Skip to Content

Women’s and Gender Studies Program


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the Women's and Gender Studies Program or contact us.

Name Title Research Areas Phone Email Keywords
(hidden column)
Barker, Drucilla K.

Professor of Anthropology  and Women's and Gender Studies

Globalization, feminist political economy, and economic anthropology 803-777-3200 barkerdk@sc.edu Barker, Drucilla
Campbell, Dawn

Instructor
Women's and Gender Studies

Gender representation in media and popculture, contemporary feminist social movements 803-777-4007 dawnc145@gmail.com Dawn, Campbell
Collier, Rebecca Instructor                              Women's and Gender Studies WGST 112 - Introduction Women's and Gender Studies instructor 803-777-4007 rcollier@mailbox.sc.edu Rebecca, Collier, Becky
Hildebrandt, Lorena Program Coordinator Contact for program events, administrative services, and student services 803-777-4200 hildebrl@mailbox.sc.edu Staff, Lorena, Hildebrandt, Administrative, Program, Coordinator
Jenkins, Danny Associate Professor of Music and Graduate Director Women's and Gender Studies Leonard Bernstein, musical theater, queer representation and interpretation in music 803-777-4708 djenkins@mozart.sc.edu  Jenkins, Daniel, Danny, Graduate, Director
Luchok, Kathryn Instructor                              Women's and Gender Studies Global women's health, gender and health, reproductive health, health equity, diversity and inclusion 803-777-4007 luchok@mailbox.sc.edu  Luchok, Kathryn
Madden, Ed  Professor of English and Director Women's and Gender Studies Sexuality studies & Irish studies, Irish masculinities, gay rugby, Irish literature, poetry 803-777-4008  maddene@mailbox.sc.edu   Madden, Ed, Norman, Director, Chair
Mann, Emily

Assistant Professor of Public Health and Women's and Gender Studies

Gender and sexuality studies, feminist studies of health and medicine, reproductive justice, LGBTQ health, qualitative methods 803-777-7029 emann@mailbox.sc.edu  Mann, Emily
McClimans, Leah Professor of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies  Feminist philosophy 803-777-3731 mcclimans@mailbox.sc.edu  Leah, McClimans
Mitchem, Stephanie Y. Professor of Religious Studies and Women's and Gender Studies African-American/diasporan women and spirituality, black feminist theory, gender and religion 803-466-4669  mitchesy@sc.edu  Mitchem, Stephanie
Pfeffer, Carla A. Associate Professor of Sociology  and Undergraduate Director Women's and Gender Studies Sex and gender, sexualities, body and embodiment, feminist studies of family, LGBTQ identity and experience, qualitative methods 803-777-3123  pfefferc@mailbox.sc.edu  Pfeffer, Carla
Ramsdell, Ann Associate Professor of Cell Biology and Anatomy and Women's and Gender Studies     803-216-3892 ann.ramsdell@uscmed.sc.edu  Ann, Ramsdell
Schwebel, Sara L. Associate Professor of English and Women's and Gender Studies Childhood studies & history of girlhood, gender representations in children’s and young adult literature, American history/American literature as school curriculum 803-576-5891 schwebel@sc.edu   Schwebel, Sara, 
Swan, Suzanne Associate Professor of Psychology and Women's and Gender Studies Interpersonal and dating violence, sexual violence, and drugging 803-777-4007 swansc@mailbox.sc.edu  Suzanne, Swan, Susanne, Undergraduate, Director
Waters, Mary Baskin Instructor                              Women's and Gender Studies Civic responsibility, service-learning, Archiving South Carolina Women Collection 803-777-4007 mbwaters@mailbox.sc.edu  Waters, Mary, Baskin