Skip to Content

Department of Sociology

Graduate Students

Jered

Jered Abernathy

Contact: jered@email.sc.edu 

Research Interests: Trust, Cooperation, and Leadership

Current Research Projects: Building Trust among Politically Different Americans

Valerie

Valerie Barron

Contact: vkbarron@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Experimental Social Psychology, Social Networks, Identity, Emotions, Enequality, and Science/Technology.

No photo

Adrianne Dues

Contact: adues@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Population Health, Health Inequities, Psychosocial Mechanisms, Race/Ethnicity/Immigration, and Quantitative Methods

Current Research Projects: ASPIRE II, Transforming University of South Carolina into a National Leader in Health, Inequalities, and Population Research

No photo

Calley Fisk

Contact: cfisk@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Population Health, Race/Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods

Current Research Projects: The Impacts of State-Level Public Policies on Racial Health Inequities; Links Between County-Level School Quality and Population Health; The Relationship Between Socially-Assigned Race and Well-Being Among U.S. Hispanics

 

No photo

Kelsey Griffin

Contact: keg7@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Inequalities and Stratification, Quantitative Methods, & Crime and Deviance

Current Research Projects: Child Neglect and Emotional Maltreatment in South Carolina

 

Nick

Nick Harder

Contact: nharder@email.sc.edu 

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Networks, Group Processes, Status

Nick Heiserman

Nicholas Heiserman  

Contactheisermn@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Group Processes, Economic Inequality, Gender, Discrimination

Current Research Projects: Complex Stereotyping: Stereotypes at the Intersections of Gender, Sexuality, Age, Race, and Class

Morgan Koziol

Contact: mkoziol@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Inequality (Race/Ethnicity, Education, Income),Academic Outcomes, Balance/Imbalance in Relationships

 

Nik

Nik Lampe

Contactlampen@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Applied Sociology; Medical Sociology; Methodology; Sex, Gender, & Sexuality; Social Inequality & Stratification,Aging and the Life Course

Current Research Projects: Healthy Aging Beyond Sex and Gender Binaries; Understanding Transgender and Non-Binary Experiences in Healthcare Systems and Interactions; African American Lay Pastoral Care Facilitators’ Perspectives on Dementia Caregiver Education and Training; Teaching with TikTok in Online Sociology Courses; Age-Friendly Health Care in Action Across the Life Span: Identifying Geriatrics Content in PA Student Clinical Encounters 

Chang-Yi Lin

Contact: changyi@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social Network, Status, inequality, Migration 

Viki

Victoria Money

Contactvmoney@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Social networks, Information Diffusion, Health, Social Media Analysis, and Identity

Current Research Projects: Thou Shalt Lie: Managing Anticipatory Deflection with Deception; Reddit vs Twitter: The Underlying Nature of Social Media and How it Shapes the Characteristics of DDEO; Secrets, Lies, and Social Network Analysis

Samantha Moser

Contact: sld9@email.sc.edu

Research: Economic Inequality, Gender, Race, Health and Qualitative Methods

Current Research Projects: Researching How Couples Navigate Student Loan Debt Together

No photo

Joseph Padgett

Contact: padgetj6@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Sexual Behavior, Person Perception, Social Power, Social Psychology

Current Research Projects: Impacts of Power and Relationship Status on Partner Perceptions

Justina

Justina Rieger

Contact: jrieger@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Gender, Sexuality, Mental Health

Current Research Projects: LGBT Mental Health

Atticus Wolfe

Contact: wolfea@email.sc.edu

Research Interests: Biomedicine, Health Inequalities, Gender, Sex, and Sexuality

Current Research Projects: Gender and Sex as Social Determinants of Health, Patient-Provider Relationships, and Medical Provider Burnout 

Zoe

Jingwen Zhong

 Contact: zhong5@email.sc.edu  

Research Interests: Social Psychology, Social Networks

Current Research Projects: A Permutation Test for Ecological Competition; Social Influence Network Model of Performance Expectations4


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©