Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center

student government officers

Student Government

Student Government works closely with university administration, faculty and staff to represent the interests of students, preserve and protect the traditions @UofSC, and support students and student organizations in their academic and community endeavors.

2019-2020 Student Government officers

Read below to learn more about each of the executive officers and how you can connect! 

 

Executive Officers

Luke Rankin

Luke Rankin, President

Luke Rankin is a senior from Myrtle Beach, SC studying political science, business administration and African American studies.

Phone: 803-777-3851
Email: sasgpres@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Monday: by appointment only
Tuesday: 12 – 4 p.m.
Wednesday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. 
Thursday: 12 – 4 p.m.
Friday: by appointment only
(or anytime by appointment)

Chief of Staff
Campbell Mims
mimssc@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff
Samantha Mayberry
maybers@email.sc.edu

Chief Advisor
Colin Hungerpiller
hungerpj@email.sc.edu

Chief Implementation Officer
Emily Martin
Etmartin@email.sc.edu

Director of External Affairs
Dynesha Wright
dynesha@email.sc.edu

Director of Membership Engagement & Recruitment
Ben Murray
bbmurray@email.sc.edu

Historian
Karinna Rao
kkrao@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Brooke Hamby
bhamby@email.sc.edu

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration.  

Attorney General
Paul Schwarzentraub
schwarzp@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Academics
Mason Luff
mluff@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Alumni Relations
Meredith Solheim
msolheim@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Athlete Relations
Kailey Mattison
kaileym@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Campus Outreach

Michaela Mabry
mlmabry@email.sc.edu

Co-Secretary of Carolina Life
Katie Durand
kndurand@email.sc.edu

Co-Secretary of Carolina Life
Ruth Bollinger
ruthtb@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Community Relations

Ngozi Chukwueke
ngozi@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Environmental Affairs
Emma Sylves-Berry
sylvesbe@email.sc.edu

Secretary of First Year Involvement
Issy Rushton
irushton@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Government Relations
Janel Moore
janelm@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Greek Affairs
Allison D'Ignazio
dignaza@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Health and Wellness
Chase Arledge
warledge@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Amelia Wilks
awilks@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Safety and Transportation

Casey Hamlin
cohamlin@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Student Services
Almeera Lateef
alateef@email.sc.edu

Secretary of University Relations 
Tory Armstrong
armstrov@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Bobby Herpel
rherpel@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Academics
Sarah Noonan
snoonan@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Alumni Relations
Turner Finnerty
tdf@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Alumni Relations
Ashley Dobson
adobson@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Athlete Relations
Dylan Wonnum
diwonnum@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Athletics
Nicole Dennis
nsdennis@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Campus Outreach
Meme Jefferson         
meoshay@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Campus Outreach
Sara Callahan
sc17@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Carolina Life
Sara Johnson
john2968@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Community Relations
Cami Aull
caull@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of First Year Involvement
Grace Fowler
ofowler@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Government Relations
Benson Clements
bensonmc@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Greek Affairs 
Jon Michael Grimmer
jgrimmer@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Greek Affairs 
Lily Frain
lfrain@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Health and Wellness
Ginny Reams 
vreams@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Darius Stephens-York
dariusds@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Gabriella Velasquez
gvv@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Student Services
Audrey Hill
audreyah@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of University Relations
Katie Palmer
kepalmer@email.sc.edu

