Skip to Content

Weather update: The Columbia campus will have a delayed opening until 10 am tomorrow, Jan. 18. This applies to all offices. Classes scheduled to begin before 10 am are canceled. Classes scheduled to begin at or after 10 am will take place as scheduled. See for updates See for updates.

The Division of Information Technology

IT Governance

A strong and reliable Information Technology (IT) division is imperative to the success of the University of South Carolina. Input from a broad base of stakeholders is necessary to ensure IT services support the academic and research goals of the university. Several groups, made up of thought and opinion leaders from across the system, have been established to provide direct input in IT strategies and initiatives. 

Current Governance Groups

The groups below were initiated in the 2017-18 academic year. Several other groups will be established in the future. 

Student Advisory Committee

Faculty & Staff IT Advisory Committee

Student Systems Council

IT Security Advisory Committee

Governance Structure

There are three types of governance groups: advisory committees, councils, and boards. Advisory groups are non-voting groups that meet to brainstorm ideas and offer suggestions and input on IT projects. Councils have voting rights and responsibility for resource allocation. The Executive Steering Board is comprised of university officials and not only has voting rights, but final authority on decisions. The model below illustrates the overall governace process in the Division of Information Technology. Some groups illustrated have not yet been established.