Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center


student government officers

Student Government

Student Government works closely with university administration, faculty and staff to represent the interests of students, preserve and protect the traditions @UofSC, and support students and student organizations in their academic and community endeavors.

2019-2020 Student Government officers

Read below to learn more about each of the executive officers and how you can connect! 

Executive Officers

Luke Rankin

Luke Rankin, President

Luke Rankin is a junior from Myrtle Beach, SC studying political science, business administration and African American studies.

Phone: 803-777-3851
Email: sasgpres@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Coming soon!

Chief of Staff
Campbell Mims
mimssc@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff
Samantha Mayberry
maybers@email.sc.edu

Chief Advisor
Colin Hungerpiller
hungerpj@email.sc.edu

Chief Implementation Officer
Emily Martin
Etmartin@email.sc.edu

Director of Membership Engagement & Recruitment
Ben Murray
bbmurray@email.sc.edu

Historian
Karinna Rao
kkrao@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Brooke Hamby
bhamby@email.sc.edu

Attorney General
Paul Schwarzentraub
schwarzp@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Academics
Mason Luff
mluff@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Alumni Relations
Meredith Solheim
msolheim@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Athlete Relations
Kailey Mattison
kaileym@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Athletics
Ben Jenkins
brj2@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Campus Outreach

Michaela Mabry
mlmabry@email.sc.edu

Co-Secretary of Carolina Life
Katie Durand
kndurand@email.sc.edu

Co-Secretary of Carolina Life
Ruth Bollinger
ruthtb@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Community Relations

Ngozi Chukwueke
ngozi@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Environmental Affairs
Becca Early
rearly@email.sc.edu

Secretary of First Year Involvement
Issy Rushton
irushton@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Government Relations
Janel Moore
janelm@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Greek Affairs
Allison D'Ignazio
dignaza@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Health and Wellness
Chase Arledge
warledge@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Amelia Wilks
awilks@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Safety and Transportation

Casey Hamlin
cohamlin@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Student Services
Almeera Lateef
alateef@email.sc.edu

Secretary of University Relations 
Tory Armstrong
armstrov@email.sc.edu

Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Bobby Herpel
rherpel@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Academics
Sarah Noonan
snoonan@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Alumni Relations
Turner Finnerty
tdf@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Alumni Relations
Ashley Dobson
adobson@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Athlete Relations
Dylan Wonnum
diwonnum@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Athletics
Nicole Dennis
nsdennis@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Campus Outreach
Meme Jefferson         
meoshay@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Campus Outreach
Sara Callahan
sc17@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Carolina Life
Sara Johnson
john2968@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Community Relations
Cami Aull
caull@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Environmental Affairs
Emma Sylves-Berry
sylvesbe@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of First Year Involvement
Grace Fowler
ofowler@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Government Relations
Benson Clements
bensonmc@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Greek Affairs 
Jon Michael Grimmer
jgrimmer@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Greek Affairs 
Lily Frain
lfrain@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Health and Wellness
Ginny Reams 
vreams@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Darius Stephens-York
dariusds@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Inclusion and Equity
Gabriella Velasquez
gvv@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Safety and Transportation
AJ Abate
aabate@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of Student Services
Audrey Hill
audreyah@email.sc.edu

