Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the conclusion of final exams in May. Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

Department of Geography

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Ellie Davis Davis, Eleanor
Email: eleanord@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Dow
Research: Sea level rise, agriculture, adaptation
Sahar Derakhshan Derakhshan, Sahar
Email: saharder@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Natural hazards, recovery, resilience, risk mitigation policy, GIS
Fan, Qian
Email: fanq@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Natural disasters, remote sensing
Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email: mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
Qian Huang Huang, Qian
Email: qh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, social vulnerability, mitigation policy, public health
Xiao Huang Huang, Xiao
Email: xh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Data mining, remote sensing, disasters
Sarah Jackson Jackson, Sarah
Email: sj36@email.sc.edu 
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, risk perception, preparedness, migration
Yuqin Jiang Jiang, Yuqin
Email: yuqin@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Li
Research: Geospatial cyberinfrastructure, high performance computing, human mobility
Kaase, Chris
Email: kaase@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Kupfer
Research: Biogeography, geomorphology, hydrology, landscape ecology, conservation
Christopher Krause Krause, Christopher
Email: cmkrause@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Mitchell
Research: Geography education, GIS education, discipline-based educational research
Huixuan Li Li, Huixuan
Email: huixuan@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Wang
Research: Remote sensing, GIS, coastal environment
Sam Nielson Nielson, Sam
Email: snielson@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Nagel
Research: Migration, integration, political geography, cultural geography
Patel, Aashka
Email: patelaj@mailbox.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climate change assessment, usability of climate information for decision-making, water resources
Erika Pham Pham, Erika
Email: epham@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, recovery, resilience
Nicholas Sokol Sokol, Nicholas
Email: nsokol@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Climatology, uncertainty & variability, severe weather, big data, and geocomputation
Peter Tereszkiewicz Tereszkiewicz, Peter
Email: petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, Geographic Information Systems, complexity science



Master's Students

Paul Bauer Bauer, Paul
Email: pbauer@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Carbone
Research: Atmospheric sciences, climatology, meteorology, hydrology
Bri Ferguson Ferguson, Jacquelyn Brianna (Bri)
Email: bf2@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, nearshore dynamics, shoreline resiliency, sediment transport
Logan Lee Lee, Logan
Email: ll17@email.sc.edu 
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, risk management
George Marino Marino, George (Brody)
Email: gm8@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, coastal management, science policy
Jill Martin Martin, Jill (JJ)
Email: jm73@email.sc.edu
Advisor: DeBoom
Research: Political geography, globalization, development
McGill, Sean
Email: spmcgill@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Ellis
Research: Coastal geomorphology, GIS, remote sensing
Grayson Morgan Morgan, Grayson
Email: morgangr@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hodgson
Research: Remote sensing, GIS, sUAS
Melissa Otero Otero, Melissa
Email: motero@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Barnes
Research: Human geography
Jake Ramthun Ramthun, Jacob
Email: jramthun@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research: Hazards, climate adaptation, environmental communications
Rickenbaker, Alan
Email: rickenda@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hodgson
Research:     
Angela Seidler Seidler, Angela
Email: aseidler@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Barnes
Research: Human-environment relationships in the Middle East
Steeves, Nicole
Email: nsteeves@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Hiscox
Research:
Tracy Whelen Whelen, Tracy
Email: twhelen@email.sc.edu
Advisor: Cutter
Research:  Emergency management, hazards, GIS

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©