Skip to Content

Leadership and Service Center

  • Group headshot of student government executive officers.

Student Government

Student Government works closely with university administration, faculty and staff to represent the interests of students, preserve and protect the traditions @UofSC, and support students and student organizations in their academic and community endeavors.

Student Body Elections

Every year, all graduate and undergraduate students are encouraged to participate in the Student Body Elections to select the new Executive Officers and members of the Student Senate. 

Learn More about the Election Process!


Executive Officers

 All executive powers of the Student Government are vested in a student body president, student body vice president, speaker of the Student Senate, and student body treasurer who are elected by the student body each Spring semester. 

Issy Rushton

Issy Rushton, President

The Student Body President serves as the official representative of Student Government upon request of the president of the university and oversees the Executive Cabinet. 

Download Issy's bio [pdf]
Contact Issy

Hannah White

Hannah White, Vice President

The Vice President oversees the general administration and organization of Student Government programs on a day to day basis. These programs include the Carolina Closet, Airport Shuttles, CarolinaBeYOUtiful Week, and Freshman Council. 

Download Hannah's bio [pdf]
Contact Hannah

JD Jacobus

John David 'JD' Jacobus, Speaker of the Senate

The Speaker of the Student Senate serves as the presiding officer of the Student Senate with is comprised of 50 senators from across the university. 

Download JD's bio [pdf]
Contact JD

Caden Askew

Caden Askew, Treasurer

The Student Body Treasurer oversees the internal budget for Student Govenrment and the comptrollers who serves as financial advisors to student organizations, assisting them in their understanding of the allocation and funding process. 

Download Caden's bio [pdf]
Contact Caden


Student Government Initiatives

Student government is an active body that works for university students through numerous initiatives and programs such as the Carolina Closet which provides business and professional clothes for students and Swipe Out Hunger where students can donate unused meal swipes. The student governemnt even assists in providing a shittle to the Columbia Airport during Fall Break, Thanksgiving Break, and Spring Break. 


Get Involved

All students are encouraged to serve the university in a leadership role through student government. There are opportunities for all students regardless of classification and discipline. Ways to get involved include Freshman Council, Government Relations, and within the Student Senate.  


About Student Government

Since 1908, Student Government has had a distinguished history at the Univeristy of South Carolina. Former members can be found within various career fields to include business executives, lawyers, and community leaders. Stay in touch with what is happening by connecting with us on social media.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.