Deputy Secretary of University Relations
Katie Palmer
kepalmer@email.sc.edu

Academics Committee 
Cole Finn
cafinn@email.sc.edu

Caroline Favret
cfavret@email.sc.edu

Natalie Monzavifar
monzavin@email.sc.edu

Campus Outreach Committee
Kyle Roop
kroop@email.sc.edu

Zachary Crawford
crawfoz@email.sc.edu

Sydney Pickett
spickett@email.sc.edu

Kennedy Henderson
kah8@email.sc.edu

Sean Maher
spmaher@email.sc.edu

Community Relations Committee
Brice Laney
balaney@email.sc.edu

Jarrett Tardiff
jtardiff@email.sc.edu

Christal Harvin
ceharvin@email.sc.edu

Greek Affairs Committee
Becca Sternberg
sternbr@email.sc.edu

Lexi Prell
aprell@email.sc.edu

Kathryn Tribble
tribblk@email.sc.edu

Jackson Gates
jbgates@email.sc.edu

Jacob Thompson
jacoblt@email.sc.edu

Kathleen Griffith
ksg2@email.sc.edu

Health and Wellness Committee
Deanna Smith
dms9@email.sc.edu

Hannah Anderson
hannahra@email.sc.edu

Myles Keener
mrkeener@email.sc.edu

Payton Ramsey
paramsey@email.sc.edu

Chaney Partrich
chaneyp@email.sc.edu

Abby De Arellano
dearella@email.sc.edu

Kathleen Hill
klhill@email.sc.edu

Inclusion and Equity Committee
Stephanie Daniel
sd13@email.sc.edu

Gabriela Ortiz-Soto
gdo@email.sc.edu

Alisa Parker
ap20@email.sc.edu

Yeismar Herrera-Quiroz
yeismar@email.sc.edu

Reylan Cook
reylan@email.sc.edu

Lyric Swinton
lswinton@email.sc.edu

9/11 Memorial Committee
Emma White
erwhite@email.sc.edu

 

Sophie Davish

Sophie Davish, Vice President

 

Phone: 803-777-5065
Email: sasgvp@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Coming soon!

 

Coming soon!

 

Kate Lewis

Kate Lewis, Treasurer

 

Phone: 803-777-3857
Email: sasgtrea@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Monday: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Tuesday: 1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 2:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Thursday: 1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Friday: by appointment only
(or anytime by appointment)

 Coming soon! 

 

Davis Latham

Davis Latham, Speaker of the Senate 

Davis Latham is a political science student from Columbia, South Carolina. 

Phone: 803-777-3852
Email: sasgspk@mailbox.sc.edu
Download bio (coming soon!)

Office Hours

Monday: by appointment only
Tuesday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Wednesday: 11 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Thursday: 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Friday: 11 a.m. – 3 p.m.
(or anytime by appointment)

Chief of Staff
Azalfa Lateef
Aulateef@email.sc.edu

Deputy Chief of Staff 
Laura-Louise Rice
llrice@email.sc.edu

Director of External Affairs
Taylor Bauman
tbauman@email.sc.edu

Sergeant-at-Arms
Mateo Pierce-Mosquera
piercemm@email.sc.edu 

Clerk
Thel Gunter
gunterla@email.sc.edu

Press Secretary
Blakely Lovett
blovett@email.sc.edu

 


 

 

Leadership Opportunities

The executive cabinet serves as an advisory board to the student body president and is comprised of students seeking to better the university through their particular areas of concentration. They meet weekly with the full cabinet and various times throughout the semester to work on their own personal projects and endeavors. Cabinet members address a wide array of issues concerning parking, housing, safety, institutional affairs, health and more.

The Student Government Communications Team serves as the foremost advisors to the Student Body Executive Officers on communications, media relations, public relations, and specific policy stances. The team consists of graphic designers, photographers, videographers and more that help promote Student Government programs and initiatives through external communications. Follow student government at @UofSCSG on all social media platforms.


Director of Communications
Austin Smith
sasgcom@mailbox.sc.edu | Acs13@email.sc.edu 

Deputy Director of Communications
Julie Crosby
jjcrosby@email.sc.edu

Graphic Designers

Christina Sebastian
sebastic@email.sc.edu

Sarah Sharpe
smsharpe@email.sc.edu 

Lea Swinton
swintonz@email.sc.edu

Farley Wicke
rwickre@email.sc.edu

Photographers

Qhira Bonds
qbonds@email.sc.edu

Lilly Marcadis
marcadis@email.sc.edu

Maya Queenan
mqueenan@email.sc.edu 

Megan Shannahan
shannahm@email.sc.edu

Social Media Coordinators

Mckenzie Hagwood
Mhagwood@email.sc.edu

Lindsay Miller
lrm4@email.sc.edu

Videographer
Kendric Lindsey
lindseyz@email.sc.edu

Constitutional Council (CC) is the Judicial Branch of Student Government. Consisting of four Associate Justices and one Chief Justice, the Council maintains the Student Government Codes and Constitution, and interprets them when there is a dispute on their meaning. The CC can also resolve internal disputes about the governing documents of student organizations. 

saccoun@mailbox.sc.edu

Constitutional Council

Submit Case

 

Brochure [pdf]

 

The Elections Commission is the independent body that is responsible for conducting and overseeing the annual student body election and inauguration. This Commission is headed by the elections commissioner, Evan Dodge, who was appointed by the student body president. The commission also consists of the deputy elections commissioner and seven to nine assistant elections commissioners.

