Skip to Content

All University of South Carolina system institutions will be closed through the end of the spring semester. Columbia campus virtual instruction will continue through the end of the Summer II semester (Aug 1). Details can be found on the coronavirus landing page.

Department of Sociology

Faculty and Staff Directory

Faculty/Staff Name Title Secondary Title Phone Email Keywords Department
Faculty Anderton, Douglas L. CAS Distinguished Professor & Chair 803-777-3123 dla@sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Augustine, Jennifer Associate Professor & Undergraduate Program Director 803-777-3123 Augustjm@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Brashears, Laura Instructor 803-777-3123 BRASHEAL@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Brashears, Matthew Associate Professor 803-777-3123 brasheam@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Staff Campbell , Jimmy L, Jr Business Manager 803-777-3679 jcamp@mailbox.sc.edu Department of Sociology
Faculty Cummings, Jason L. Assistant Professor 803-777-1860 jcumming@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Deflem, Mathieu Professor 803-777-3123 deflem@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Hartnett, Caroline Associate Professor 803-777-3123 hartnetc@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Henderson, Andrea K. Assistant Professor 803-777-3123 AKHender@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Hodasi, Anne Administrative Specialist II 803-777-3123 Hodasi@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Staff Leal, Diego F. Assistant Professor 803-777-3123 leald@mailbox.sc.edu
Faculty Markovsky, Barry Professor 803-777-3123 barry@sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Pfeffer, Carla A. Associate Professor Sociology and Director of Women's and Gender Studies 803-777-4008 pfefferc@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Simpson, Brent Professor & Graduate Program Director 803-777-3123 bts@sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Thye, Shane Professor 803-777-3123 srthye@sc.edu Sociology
Faculty Wong, Jaclyn Assistant Professor 803-777-3123 wongjs@mailbox.sc.edu Department of Sociology
Faculty van der Iest, Hanne Instructor 803-777-3123 VANDERI2@mailbox.sc.edu Sociology

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©