Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center


  • Student Government executive officers

    Executive Officers 2018-2019

    Welcome to campus new and returning Gamecocks!

  • Freshman Council 17-18

    Apply for Freshman Council

    Send in your application to be considered for Freshman council (bit.ly/froco), a group selected to represent the freshman class at USC and work with other Student Government members along with other organizations and services at USC. Applications close Sept. 5!

  • Students visit with other SEC students.

    SEC Exchange

    This July, University of South Carolina SG attended the SEC Exchanged hosted by the University of Kentucky and walked away with two awards for Student Sustainability Fund and Stigma Free USC.

  • Students accept donations for Carolina Closet.

    Student Government Supports Give for Garnet

    SG members table outside Greene Street and provide support for both Give For Garnet and Carolina Closet.

  • Students raise their spurs with Dr. and Mrs. Pastides on the Horseshoe.

    Spurs Up with the Pastides

    Treasurer Emerson Odagis and his staff take a classic Spurs Up photo on the horseshoe with Uofsc’s beloved president and first lady.

Student Government

Student Government works closely with university administration, faculty and staff to represent the interests of students, preserve and protect the traditions @UofSC, and support students and student organizations in their academic and community endeavors.

Announcements

  • Carolina Closet is moving locations. Stay tuned for reopening info!

 

Executive Officers

Taylor Wright

Taylor Wright, President

Taylor Wright is a senior public health major in the Arnold School of Public Health and is also pursuing a minor in business administration.

Contact

Phone: 803-777-3851
Email: sasgpres@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio [pdf]

Office Hours

Monday: 9 a.m.-1 p.m.
Tuesday-Thursday: 9-11 a.m.
Friday: by appointment

Staff

K.C. Ward
Chief of Staff
kcward@email.sc.edu

Brice Smoker
Dep. Chief of Staff
bsmoker@email.sc.edu

Peyton Moore
Chief Advisor
pamoore@email.sc.edu

Greer Schneider
Press Secretary
cgs2@email.sc.edu

Meoshay Jefferson
Historian
meoshay@email.sc.edu

Jenna Allen
Chief Implementation Officer
jaallen@email.sc.edu

Amber Jackson
Dir. of External Affairs
amberij@email.sc.edu

Abby Meister
Dir. of Membership Engagement & Recruitment
meisterr@email.sc.edu

Cabinet

Frank Halloran
Attorney General
fxh@email.sc.edu

Bennett Lunn
Secretary of Academics
blunn@email.sc.edu

Karis Casterline
Secretary of Alumni Relations
karisc@email.sc.edu

Aaron Greenberg
Secretary of Athletics
aaronag@email.sc.edu

Hanna Powers
Secretary of Athlete Relations
hkpowers@email.sc.edu

Annie Guttman
Secretary of Campus Outreach
aguttman@email.sc.edu

Luke Rankin
Secretary of Campus Outreach
lrankin@email.sc.edu

Ngozi Chukwueke
Secretary of Community Relations
ngozi@email.sc.edu

Lyric Swinton
Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
lswinton@email.sc.edu

