Skip to Content

Department of English Language and Literature

  • Undergrad English Awards for 2019

Undergraduate English Awards for 2019!

Superlative Students Honored at Awards Day

Each year the English Department recognizes outstanding undergraduate work with multiple awards in a range of categories. Awards were given out to the students below at the University’s Awards Day on April 18, 2019 on the Horseshoe.

-Among our seniors, Rebecca Steptoe won the Cary K. Smith, Jr. Award, as well as the Honors John K. Hoey Endowment Award.

-Allie Anderson-Horecny won the Merrill G. Christophersen Award.

-Riley Farmer, John Huylu, John Queen, and Daania Shakir received the Distinguished Senior Award.

-For the juniors, Brandezia Hutchinson, Megan Knight, and William Stover received a N. G. Belser Scholarship.

-Hansel Haase won the Peter Mackey Scholarship Award.

-Nellie Hildebrandt and Harrison Otto won a Polston Scholarship Award.

-Elizabeth Schell is the first ever recipient of the Heide Hilburn Memorial Award. This scholarship is awarded for two years to a student in the Secondary Education track.

-Recipients of the Distinguished Juniors Award were Sarah Ammons, Lyndsey Ebener, Makayla Hansen, and Michaela Reilly.

-For the sophomores, Madeline Hoverkamp and Sydney Read won a George Walker Waring Award.

-Among the winners of the department writing contests, Grace Riley received the J.S Reynolds Essay Award for “Buchi Emecheta’s Construction of the African Women Feminist Identity.”

-Victoria Krivo’s “Euthanasia” won the Havilah Babcock Poetry Award.

-Nellie Hildebrandt won the Havilah Babcock Short Story Award for “Manual Labor.”

-Haley Kellner received the Heide Hilburn Poetry Award. 

The department celebrates these students’ achievements and wishes them a wonderful summer!


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.