Academics Committee 
Cole Finn
cafinn@email.sc.edu

Caroline Favret
cfavret@email.sc.edu

Natalie Monzavifar
monzavin@email.sc.edu

Campus Outreach Committee
Kyle Roop
kroop@email.sc.edu

Zachary Crawford
crawfoz@email.sc.edu

Sydney Pickett
spickett@email.sc.edu

Kennedy Henderson
kah8@email.sc.edu

Sean Maher
spmaher@email.sc.edu

Community Relations Committee
Brice Laney
balaney@email.sc.edu

Jarrett Tardiff
jtardiff@email.sc.edu

Christal Harvin
ceharvin@email.sc.edu

Greek Affairs Committee
Becca Sternberg
sternbr@email.sc.edu

Lexi Prell
aprell@email.sc.edu

Kathryn Tribble
tribblk@email.sc.edu

Jackson Gates
jbgates@email.sc.edu

Jacob Thompson
jacoblt@email.sc.edu

Kathleen Griffith
ksg2@email.sc.edu

Health and Wellness Committee
Deanna Smith
dms9@email.sc.edu

Hannah Anderson
hannahra@email.sc.edu

Myles Keener
mrkeener@email.sc.edu

Payton Ramsey
paramsey@email.sc.edu

Chaney Partrich
chaneyp@email.sc.edu

Abby De Arellano
dearella@email.sc.edu

Kathleen Hill
klhill@email.sc.edu

Inclusion and Equity Committee
Stephanie Daniel
sd13@email.sc.edu

Gabriela Ortiz-Soto
gdo@email.sc.edu

Alisa Parker
ap20@email.sc.edu

Yeismar Herrera-Quiroz
yeismar@email.sc.edu

Reylan Cook
reylan@email.sc.edu

Lyric Swinton
lswinton@email.sc.edu

9/11 Memorial Committee
Emma White
erwhite@email.sc.edu

 

Sophie Davish

Sophie Davish, Vice President

Sophie Davish is a senior finance major with a minor in political science in the University of South Carolina Honors College. She is originally from Chester Springs, Pennsylvania but has quickly found her home here at Carolina.

Phone: 803-777-5065
Email: sasgvp@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Monday:  9 a.m. 12 p.m.
Tuesday: 12 – 5 p.m.
Wednesday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. 
Friday: by appointment only
(or any time by appointment)

Chief of Staff
Shannen Cloherty
cloherty@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff
Aidan Baker
aidannb@email.sc.edu

Chief Advisor
Becca Ostien
rostien@email.sc.edu

Director of Programming
Hannah White
hannahjw@email.sc.edu

Program Liaison
Brendan Drew
brendand@email.sc.edu

Carolina Closet Director
Reagan Cintron
rcintron@email.sc.edu

Carolina Closet Assistant Director
Emily Dengler
edengler@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Stewart Mast
smast@email.sc.edu

 

Kate Lewis

Kate Lewis, Treasurer

Kate Lewis is a senior political science major from Chesterfield, Virginia. She has previously served as the Director of Operations within the Office of the Treasurer.

Phone: 803-777-3857
Email: sasgtrea@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Monday: 2:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 12:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Friday: by appointment only
(or anytime by appointment)

Chief of Staff
Phillip Freeman
ppf@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff
Matt Durant
mndurant@email.sc.edu

Chief Advisor
Emerson Odagis
eodagis@email.sc.edu

Director of Operations
Sarah Riesenberger
riesenbs@email.sc.edu

Director of Comptrollers
Steve Avdey
savdey@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Caden Askew
askewcp@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
CB Karpinski
karpinsc@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Cooper Keener
ctkeener@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Fiza Sethi
fsethi@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Mattie Rudd
mrudd@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Sam Courson
scourson@email.sc.edu

Comptroller
Steven Simon
scsimon@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Taylor Nicholson
tgn@email.sc.edu

 

Davis Latham

Davis Latham, Speaker of the Senate 

Davis Latham is a political science student from Columbia, South Carolina. As a freshman, he served on Student Government’s Freshman Council and then as chief of staff to the first Speaker of the Student Senate. 

Phone: 803-777-3852
Email: sasgspk@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Office Hours

Monday: by appointment only
Tuesday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Wednesday: 12 p.m. – 1 p.m.
Thursday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Friday: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
(or anytime by appointment)

Chief of Staff
Azalfa Lateef
Aulateef@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff 
Laura-Louise Rice
llrice@email.sc.edu

Director of External Affairs
Taylor Bauman
tbauman@email.sc.edu

Sergeant-at-Arms
Vacant

Clerk
Maegan Latham
mhlatham@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Blakely Lovett
blovett@email.sc.edu

 


 

 

Leadership Opportunities

The Student Government Communications Team serves as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. The team consists of graphic designers, photographers, videographers and more that help promote Student Government programs and initiatives through external communications. Follow student government at @UofSCSG on all social media platforms.