Rebecca Early
Secretary of Environmental Affairs
rearly@email.sc.edu

Audra Knight
Secretary of First Year Involvement
anknight@email.sc.edu

Taylor Bradley
Secretary of Government Relations
tgb@email.sc.edu

Erin Woods
Secretary of Greek Affairs
emwoods@email.sc.edu

Zach Goldberg
Secretary of Greek Affairs
goldbez@email.sc.edu

Katie Cohen
Secretary of Health and Wellness
kc7@email.sc.edu

Tory Armstrong
Secretary of Safety and Transportation
armstrov@email.sc.edu

Chloe Rafferty
Secretary of Student Services
chloegr@email.sc.edu

Alec Giakas
Secretary of University Relations
agiakas@email.sc.edu

Brooks Herring
Secretary of Veterans Affairs
bh3@email.sc.edu

Deputies

Anna Jones
Deputy of Academics
acj4@email.sc.edu

Campbell Mims
Deputy of Alumni Relations
mimssc@email.sc.edu

Harrison Freeman
Deputy of Athlete Relations
freemah@email.sc.edu

Ben Jenkins
Deputy of Athletics
brj2@email.sc.edu

Carley Bishop
Deputy of Community Relations
cjbishop@email.sc.edu

Quadri Bell
Deputy of Diversity and Inclusion
qbell@email.sc.edu

Jentry Ward
Deputy of Environmental Affairs
jbward@email.sc.edu

Christian Trimarchi
Deputy of Government Relations
trimarcc@email.sc.edu

Samantha Mayberry
Deputy of Greek Affairs
maybers@email.sc.edu

Sahib Dev
Deputy of Safety and Transportation
dev@email.sc.edu

Yash Verma
Deputy of Safety and Transportation
yverma@email.sc.edu

Mason Luff
Deputy of Student Services
mluff@email.sc.edu

Sarah Riesenberger
Deputy of University Relations
riesenbs@email.sc.edu

Committees

Health & Wellness

Sara Ness
sness@email.sc.edu

Rebecca Ostien
rostien@email.sc.edu

Darby Nugent
dnugent@email.sc.edu

Community Relations

Anthony Abate
aabate@email.sc.edu

Christal Harvin
ceharvin@email.sc.edu

Diversity & Inclusion

Jalen Williams
Programming
jaleniw@email.sc.edu

Emily Babb
Univeristy Initiatives
eababb@email.sc.edu

Alisa Parker
ap20@email.sc.edu

First Year Involvment

Kristin Berntsen
berntsen@email.sc.edu

Ian Villavicencio
iev@email.sc.edu 

 

Mills Hayes

Mills Hayes, Vice President

Mills Hayes is a senior broadcast journalism and political science major from Lexington, South Carolina.

Contact

Phone: 803-777-5065
Email: sasgvp@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio [pdf]

Office Hours

Monday and Wednesday: 9:30 a.m.-2 p.m.

Staff

Sophie Davish
Chief of Staff
sdavish@email.sc.edu

Chase Floyd
Dep. Chief of Staff
chasefloyd101@gmail.com

Harrison Chewning
Chief Advisor
harrison.chewning4@gmail.com

Issy Rushton
Press Secretary
issywrushton@gmail.com

Shannen Cloherty
Director of Programming
cloherty@email.sc.edu

Regan Cintron
Liaison to Programs
rcintron@email.sc.edu

Caroline Carlyle
Director of External Affairs
carlyle.caroline@gmail.com

Kathryn Stoudemire
Cockstock Director
kestoudemire@gmail.com

Hunter Sox
Deputy Cockstock Director
hunterzerasox@gmail.com

Communications Team

Mary-Paige McLaurin
Director of Communications
marypm@email.sc.edu

Aisling Batchender
Graphic Designer
aisling@email.sc.edu

Bri Childs
Photographer/Videographer
bchilds@email.sc.edu

Bri Hamlin
Photographer/Videographer
bhamlin@email.sc.edu

Emma Fogarty
Graphic Designer
fogartye@email.sc.edu

Farley Wickre
Graphic Designer
rwickre@email.sc.edu

Lily Bardon
Photographer/Videographer
lbardol@email.sc.edu

Qhira Bonds
Photographer/Videographer
qbonds@email.sc.edu

Sandy Tang
Graphic Designer
wytang@email.sc.edu

Sydney Pitvorec
Graphic Designer
pitvorec@email.sc.edu

 

Emerson Odagis

Emerson Odagis, Treasurer

Emerson Odagis is a junior finance and global supply chain and operations management major in the Darla Moore School of Business. He is also pursuing a minor in Spanish and data analytics.

Contact 

Phone: 803-777-3857
Email: sasgtrea@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio [pdf]

Office Hours

Monday and Wednesday: 11 a.m.- 1 p.m. and 2-4 p.m.
Tuesday and Thursday: 1:30-2:30 p.m.

