Skip to Content

Department of Geography

Sedimentation fieldwork at the McCrady Base in Columbia

My Geography

My Geography is the information resource page for current geography faculty, staff and students. If you have any questions, please contact us at 803-777-5234.

Upcoming Events and Announcements

Last day of classes

Dec. 6 will be the last day of classes for the Fall 2019 semester.

Thesis proposal defense

Nicole Steeves will defend her master's thesis proposal on Monday, Dec. 9, at 1 p.m. in Callcott, Room 228. Please join us while she presents her proposed work, titled “An Investigation of Surface Inversion Characteristics in Shallow Topography.” Her committee consists of Dr. April Hiscox, Dr. Greg Carbone and Dr. Zhenlong Li.

Exam period

The final exams will run from Dec. 9 through Dec. 16.


The Fall 2019 graduation ceremonies will be held on Dec. 16. Doctoral hoodings will take place at 9:30 a.m. in the Koger Center. Bachelor's , master's and professional degrees will be awarded beginning at 2:30 p.m. in the Colonial Life Arena. 


Geography Colloquia and Talks 2019–2020

Friday, Sept.6 Elizabeth Delmelle, UNC Charlotte
Friday, Oct. 4 Asher Ghertner, Rutgers University
Friday, Jan. 24 Diego Riveros-Iregui, UNC Chapel Hill
Friday, Feb. 7 Bethany Cutts, NC State University
Friday, March 20
 —Minghi Lecture—
John Pickles, UNC Chapel Hill
Friday, April 3
 Visiting scholar Gavin Bridge, Durham University


USC Geography and Geographers in the News

More geography news » 


Photo: Sedimentation fieldwork at the McCrady Base in Columbia; Michael Hodgson.


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.