Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Seth Church Church, Seth
Email:  seth@seth.church
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geospatial analytics, high performance computing, spatiotemporal data visualization, and human mobility
Gudea,  Robert
Email:  rgudea@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:  environment justice, climate change mitigation and adaptation, renewable energy, and sustainability 
Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email:  mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
Qian Huang Huang, Qian
Email:  qh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, social vulnerability, mitigation policy, public health
Sarah Jackson Jackson, Sarah
Email:  sj36@email.sc.edu 
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, risk perception, preparedness, migration
Yuqin Jiang Jiang, Yuqin
Email:  yuqin@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geospatial cyberinfrastructure, high performance computing, human mobility
Youngjae Kim Kim,  Youngjae
Email: yk4@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, sediment transport, UAS applications, remote sensing
Huixuan Li Li, Huixuan
Email:  huixuan@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Wang
Research:  Remote sensing, GIS, coastal environment
Grayson Morgan Morgan, Grayson
Email:  morgangr@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hodgson
Research:  Remote sensing, GIS, sUAS
Huan Ning Ning, Huan
Email:  hning@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  GIScience, remote sensing, machine learning
Eleanor Davis Peirel Peirel, Eleanor Davis
Email:  eleanord@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Dow
Research:  Climate change, business impacts, adaptation
Peter Tereszkiewicz Tereszkiewicz, Peter
Email:  petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, Geographic Information Systems, complexity science



Master's Students

Savannah Baker Baker, Savannah
Email:  sb72@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, mitigation, resilience, mobility, vulnerability
Leah Blackwood Blackwood, Leah
Email:  lmmoore@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Disaster recovery, hazards, resilience
Farmer, Grant
Email:
Advisor:  Mock
Research:
Fulham, Alex
Email:  afulham@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  
 DeBoom
Research:
  Human geography, remote sensing, GIS
Margot Habets Habets, Margot
Email:  MHABETS@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, long-term recovery
Hutchens, Lily
Email:  lilianh@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kupfer
Research:  Landscape ecology, GIS
Long, Chris
Email: 
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, risk management
Derek Matchette Matchette, Derek
Email:  MATCHETD@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kupfer
Research:  Landscape ecology,  conservation biology
Patrick McKenzie McKenzie, Patrick
Email:  mckenzp@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Barnes
Research:  Disease geography, public health, development
Stafford Mullin Mullin, Stafford
Email:  semullin@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Carbone
Research:  Climate adaptation, public health,  extreme heat
Rinehart, John
Email:
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:
Steeves, Nicole
Email:  nsteeves@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:
Andrew White White, Andrew
Email:  afwhite@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, mitigation, resilience

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©