Staff

Colin Hungerpiller
Chief of Staff
hungerpj@email.sc.edu

Brian Youngblood
Deputy Chief of Staff
bry@email.sc.edu

Lauren Flintom
Chief Advisor
lflintom@email.sc.edu

Kate Lewis
Director of Implementation
kml2@email.sc.edu

TBA
Director of Operations
ceduran@email.sc.edu

Nick Pollak
Comptroller
npollak@email.sc.edu

Claire Roper
Comptroller
cmroper@email.sc.edu

Austin Smith
Comptroller
acs13@email.sc.edu

Hailey McCormick
Comptroller
haileycm@email.sc.edu

Sophia Boden
Comptroller
saboden@email.sc.edu

 

Patrick Ellis

Patrick Ellis, Speaker of the Senate 

Patrick Ellis is a junior in the Honors College studying political science, sociology and economics. 

Contact

Phone: 803-777-3852
Email: sasgspk@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio [pdf]

Office Hours

Monday: 10 a.m.-noon
Tuesday:
 2:30-4:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m.
Friday: 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m.

Staff

Davis Latham
Chief of Staff
jdlatham@email.sc.edu

Kristen Tieman
Deputy Cheif of Staff
ktieman@email.sc.edu

Joseph Bass
Chief Advisor
jbass@email.sc.edu

Emma White
Director of External Affairs
erwhite@email.sc.edu

Jackson Bennett
Director of External Affairs
jcb6@email.sc.edu

Natalia Alves Dias Martins
Legislative Aide
alvesdin@email.sc.edu

Brandon Lynch
Legislative Aide
bwlynch@email.sc.edu

Erica Mijon
Press Secretary
emijon@email.sc.edu

Jacob Smith
Clerk
jss10@email.sc.edu

John David Jacobus
Sergeant-at-Arms
jjacobus@email.sc.edu

 


 

 

Leadership Opportunities

Cabinet

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration. They meet weekly with the full cabinet and various times throughout the semester to work on their own personal projects and endeavors. Cabinet members address a wide array of issues concerning parking, housing, safety, institutional affairs, health and more.

Constitutional Council

Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations. 

saccoun@mailbox.sc.edu

Constitutional Council

Submit Case

 

Brochure [pdf]

 
Freshman Council

Freshman Council acts as an entry-level organization within Student Government with an emphasis on leadership and community involvement. Members consist of a diverse selection of students who undergo a fairly rigorous interview and application process and are chosen to represent the freshman class in Student Government.

Throughout the year, the group meets weekly to discuss pressing issues at USC. FC gets a chance to work with other members of Student Government as well as other organizations and services at USC. Through the mentor-mentee system, each member on the council is paired with an upperclassman member of student government to assist throughout the course of the year.

The council is made up of several committees that work on various projects throughout the year. Each committee has a specific role in contributing to the success of the Freshman Council. Committees meet once a week and all are welcome to attend just like the regular FC meetings.

sgfroco@mailbox.sc.edu

Freshman Council

Chase Rathfoot

Advisor

Jalen Williams

Advisor

Senate

The Senate is comprised of 50 Senators and 10 committees. Each committee is headed by a committee chairman assigned by the speaker and approved by the Senate.

The Senate has the opportunity to pass legislation in all non-academic fields. Legislation addresses issues ranging from the dispersal of funding to university administrative policy. All USC students are encouraged to voice their opinions by attending Senate sessions, by submitting suggestions through the Suggestion Box, or by applying to be in Senate.

The Student Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesdays in the Senate Chambers on the third floor of the Russell House.

Senators by College

Arnold School of Public Health

Kara Fawcett
fawcettr@email.sc.edu

Briana Lewis
brianal@email.sc.edu

Nafisa Rahimberganova
nafisa@email.sc.edu

Raphael Ofendo Reyes
rlreyes@email.sc.edu 

College of Arts and Sciences

Cary Corcoran
caryc@email.sc.edu

Adger Drummond II
adgerd@email.sc.edu

Marshall Ellerbe
mellerbe@email.sc.edu

Khrystal Ellis
khrystal@email.sc.edu

Shontee Gathers
sgathers@email.sc.edu

Patrick Greene
phgreene@email.sc.edu

Casey Hamlin
cohamlin@email.sc.edu

Jereme Hines
hinesjv@email.sc.edu

Almeera Lateef
alateef@email.sc.edu

Azalfa Lateef
aulateef@email.sc.edu

Jaward McClam
j.rashawn3@email.sc.edu

Nhi “Nicole” Nguyen
nynguyen@email.sc.edu

College of Education
College of Engineering and Computing

Taylor Bauman
tbauman@email.sc.edu

Colton Corley
cscorley@email.sc.edu

O’Dhori Prioleau
odnori@email.sc.edu

Sierra Stewart
sierrais@email.sc.edu

Jasrial Thompson
jasrial@email.sc.edu 

College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
College of Information and Communication
College of Nursing

