Skip to Content

Office of the Provost

Banner Image

Internal Awards

Mungo Distinguished Professor Award

The Michael J. Mungo Distinguished Professor of the Year award is the University of South Carolina's most prestigious award presented annually to an outstanding teacher of undergraduate studies. The name of each award winner is engraved on a permanent plaque housed on the main floor of the Thomas Cooper Library and award recipients receive a check for $20,000 and a certificate.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be submitted by USC Columbia students, faculty members, administrators and alumni. A nomination form should be submitted to the Office of the Provost and individually signed letters – including a statement of support – should be submitted to the chair of the selection committee at the following address:

Dr. Richard Showman
Department of Biological Sciences
Coker Life Sciences 511
Campus Mail or Columbia, SC 29208

Nomination Deadline

Nominations will be accepted during the fall and spring semesters until Feb. 2, 2018.

Required materials for nominee's file

Nominees are not required to submit any materials.

Selection Process

A selection committee composed of undergraduates and former winners of the award evaluates the nominations and determines the list of finalists. Members of the selection committee visit the finalists' classes, interview the finalists and the finalists' colleagues, and poll the students in the finalists' classes.  The committee will make a recommendation to the president, who will select the winner. The winner is announced at the spring general faculty meeting and honored at the spring Faculty Awards Ceremony.