Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

Seth Church Church, Seth
Email:  seth@seth.church
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geospatial analytics, high performance computing, spatiotemporal data visualization, and human mobility
Gudea,  Robert
Email:  rgudea@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:  Environment justice, climate change mitigation and adaptation, renewable energy, and sustainability 
Margot Habets
Habets, Margot
Email:  MHABETS@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, long-term recovery
Michelle Harris Harris, Michelle
Email:  mh28@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, shoreline change, LiDAR applications
Qian Huang Huang, Qian
Email:  qh1@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, social vulnerability, mitigation policy, public health
Sarah Jackson Jackson, Sarah
Email:  sj36@email.sc.edu 
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, risk perception, preparedness, migration
Youngjae Kim Kim,  Youngjae
Email:  yk4@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal geomorphology, sediment transport, UAS applications, remote sensing
Naser Lessani Lessani, Naser
Email:  mlessani@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  Geographic Information Science, big data analysis, digital mapping 
Huan Ning Ning, Huan
Email:  hning@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Li
Research:  GIScience, remote sensing, machine learning
Peter Tereszkiewicz Tereszkiewicz, Peter
Email:  petert@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Ellis
Research:  Coastal and aeolian geomorphology, Geographic Information Systems, complexity science
Jill Thornton Thornton, Jill
Email:  jillt@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Nagel
Research:  Migration and refugees, geopolitics, faith-based activities, conflict (resolution)



Master's Students

Savannah Baker Baker, Savannah
Email:  sb72@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, mitigation, resilience, mobility, vulnerability
Daniels-Baessler, Kyser
Email:
Advisor:
Research:
Farmer, Grant
Email:
Advisor:  Mock
Research:
Fulham, Alex
Email:  afulham@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  
 DeBoom
Research:
  Human geography, remote sensing, GIS
Michael Hohlfeld Hohlfeld, Michael
Email:  hohlfeld@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hiscox
Research:  Climatology, GIS
Hutchens, Lily
Email:  lilianh@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Kupfer
Research:  Landscape ecology, GIS
Long, Chris
Email: 
Advisor:  Cutter
Research:  Hazards, risk management
O'Shea, Ian
Email:
Advisor:
Research:
Prado-Alipui, Andrew
Email:
Advisor:
Research:
Rinehart, John
Email:
Advisor:  Harrison
Research:
Roden, Breona
Email:
Advisor:
Research:
Sydney Smith Smith, Sydney
Email:  ss154@email.sc.edu
Advisor:  Hardy
Research:  Political ecology, environmental racism, and coastal climate adaptation

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©