Holly Crocker Faculty Leader Centers/Institutes, Director 803-576-5957 hcrocker@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
McCausland Center for Brain Imaging Chris Rorden (co-director) Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-4137 rorden@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
McKissick Museum Jane Przybysz Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-7251 jprzybys@mailbox.sc.edu  Centers/Institutes, Director 
Mind and Brain, Institute for Rutvik Desai Director  Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-9029 rutvik@sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Science Education, Center for Katherine Ryker
Sean Yee
Co-Director 
Co-Director
Centers/Institutes, Director 803-777-2768 rykerk@mailbox.sc.edu
yee@math.sc.edu
Centers/Institutes, Director 
Southern Studies, Institute for  Mark Smith Director  Academic Program Director 803-777-6362 mark-smith@sc.edu Academic Program Director
SC Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology (SCIAA) Adam King Director Centers/Institutes, Director 803-576-6577 aking000@mailbox.sc.edu Centers/Institutes, Director 
Walker Institute of International and Area Studies Carl Dahlmann Director Academic Program Director 803-777-2679

carl.dahlman@sc.edu

Academic Program Director
  

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©