Director of Communications
Austin Smith
sasgcom@mailbox.sc.edu | Acs13@email.sc.edu 

Deputy Director of Communications
Julie Crosby
jjcrosby@email.sc.edu

Graphic Designers

Christina Sebastian
sebastic@email.sc.edu

Sarah Sharpe
smsharpe@email.sc.edu 

Lea Swinton
swintonz@email.sc.edu

Photographers

Qhira Bonds
qbonds@email.sc.edu

Lilly Marcadis
marcadis@email.sc.edu

Maya Queenan
mqueenan@email.sc.edu 

Megan Shannahan
shannahm@email.sc.edu

Social Media Coordinators

Mckenzie Hagwood
Mhagwood@email.sc.edu

Lindsay Miller
lrm4@email.sc.edu

Videographer
Kendric Lindsey
lindseyz@email.sc.edu

Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations. 

Contact Constitutional Council 

saccoun@mailbox.sc.edu

Submit a Case

 

The Elections Commission is the independent body that is responsible for conducting and overseeing the annual student body election and inauguration. This Commission is headed by the elections commissioner who is appointed by the student body president. The commission also consists of the deputy elections commissioner and seven to nine assistant elections commissioners.

Freshman Council acts as an entry-level organization within Student Government with an emphasis on leadership and community involvement. Members consist of a diverse selection of students who undergo a fairly rigorous interview and application process and are chosen to represent the freshman class in Student Government.

Throughout the year, the group meets weekly to discuss pressing issues at USC. FC gets a chance to work with other members of Student Government as well as other organizations and services at USC. Through the mentor-mentee system, each member on the council is paired with an upperclassman member of student government to assist throughout the course of the year.

The council is made up of several committees that work on various projects throughout the year. Each committee has a specific role in contributing to the success of the Freshman Council. Committees meet once a week and all are welcome to attend just like the regular FC meetings.

Contact Freshman Council

sgfroco@mailbox.sc.edu 

The Senate is comprised of 50 Senators and 10 committees. Each committee is headed by a committee chairman assigned by the speaker and approved by the Senate.

The Senate has the opportunity to pass legislation in all non-academic fields. Legislation addresses issues ranging from the dispersal of funding to university administrative policy. All USC students are encouraged to voice their opinions by attending Senate sessions, by submitting suggestions through the Suggestion Box, or by applying to be in Senate.

The Student Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesdays in the Senate Chambers on the third floor of the Russell House.

Senators by College

Toneia Douglas
toneia@email.sc.edu

Courtney Lubaczewski
lubaczec@email.sc.edu

Neil Brandon Patrick
npatrick@email.sc.edu

Raphael Ofendo Reyes
rlreyes@email.sc.edu

Jillian Mackenzie Bowers
jillianbowers0@gmail.com

Dylan Malik Butler
butlerdm@email.sc.edu

Mariah Cochran
mariahhc@email.sc.edu

Emma Gaskins
egaskins@email.sc.edu

Patrick Holt Greene
pgreene008@gmail.com

Grace Marie Gunter
gmgunter@email.sc.edu

Sara Hamilton
sch1@email.sc.edu

Jereme Vero Hines
jvhines@email.sc.edu

John David Jacobus
jjacobus@email.sc.edu

Sheila Claire Lynn
SL18@email.sc.edu

Morgianna McDevitt
morgiana@email.sc.edu

Sawyer McDuffie
mcduffs@email.sc.edu

Sooyeon Oh
sooyeon@email.sc.edu

Nicholas Prieto
nprieto@email.sc.edu

Emma Catherine Scott
ecs9@email.sc.edu

Madison Tucker
mstucker@email.sc.edu

Claire Windsor
cwindsor@email.sc.edu

Aleea Paige Winston
aleea.winston@gmail.com

Lauryn Symone Workman
laurynsw@email.sc.edu

Quintarje Malik Carolina
quinncarolina@gmail.com

Elizabeth Hendrickson
eah1@email.sc.edu

Shrey Bipin Patel
shrey@email.sc.edu

Sierra Stewart
sierrais@email.sc.edu

Katherine Zeller
kmzellermail@gmail.com

Kevin Jeffrey Cooper
kevinjc@email.sc.edu

LeAnne Davison
davisont@email.sc.edu

Naja Hough
nhough@email.sc.edu 

 

