Skip to Content

Department of Geography


Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

image icon Abrahams, Daniel
Email: abrahad@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carr
Research: Conservation, ecosystem services, development, conflict, disaster vulnerability/response
person icon Chin, Erika
Email: echin@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Dow
Research: Urban landscape ecology, biogeography, conservation
photo of Ellie Davis Davis, Eleanor
Email: eleanord@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Dow
Research: Sea level rise, agriculture, adaptation
photo of Sahar Derakhshan Derakhshan, Sahar
Email: saharder@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural hazards, recovery, resilience, risk mitigation policy, GIS
person icon Fan, Qian
Email: fanq@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Natural disasters, remote sensing
photo of Xiao Huang Huang, Xiao
Email: xh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Data mining, remote sensing, disasters
photo of Yuqin Jiang Jiang, Yuqin
Email: yuqin@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Li
Research: Geospatial cyberinfrastructure, high performance computing, human mobility
person icon Kaase, Chris
Email: kaase@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Kupfer
Research: Biogeography, geomorphology, hydrology, landscape ecology, conservation
photo of Christopher Krause Krause, Christopher
Email: cmkrause@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mitchell
Research: Geography education, GIS education, discipline-based educational research
Huixuan Li Li, Huixuan
Email: huixuan@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Remote sensing, GIS, coastal environment
person icon Martín, Yago
Email: yagom@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural disasters mitigation, climate change adaptation
person icon Nelson, Beth
Email: eanelson@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Migration, citizenship, transnationalism
photo of Sam Nielson Nielson, Sam
Email: snielson@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Migration, integration, political geography, cultural geography
person icon Patel, Aashka
Email: patelaj@mailbox.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climate change assessment, usability of climate information for decision-making, water resources
photo of Erika Pham Pham, Erika
Email: epham@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, recovery, resilience
photo of Mayra Román-Rivera Román-Rivera, Mayra
Email: mayrar@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, aeolian research, remote sensing and GIS coastal applications
photo of Holly Smith Smith, Holly
Email: Hlsmith@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mills
Research: Human geography, Middle East, North Africa, geography of youth, urban geography, cultural geography
Nicholas Sokol Sokol, Nicholas
Email: nsokol@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climatology, uncertainty & variability, severe weather, big data, and geocomputation
photo of Peter Tereszkiewicz Tereszkiewicz, Peter
Email: petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, Geographic Information Systems, complexity science



Master's Students

photo of Paul Bauer
Email: pbauer@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Atmospheric sciences, climatology, meteorology, hydrology
person icon Boutros, Divin
Email: dboutros@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mills
Research: Middle East, geopolitics, identity and ethnic conflicts
person icon Brugh, Jessica
Email: jmbrugh@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research:
person icon Butler, Alex
Email: butler56@email.sc.edu
Advisor: James
Research: Fluvial geomorphology
person icon Campbell, Raelene
Email: raelene@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Environmental hazards, meteorology
photo of Bri Ferguson Ferguson, Jacquelyn "Bri"anna 
Email: bf2@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, nearshore dynamics, shoreline resiliency, sediment transport
photo of Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email: mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
photo of George Marino Marino, George (Brody)
Email: gm8@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, coastal management, science policy
person icon McGill, Sean
Email: spmcgill@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, GIS, remote sensing
photo of Grayson Morgan Morgan, Grayson
Email: morgangr@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hodgson
Research: Remote sensing, GIS, sUAS
photo of Huan Ning Ning, Huan
Email: hning@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Li
Research: Deep learning, remote sensing classification
photo of Jake Ramthun Ramthun, Jacob
Email: jramthun@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Environmental hazards, resilience/vulnerability, temperature extremes, public geoliteracy
person icon Rickenbaker, Alan
Email:
Advisor: Hodgson
Research:     
photo of Angela Seidler Seidler, Angela
Email: aseidler@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Barnes
Research: Human-environment relationships in the Middle East
person icon Shao, Tianhua
Email: tshao@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Landscape, China, urban geography
person icon Spires, Tyler
Email: spiresct@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural hazards
person icon Steeves, Nicole
Email: nsteeves@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hiscox
Research:
photo of Tracy Whelen Whelen, Tracy
Email: twhelen@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research:  Hazards geography, GIS
person icon Young, Brittani
Email: bmyoung@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Harrison
Research: Human-environment interactions, political ecology