Skip to Content

Division of Information Technology


The unITe working group was established as a collaborative effort comprised of a broad cross-section of senior academic and administrative IT Directors from across the institution.

ln Spring 2019, the unITe working group was established as a collaborate effort comprised of broad cross-section of senior academic and administrative IT Directors from across the institution. The purpose of unITe is to collectively define the desired future-state and prompt execution on a portfolio of projects designed to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the collective IT functions across the system. unITe provides input and direction to the CIO for investments in technology deployments and personnel, across the institution.


The first project the group chose to investigate was an integrated Service Desk for students, faculty, and staff. As of March 15, 2020,  several departments had their own IT Service Desks, in addition to the Service Desk that is offered by the DoIT.

Beginning July 13, 2020, seven academic units will complete their transition into the DoIT Service Desk model. This transition will provide a single point of contact for all service requests and assist in improving not only the delivery of service, but will also provide a unified experience for our faculty, staff, and students. 

Future Planning:

The unITe group has identified several additional areas for integration to include:

  • Desktop purchasing
  • Imaging
  • Disaster recovery
  • Email services
  • Cloud services
  • Storage services
  • Security monitoring
  • Bulk software purchases
  • Learning Management Systems

About unITe:


unITe Membership, 2021—22:

Glenn Bunton University Libraries
Jill Chappell-Fail College of Information and Communications
Doug Cogdell - College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sports Management
Bob Dyer Palmetto College
Dan Garwood USC School of Medicine, Greenville
Thomas Holmes Honors College
Tom Johnson Arnold School of Public Health
Matt Joy College of Education
Charles Kerns Moore School of Business
Gary Moore, Chair School of Law
David Mullaney - College of Arts and Sciences
Daniel Patrick - University Athletics
Christian Price College of Pharmacy
David Rodriguez College of Social Work
Jason Trenary School of Music
Ryan Webber College of Nursing
Ronni Wilkinson College of Engineering and Computing


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.