Mary Lynn Creek
creekm@email.sc.edu

Travis John Mulholland
mulholt@email.sc.edu

Deandre Janell Davis
djd2@email.sc.edu

Jackson Andrew Hornsby
jhornsby@email.sc.edu

John Arthur Lind
jalind@email.sc.edu

Morgan McDonald
mkm18@email.sc.edu 

Andrew Ian Murray
aimurray@email.sc.edu

Michael V Pristas
mpristas@email.sc.edu

Alexander Buchanan Smith
abs13@email.sc.edu 

Jonathan Savitske
savitske@email.sc.edu 

 

Whitney Garland
wgarland@email.sc.edu

Molley Lynn Jenkins
molley@email.sc.edu

 

 

The Congressional Advisory Board (CAB) is the oldest team within Government Relations. Every year, members of this non-partisan student research team travel to our nation’s capital to meet with members of the South Carolina Congressional Delegation. You will gain immense political research experience as you prepare for the completion of the CAB report. The report includes 3-4 issues chosen by members and then surveyed amongst the student body for a student opinion. The data is compiled in the report and presented to persuade members to vote, support, or disprove within the congressional agenda. This experience has also included visits to  the Department of Education,  White House, and National Mall.

Congressional Advisory Board Director

Wilfredo Anderson 
wilfredo@email.sc.edu

The Legislative Action Network (LAN) is a non-partisan advocacy entity, communicating with the South Carolina General Assembly. This communication is on behalf of the constituency of the University of South Carolina student body to share concerns with state officials. LAN members can look forward to increasing the awareness and presence of LAN with the members of the general assembly by attending legislative sessions and various committee meetings. Third, LAN looks forward to organizing a reception where members of student government have the opportunity to interact with state legislators. And lastly, LAN will be the program helping the Governement Relations secretary and deputy secretaries directly aiding in the roll out of the first ever Higher Education Day. Other initiatives also include presenting to members of the Richland County delegation in February.

Legislative Action Network Director

Vacant

 The City Advocacy Commission is a non-partisan advocacy group tasked with being the liaisons between city council-members of Columbia and students. While only in its second year, CAC has made leaps and bounds for advocacy on the municipal level. Leading the charge on student input regarding Quiet Zones, CAC has helped to lay the foundation and plead the case for Quiet Zones surrounding USC’s campus, Five Points, and the Vista. Also they plan to pilot the Extend Conference this year, a conference built to connect Richland One high schools with USC and the possibilities for political engagement while on campus. During the year, members will have the opportunity to present their research findings to council-members, local officials, and Mayor Benjamin. 

City Advocacy Comission Director

David Olds
dolds@email.sc.edu

  • Airport Shuttle

    Student Government partners with the University of South Carolina Parking and Transportation services to provide a shuttle from campus to the Columbia Metropolitan Airport. The shuttle will operate fall break, Thanksgiving break and spring break. Reservations are required. The shuttles run at 5 a.m., 9 a.m., 12 p.m., 3 p.m. and 5 p.m. from the corner of Sumter and Greene street (right in front of the journalism school). Reservations will close the Friday before departure and return dates. The bus will only wait five minutes before departing. 

     

  • Carolina Closet

    The Carolina Closet provides business professional clothes for the University of South Carolina students. With a valid CarolinaCard, students can take five items of their choosing and exchange those items throughout the semester. The closet will be open Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 1 to 5 p.m. or by appointment. Donations are accepted during closet or student government hours. Email sacloset@mailbox.sc.edu to set up an appointment or for donation inquiries.

  • Creed Day

  • Freshman Record

  • iPad Checkout Program

  • Safety Walks

    Student Government partners with USCPD to bring safety walks to campus. During the walks, students accompany police officers to look for any potential safety hazards such as defective lights or sidewalks cracks.

  • Student Commencement Committee

  • State of the Student Body

  • USC Bucket List

 

Connect

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©