Skip to Content

College of Engineering and Computing

Our Leadership

Led by the dean of the college, our leadership team includes an experienced group of talented professors representing all areas of our engineering expertise.

Dean of the College

Dr. Hossein Haj-Hariri

Haj-Hariri, an MIT-trained scientist who most recently served as professor and chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, was appointed dean January 2016. Haj-Hariri will spearhead efforts to build on the university’s strength in critical research areas such as energy, cyber security, aerospace and materials.


Associate Deans

Dr. Jed S. LyonsAcademic Affairs; Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. M. Hanif Chaudhry: International Programs and Continuing Education; Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Michael A. Matthews: Research and Graduate Education; Professor, Chemical Engineering

Dr. Abdel BayoumiCorporate Relations, Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Csilla Farkas: Diversity, Engagement and Inclusion; Professor, Computer Science and Engineering

Ruth Patterson: Assistant Dean for Student Services


Academic Program Chairs and Directors

Dr. Michel van Tooren: Aerospace Engineering, program director

Dr. Melissa Moss: Biomedical Engineering, program director

Dr. John W. Weidner: Chemical Engineering, chair

Dr. Juan M. Caicedo: Civil and Environmental Engineering, chair

Dr. Matt Thatcher: Computer Science and Engineering, interim chair

Dr. Roger A. Dougal: Electrical Engineering, chair

Dr. M. Hanif Chaudhry: Engineering Management, program director

Dr. Ehsan Jabbarzadeh: Entrepreneurial Engineering, program director

Dr. Elizabeth ReganIntegrated Information Technology, chair

Dr. Jamil A. Khan: Mechanical Engineering, chair

Dr. Travis Knight: Nuclear Engineering, program director