Skip to Content

Department of History

Advisory Board

Advisory Board for the Papers of the Revolutionary Era Pinckney Statesmen

Woody Holton          Ph.D., McCausland Professor of History at the University of South Carolina. Dr. Holton, a specialist in the American Revolution, is the author of Forced Founders: Indians, Debtors, Slaves, and the Making of the American Revolution in Virginia (1999), for which he won the Organization of American Historians’ Merle Curti Award. He also wrote Unruly Americans and the Origins of the Constitution (2007), which was a National Book Award Finalist. Dr. Holton wrote his biography Abigail Adams (2009) on a Guggenheim Fellowship and won the Bancroft Prize for it.

Martha King             Ph.D., Associate Editor, Papers of Thomas Jefferson. Having served as National Historical Publications and Records Commission Fellow in Documentary Editing on the Papers of Henry Laurens, Dr. King is familiar with South Carolina Revolutionary issues. She is also a scholar of Revolutionary-era southern women.

Charles Lesser        Ph.D., Senior Historian Emeritus, South Carolina Department of Archives and History. As senior archivist or assistant director of SCDAH from 1975 to the present, Dr. Lesser is the most knowledgeable scholar in the state on its colonial and Revolutionary-era records.

Marty Matthews     Ph.D., Historian and Content Manager for the North Carolina Division of State Historic Sites and Properties and Adjunct Professor of History at North Carolina State University. Dr. Matthews’s dissertation on Charles Pinckney was published by the University of South Carolina Press in 2004 as Forgotten Founder: The Life and Times of Charles Pinckney.

Alexander Moore   Ph.D., Senior Editor, University of South Carolina Press. Dr. Moore has served as director of the South Carolina Historical Society and as editor of the Papers of John C. Calhoun. He is a scholar of colonial South Carolina, has a wide expertise on its documentation in repositories throughout the South, and has authored or edited several works on South Carolina history. Dr. Moore most recently published The Fabric of Liberty: A History of the Cincinnati of the State of South Carolina (2012).

Michael E. Stevens   Ph.D., State Historian Emeritus, Wisconsin Historical Society. Dr. Stevens has published extensively on the political history of South Carolina during the early republic. He has edited four volumes of the Journals of the South Carolina House of Representatives (1981–1988) covering 1787–1794, served as lead editor of the South Carolina volume of The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution (2016), and has published articles on South Carolina in the early republic in the William and Mary Quarterly and the South Carolina Historical Magazine. He is past president of the Association for Documentary Editing and winner of the ADE’s Lyman Butterfield Award.

Robert M. Weir      Ph.D., Distinguished Professor Emeritus of History, University of South Carolina. Dr. Weir is the state’s most distinguished historian of its colonial and Revolutionary-era political history. His volume Colonial South Carolina: A History (1983) remains the standard work on its subject.

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.