Kathryn Stoudemire, Elections Commissioner
kestoudemire@gmail.com  

Freshman Council acts as an entry-level organization within Student Government with an emphasis on leadership and community involvement. Members consist of a diverse selection of students who undergo a fairly rigorous interview and application process and are chosen to represent the freshman class in Student Government.

Throughout the year, the group meets weekly to discuss pressing issues at USC. FC gets a chance to work with other members of Student Government as well as other organizations and services at USC. Through the mentor-mentee system, each member on the council is paired with an upperclassman member of student government to assist throughout the course of the year.

The council is made up of several committees that work on various projects throughout the year. Each committee has a specific role in contributing to the success of the Freshman Council. Committees meet once a week and all are welcome to attend just like the regular FC meetings.

sgfroco@mailbox.sc.edu

Freshman Council

The Senate is comprised of 50 Senators and 10 committees. Each committee is headed by a committee chairman assigned by the speaker and approved by the Senate.

The Senate has the opportunity to pass legislation in all non-academic fields. Legislation addresses issues ranging from the dispersal of funding to university administrative policy. All USC students are encouraged to voice their opinions by attending Senate sessions, by submitting suggestions through the Suggestion Box, or by applying to be in Senate.

The Student Senate meets at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesdays in the Senate Chambers on the third floor of the Russell House.

Senators by College

 

 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Students interested in applying for vacant seats should fill out an application.

The Student Congressional Advisory Board serves as the voice of the University of South Carolina. We work to assist Congress members in finding better solutions to academic, financial and social issues that concern students. We collect data on student values, develop policy presentations and work with legislators in our nation’s capital to advocate for students’ views.

CAB works to solicit input from institutional constituents such as students, faculty, administrators and staff. CAB strives to educate the USC community about federal higher education initiatives and investments. This initiative enables students to realize their potential for active involvement in national politics.

As student advocates, we believe we can transform both the state and University of South Carolina by informing our elected leaders of issues that are relevant to our generation. By doing this, we can enhance their future – benefiting our community and leaving a lasting heritage for future students.

CAB consists of eight members, one of which is the head of the advisory board. He or she is appointed by the student body president after having completed both an application and interview process. The seven other members are selected by the head of the advisory board and other student government members through the completion of an application and a rigorous interview process. These members all demonstrate exceptional talent, merit, enthusiasm and interest in political matters.

Coming soon!

Congressional Advisory Board Director

LAN is a program of the Executive Branch of the Student Government of the University of South Carolina. Its mission involves the following three goals:

(A) To serve as a non-partisan advocacy entity, frequently communicating with the South Carolina General Assembly and other political officials on behalf of the constituency of the University of South Carolina student body so as to directly influence state and local government;

(B) To track legislation year-round through the legislative process, following the legislative chambers while in session and attending meetings and hearings as necessary, to culminate in a Legislative Report Card;

(C) To engage in critical and thoughtful research through individual projects to present to state lawmakers, executive officials, and other political bodies.

Applicants should be passionate about policy, research, and advocacy. Depending on the student’s role in the network, they will be required to attend weekly or monthly meetings.

They will also be expected to do work outside of these meetings.

A team member will contact applicants after their application is received and reviewed. 

Coming soon!

Legislative Action Network Director

  • Airport Shuttle

    Student Government partners with the University of South Carolina Parking and Transportation services to provide a shuttle from campus to the Columbia Metropolitan Airport. The shuttle will operate fall break, Thanksgiving break and spring break. Reservations are required. The shuttles run at 5 a.m., 9 a.m., 12 p.m., 3 p.m. and 5 p.m. from the corner of Sumter and Greene street (right in front of the journalism school). Reservations will close the Friday before departure and return dates. The bus will only wait five minutes before departing. 

     

  • Carolina Closet

    The Carolina Closet provides business professional clothes for the University of South Carolina students. With a valid CarolinaCard, students can take five items of their choosing and exchange those items throughout the semester. The closet will be open Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 1 to 5 p.m. or by appointment. Donations are accepted during closet or student government hours. Email sacloset@mailbox.sc.edu to set up an appointment or for donation inquiries.

  • Creed Day

  • Freshman Record

  • iPad Checkout Program

  • Safety Walks

    Student Government partners with USCPD to bring safety walks to campus. During the walks, students accompany police officers to look for any potential safety hazards such as defective lights or sidewalks cracks.

  • Student Commencement Committee

  • State of the Student Body

  • USC Bucket List

 

Connect