Skip to Content

National Fellowships and Scholar Programs

  • Banner Image

USC Senior Named Rhodes Scholarship Finalist

The Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs is excited to announce that current senior Jory Fleming has been named a finalist to compete for one of the 32 Rhodes Scholarships awarded nationally. Fleming will interview in Atlanta, GA on November 18 and 19.

A Capstone Fellow, Fleming is pursuing a double major in Geography and Marine Science with a minor in Geophysics, focused on GIS and mapping data as a method of communicating on behalf of the ocean. He has been involved in a wide range of research, through which he has worked with marine science and geography faculty mentors Dr. Jean Ellis, Dr. Tammi Richardson, Dr. Joe Jones, Dr. Jerry Mitchell, Dr. Blaine Griffen, and Dr. Jennifer Pournelle. An advocate for literacy and science education, he volunteers with PAALS and Cocky’s Reading Express, and served as Education Outreach Coordinator for SEAS. Fleming has been involved in the University 101 program, serving first as a Peer Leader and now a Senior Peer Leader. His numerous awards include the Abraham Anson Memorial Scholarship from ASPRS, Charles Bussmann Scholarship from MTS, the Incight Disability Scholarship, the SC Wildlife Foundation Scholarship, and the US Geospatial Intelligence Foundation (USGIF) Scholarship. A 2015 NOAA Hollings Scholar, a 2016 Udall Honorable Mention, a 2016 Goldwater Scholar, and a 2016 Truman Scholar, Fleming plans to pursue an MPhil in Geography and the Environment at Oxford.

Up to 32 new Rhodes Scholarships are awarded each year. The awards allow recipients to study for a period of two years at Oxford University in England. The Rhodes is perhaps the most prestigious and recognizable national fellowship awarded to US students. The University of South Carolina has had nine Rhodes Scholars, most recently Caroline Parler Potter in 2000.

The Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs assists University students competing for national fellowships and scholarships such as the Rhodes.
Contact us for more information »

The University Rhodes Scholarship Committee is made up of USC faculty, chaired by Carol Harrison (History). Committee members include Judith Kalb (Languages, Literatures, and Cultures), Lisa Eichhorn (Law), Steven Lynn (South Carolina Honors College), John McDermott (Economics), and Tom Vogt (NanoCenter).

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.