Skip to Content

Academic Advising


University Advisors Network

The UAN supports traditional academic progression in the classroom and the extra-curricular engagement necessary for life-long achievement.

Purpose & Goals

The UAN provides resources for all USC faculty and professional staff advisors serving Carolina undergraduate students. Effective advising supports traditional academic progression in the classroom, studio, and lab as well as extra-curricular engagement and personal growth necessary for life-long achievement.

We provide information on advising for courses needed in the Carolina Core (USC general education curriculum) and in the Program Major. We also provide information on advising for USC Connect, the beyond-the-classroom program for students interested in Community Service, Global Study, Internships, Peer Leadership, Research and Discovery.

The UAN is the coordinating council for advisors at USC. Each college has a representative in the UAN who serves as a liaison to relay college comments and share institutional information to enhance campus-wide advising effectiveness. 

 

UAN Meeting Schedule

The University Advisors Network meets monthly . Please see the UAN meeting schedule below for time and location. 

  Date Time Location
 Fall 2018 September 19, 2018   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  October 17, 2018   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  November 7, 2018   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  December 12, 2018   9:30 - 11am Carolina Room, Capstone 17th floor
Spring 2019 January 16, 2019   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  February 20, 2019   9:30 - 11am Carolina Room, Capstone 17th floor
  March 20, 2019   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  April 10, 2019   9:30 - 11am Campus Room, Capstone First Floor
  May 15, 2019   9:30 - 11am Carolina Room, Capstone 17th floor

 

UAN Meeting Minutes and Handouts

2017-2018 Academic Year

September 2017 [pdf]: Overview of UAN mission, Advisor Training & Certification Program, National Fellowships

October 2017 [pdf]: Winter Term Program through On Your Time Initiatives, Registration Updates

November 2017 [pdf]: Admissions Updates, Registration Updates, Anti-Discrimination Student Training, January/Summer School Orientation Updates

January 17, 2018 [pdf]: DegreeWorks Student Educational Planner, OnYourTime, Orientation update

February 21, 2018 [pdf]: Palmetto College, Major Change Directory, DegreeWorks Student Educational Planner Demo, Pre-Orientation Advising Checklist

March, 21, 2018 [pdf]: Admissions Update, Advising and the Math Placement Test, Updates from DegreeWorks SEP committee

DegreeWorks Student Educational Planner Subcommittee 
2016-2017 Academic Year

September 2016 [pdf]: Registrar and Admissions Reports, USC Connect

October 2016 [pdf]: Library 101, Orientation Review

November 2016 [pdf]: IAP, Major Maps

January 2017 [pdf]: Orientation Updates, Student Advising Survey

February 2017 [pdf]: IAP and Orientation, New Advisor Menu in SSC

March 2017 [pdf]: New Policy on Withdrawal, On Your Time, Changes to Transfer Credit in SSC

April 2017 [pdf]: Summer Orientation

 

UAN Members

Type Affiliation Name Contact Keywords
(hidden column)
Member
Darla Moore School of Business
Kathy Anastes
Academic Advisor and Administrative Assistant, Economics Department, Darla Moore School of Business
kathy.anastes@moore.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Patricia Armstrong
Director of Academic Programs, Criminology and Criminal Justice
parmstro@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
University Libraries
Joseph Askins
Information Literacy Librarian, Thomas Cooper Library
 jaskins1@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
Valeria Bates
Academic Advisor, College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management
bates5@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
Undergraduate Admissions
Ed Black
Associate Director of Operations, Office of Undergraduate Admissions
blacke@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Rebecca Boyd
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator, School of Visual Art and Design
boydrr@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Claudia Carriere
Undergraduate/Graduate Coordinator and Office Manager, Department of Anthropology
cfcarri@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
South Carolina Honors College
Rachel Denmark
Coordinator of Student Services, South Carolina Honors College
denmarkr@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
University Advising Center
Brian Dusel
Coordinator of Advising Technology, University Advising Center
duselb@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member USC Connect
Amber Fallucca
Associate Director, USC Connect
fallucca@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Study Abroad
Chrissie Faupel
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Advising, Study Abroad
faupel@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Academic Common Market
Meghan Fields
Coordinator of Academic Common Market & NC-SARA Compliance
fieldsmb@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Darla Moore School of Business
Libby Foreman
Associate Director/Academic Advisor, Darla Moore School of Business
libby.foreman@moore.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Gwen Geidel
Research Professor and Undergraudate Director, School of the Earth, Ocean, and Environment
geidel@environ.sc.edu  
Member College of Social Work
Andre Grant
BSW Student Services Coordinator and Academic Advisor
grant32@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Dawn Hiller
Director of Student Services (Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences), College of Arts and Sciences
hillerd@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Engineering and Computing
Sarah Jusiewicz
Advising Coordinator, College of Engineering and Computing
jusiewis@cec.sc.edu  
Co-Chair College of Arts and Sciences
Loren Knapp
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Arts and Sciences
lwknapp@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Janis Leaphart
Student Services Coordinator, Department of Political Science
leaphart@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Palmetto College
Stephen Lowe
Director, Liberal Studies and Organizational Leadership, Palmetto College and Associate Professor of History, USC Union
lowesh@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Registrar
Aaron Marterer
University Registrar
acmarte@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Renee McGinnis
Undergraduate Student Services Program Coordinator, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
mcginnir@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
 

New Student Orientation Bethany Naser
Director of New Student Orientation
 naser@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
 
University Advising Center Drew Newton
Assistant Director of First-Year Advising, University Advising Center
 newtona4@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Pharmacy
Kristi Niro
Director of Pre-Professional Studies and Recruitment
niro@cop.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Connie Outen
Undergraduate Student Services Coordinator, Department of Psychology
couten@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Arts and Sciences
Edith Pietrykowski
Undergraduate Coordinator, Geography Department
 
Member College of Information and Communications
Gina Polizzi
Student Services Manager, College of Information and Communications
 
Member Arnold School of Public Health
T'Kara Richardson
Academic Advisor, Arnold School of Public Health
 
Co-Chair University Advising Center
Claire Robinson
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Advisement and Director of University Advising Center
 
Member Fellowships and Scholar Programs
Jan Smoak
Associate Director, Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs
jansmoak@sc.edu  
Member Athletics
Paul Stoltzfus
Executive Director of Academics, Department of Athletics
stoltzfu@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member Summer, Evening, and Non-Degree Programs
Amanda Therrell
Manager- Academics, On Your Time Initiatives
atherrell@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Arts and Sciences
Nancy Tolson
Assistant Director of African American Studies, African American Studies Program
tolsonn@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member
College of Nursing
Heidi Waltz
Student Services Manager, College of Nursing
waltzh@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member College of Education
Donna Watson
Director, Office of Student Services, College of Education
watsond5@mailbox.sc.edu  
Member  College of Arts and Sciences
Amanda Zeigler
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Biological Sciences
apolson@biol.sc.edu