Skip to Content

Undergraduate Research

Research Prizes

Students apply for yourself to receive:


Nominate your research mentor to receive:

Only nominations from students are accepted

Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

This award recognizes and rewards faculty for excellence in mentoring undergraduate researchers. 


Any faculty member who mentors undergraduates in research on any USC campus may be nominated. Please note that faculty may only receive this award one time, so prior recipients are not eligible (see the list of prior award recipients below).

  • Note: Postdoctoral scholars and graduate students are not eligible for this award.


Nominations are only accepted from current undergraduates and recent graduates within one year.

Nominate your mentor through the form below.
Deadline for the 2024 award: Sunday, October 1, 2023 at 11:59pm

To nominate your faculty research mentor for the Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor Award, please complete and submit this nomination form.

When completing your nomination, be thorough with your responses and include specific examples where appropriate. Your nomination holds significant weight in considering your mentor for this award and will be read by the review committee.


2023- Brent Klein, Criminology and Criminal Justice

2023- Cynthia Corbett, Biobehavioral Health and Nursing Science

2023- Kara Brown, Leadership, Learning Design, and Inquiry

2023- Meredith DeBoom, Geography

2022 - Carol Boggs, Earth, Ocean and Environment

2022 - Jennifer Grier, Biomedical Sciences, School of Medicine Greenville

2022 - Susan Steck, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

2022 - Jason Stewart, Biological Sciences

2021 - Ramy Harik, Mechanical Engineering

2021 - Courtney Monroe, Health Promotion, Education and Behavior

2021 - Melissa Nolan, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

2020 — Jeff Dudycha, Biological Sciences

2020 — Dan Speiser, Biological Sciences

2020 — Brie Turner-McGrievy, Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior

2020 — Susan K. Wood, Pharmacology, Physiology, and Neuroscience

2019 — Michael Angel, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2019 — Natalia Shustova, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2019 — Deanna Smith, Biological Sciences

2019 — Dawn Wilson-King, Psychology

2018 — Maksymilian Chruszcz, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2018 — Edward D’Antonio, Natural Sciences – USC Beaufort

2018 — Douglas Pittman, Drug Discovery and Biomedical Sciences

2017 — Jerry Hilbish, Biological Sciences

2017 — Jennifer Pournelle, Earth, Ocean, and Environment

2017 — Sara Schwebel, English Language and Literature

2016 — Michy Kelly, Pharmacology, Physiology and Neuroscience

2016 — Ryan Rykaczewski, Biological Sciences

2016 — David Snyder, History

2015 — Pamela Bowers, Studio Art

2015 — William Jackson, Biology - USC Aiken

2015 — Chuanbing Tang, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2014 — Kate Flory, Psychology

2014 — Daniel Fogerty, Communication Sciences and Disorders

2014 — Doyle Stevick, Educational Leadership and Policies

2013 — John Grady, Sport and Entertainment Management

2013 — Camelia Knapp, Earth and Ocean Sciences

2013 — Joseph Quattro, Biological Sciences/Marine Science

2012 — Norma Frizzell, Pharmacology, Physiology & Neuroscience

2012 — Xinyu Huang, Mechanical Engineering

2011 — Edward Callen, Psychology - USC Aiken

2011 — Melissa Moss, Chemical Engineering

2010 — Debra Rae Cohen, English

2010 — David Reisman, Biological Sciences

2009 — Joshua Cooper, Mathematics

2009 — J. Alexander Ogden, Languages, Literature, and Cultures

2008 — Rekha Patel, Biological Sciences

2008 — Benjamin Hankin, Psychology

2007 — Ann Kingsolver, Anthropology

2007 — John Lavigne, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2007 — Stephen Morgan, Chemistry and Biochemistry

2006 — Sandra Kelly, Psychology

2005 — James Coleman, Psychology

2004 — Matthew Kohn, Geological Sciences

2003 — Catherine Murphy, Chemistry and Biochemistry



Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.