Gwenyth Asbury
gcasbury@email.sc.edu

Nevada Leslie
nleslie@email.sc.edu

Molly McCrary
mccrarm@email.sc.edu

College of Pharmacy

Gabrielle Pierce
gpierce@email.sc.edu

Olivia Hill
ofhill@email.sc.edu

Darla Moore School of Business

Alexis Dunnington
lexiedunnington@gmail.com

Spencer Hardwick
hardwis@email.sc.edu

Boldt Richardson
boldtr@email.sc.edu

Amanda Semmelmeier
semmelma@email.sc.edu

Sam Sisney
ssisney@email.sc.edu

Joe Sternberg
jvs@email.sc.edu

Megan Thackray
thackray@email.sc.edu

William White
wgw2@email.sc.edu

School of Law
School of Music
School of Social Work

Martha Fenske
fenskem@email.sc.edu

Clarissa Guerrero
guerrec@email.sc.edu 

At-Large Senators

Kevin Boyd

Danny Rodrigues

Brandon Patrick 

Students interested in applying for vacant seats should fill out an application.

Congressional Advisory Board

The Student Congressional Advisory Board serves as the voice of the University of South Carolina. We work to assist Congress members in finding better solutions to academic, financial and social issues that concern students. We collect data on student values, develop policy presentations and work with legislators in our nation’s capital to advocate for students’ views.

CAB works to solicit input from institutional constituents such as students, faculty, administrators and staff. CAB strives to educate the USC community about federal higher education initiatives and investments. This initiative enables students to realize their potential for active involvement in national politics.

As student advocates, we believe we can transform both the state and University of South Carolina by informing our elected leaders of issues that are relevant to our generation. By doing this, we can enhance their future – benefiting our community and leaving a lasting heritage for future students.

CAB consists of eight members, one of which is the head of the advisory board. He or she is appointed by the student body president after having completed both an application and interview process. The seven other members are selected by the head of the advisory board and other student government members through the completion of an application and a rigorous interview process. These members all demonstrate exceptional talent, merit, enthusiasm and interest in political matters.

Bryce Simpson

Congressional Advisory Board Director

Legislative Action Network

LAN is a program of the Executive Branch of the Student Government of the University of South Carolina. Its mission involves the following three goals:

(A) To serve as a non-partisan advocacy entity, frequently communicating with the South Carolina General Assembly and other political officials on behalf of the constituency of the University of South Carolina student body so as to directly influence state and local government;

(B) To track legislation year-round through the legislative process, following the legislative chambers while in session and attending meetings and hearings as necessary, to culminate in a Legislative Report Card;

(C) To engage in critical and thoughtful research through individual projects to present to state lawmakers, executive officials, and other political bodies.

Applicants should be passionate about policy, research, and advocacy. Depending on the student’s role in the network, they will be required to attend weekly or monthly meetings.

They will also be expected to do work outside of these meetings.

A team member will contact applicants after their application is received and reviewed. 

Wilfredo Anderson

Legislative Action Network Director

Elections Commission

The Elections Commission is the independent body that is responsible for conducting and overseeing the annual student body election and inauguration. This Commission is headed by the elections commissioner, Evan Dodge, who was appointed by the student body president. The commission also consists of the deputy elections commissioner and seven to nine assistant elections commissioners.  

Program
  • Cocky Connections

  • Constitution Day

  • Creed Day

  • Elections

  • Freshman Record

  • iPad Checkout Program

  • Safety Walk

  • Student Commencement Committee

  • State of the Student Body

  • Umbrella Checkout Program

  • USC Bucket List

  • Walk Home Cocky

Communications Team

The Communications Team acts as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. They also help promote Student Government projects and initiatives through external communications and manages the external communications.

 

Connect