Skip to Content

Environmental Health and Safety


Contact Us

Ask us a question, request more details or make a suggestion.

Department of Environmental Health & Safety

306 Benson School
226 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29208

EH&S Phone: 803-777-5269
EH&S Fax: 803-777-5275

Tom Syfert, Director, EH&S
Email: tsyfert@mailbox.sc.edu 

Michelle Parham, Administrative Coordinator
Email: lockhart@mailbox.sc.edu 

EH&S Organizational Chart [pdf] 

Contact Occupational, Environmental & Fire Safety
Name Title Phone Email
Kelly Bergeron Industrial Hygiene and Safety 803-777-9605 bergerkc@mailbox.sc.edu 
Morgan Bevensee Fire Safety Officer  803-777-3928 bevensem@mailbox.sc.edu
Ben Bowers Fire Safety Officer 803-777-7670 bowersbd@mailbox.sc.edu
Jeff Brannon Hazardous Waste Manager 803-777-1935 brannonm@mailbox.sc.edu   
Ana Endsley Occupational Safety Manager 803-777-0208 endsley@mailbox.sc.edu 
David Estey Hazardous Waste Technician  803-422-2122 estey@mailbox.sc.edu
Todd Griffin  USC Fire Marshal 803-777-1640  tgriffin@mailbox.sc.edu  
Buddy Harley Manager, Employee Safety and Construction Safety 803-777-5255  wharley@mailbox.sc.edu 
Bob Holdeman Safety Training Coordinator 803-777-2745 bobho@mailbox.sc.edu
Daniel Woolwine Assistant Fire Marshal 803-777-6674 woolwine@mailbox.sc.edu
Contact Research & Laboratory Safety
Name Title Phone Email
Bryan Bagg Radiation Safety Officer

803-777-7530

Bagg@mailbox.sc.edu
Beth Bair Assistant Chemical Hygiene Officer

803-777-6457

ebair@mailbox.sc.edu 
Allen Boyd Electronic Products Radioactive Waste

803-777-2841

Boydca@mailbox.sc.edu 
Jocelyn Locke  Laboratory Safety Manager & Chemical Safety Officer  803-777-7650  jlocke@mailbox.sc.edu  
Jennifer Roose Radioactive Materials 803-576-6818 RooseJ@mailbox.sc.edu 
Mark Robbins Manager, Office of Research Safety & Biological Safety Officer  803-777-4042  mrobbins@mailbox.sc.edu  
Sherika Smith  Assistant Biological Safety Officer  803-777-1625  Smiths69@mailbox.sc.edu