Skip to Content

College of Pharmacy

Faculty and Staff

Gene Reeder, Ph.D.

Title: Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Department: Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences (CPOS)
College of Pharmacy
Phone: 803-777-4219
Office: College of Pharmacy
715 Sumter Street - CLS 314C
Columbia, SC 29208
Gene Reeder portrait


Ph.D.  Health Care Management and Economics, University of South Carolina, 1983
M.S.  Pharmacy, University of South Carolina, 1977
B.S.  Pharmacy, University of South Carolina, 1973


Gene Reeder, Ph.D., retired from the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy in 2023 as director of Outcomes Research and professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences. He holds a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Pharmacy and a Ph.D. in Business Administration from USC. 

Dr. Reeder utilized his passion for the economic evaluation of pharmaceuticals and medical interventions, drug benefit design, formulary management, and health care public policy, combined with his practice experience in the areas of community pharmacy, long-term care, and managed care pharmacy to help the Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center analyze and validate the impact of pharmacists in new clinical roles while also strengthening the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcomes Sciences research, graduate, and postgraduate programs.

Dr. Reeder has extensive experience consulting for pharmaceutical industry, government agencies and various health plans. He has worked as a community pharmacist, nursing home consultant and has held active pharmacist licensure in South Carolina since 1973. Dr. Reeder previously served as president of the American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) and the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy (AMCP). In 2015, Dr. Reeder received the College of Pharmacy's Distinguished Alumni Award.

Awards & Honors

  • Distinguished Alumni Award, USC College of Pharmacy, 2015
  • Bowl of Hygeia Award, South Carolina Pharmacy Association, 2014
  • Steven G. Avey Award, Foundation for Managed Care Pharmacy, 2011
  • Distinguished Service Award, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
  • Faculty Senate Chair, University of South Carolina, 2005-07


Visit ResearchGate

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.