Skip to Content

Department of Sociology

Graduate Students

Jered

Jered Abernathy

Contact: jered@email.sc.edu 

Research Interests: Trust, Cooperation, and Leadership

Current Research Projects: Building Trust among Politically Different Americans

Valerie

Valerie Barron

Contact: vkbarron@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Experimental Social Psychology, Social Networks, Identity, Emotions, Enequality, and Science/Technology.

Zack

Zackery Butler

Contact: zbbutler@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social Demography, Public Policy, Historical Sociology

Current Research Projects: The Decline in U.S. Men's Fertility Intentions; The Second Demographic Transition for Young Women in Latin America; Implementation of Minimum Age of Marriage Laws Around the World

No photo

Adrianne Dues

Contact: adues@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Population Health, Health Inequities, Psychosocial Mechanisms, Race/Ethnicity/Immigration, and Quantitative Methods

Current Research Projects: ASPIRE II, Transforming University of South Carolina into a National Leader in Health, Inequalities, and Population Research

Matthew

Matthew Facciani

Contact: facciani@email.sc.edu 

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Identity, Sociology of Emotions, Political Sociology, Social Networks

Current Research Projects: My dissertation studies how self-evaluations and social networks impact the processing of political information. I am also working on developing a visual vignette for cross national research.

No photo

Calley Fisk

Contact: cfisk@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Population Health, Race/Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods

Current Research Projects: The Impacts of State-Level Public Policies on Racial Health Inequities; Links Between County-Level School Quality and Population Health; The Relationship Between Socially-Assigned Race and Well-Being Among U.S. Hispanics

 

No photo

Kelsey Griffin

Contact: keg7@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Inequalities and Stratification, Quantitative Methods, & Crime and Deviance

Current Research Projects: Child Neglect and Emotional Maltreatment in South Carolina

 

Nick

Nick Harder

Contact: nharder@email.sc.edu 

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Networks, Group Processes, Status

Nick Heiserman

Nicholas Heiserman  

Contactheisermn@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Group Processes, Economic Inequality, Gender, Discrimination

Current Research Projects: Complex Stereotyping: Stereotypes at the Intersections of Gender, Sexuality, Age, Race, and Class

Nik

Nik Lampe

Contactlampen@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Medical Sociology, LGBTQIAP Studies, Sex and Gender, Sexualities, Aging and the Life Course, Methodology, Sociology of Religion

Current Research Projects: Understanding the Healthcare Experiences of Transgender and Gender Non-Conforming Young Adults; Making Sense of the Healthy Embodiment after Realization of Intersex Status; Am I Trans Enough?: Negotiating Trans Identity While Interviewing Trans People; Transgender and Intersex Aging Health; Social Memory, Mass Homicide, and the Pulse Massacre

Viki

Victoria Money

Contactvmoney@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social networks, Information Diffusion, Health, Social Media Analysis, and Identity.

Current Research Projects: Thou Shalt Lie: Managing Anticipatory Deflection with Deception; Reddit vs Twitter: The Underlying Nature of Social Media and How it Shapes the Characteristics of DDEO; Secrets, Lies, and Social Network Analysis

No photo

Joseph Padgett

Contact: padgetj6@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Sexual Behavior, Person Perception, Social Power, Social Psychology

Current Research Projects: Impacts of Power and Relationship Status on Partner Perceptions

Justina

Justina Rieger

Contact: jrieger@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Mental Health

Current Research Projects: LGBT Mental Health

David

David Warden

Contact: wardend@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Education, Leadership, Prejudice, Aggression, Family

Current Research Projects: Sense of Group Position and Racial Prejudice; Maternal Education and Children's Outcomes; Turnover among Nurse Leaders

Zoe

Jingwen Zhong

 Contact: zhong5@email.sc.edu  

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Networks

Current Research Projects: A Permutation Test for Ecological Competition; Social Influence Network Model of Performance Expectations4


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©