Skip to Content

Department of Anthropology


Congratulations to Dr. Courtney Lewis

Courtney Lewis, anthropology and Institute for Southern Studies, presented the James A. Cooper Memorial Lecture in Cherokee Studies, “Creating Sovereign Entrepreneurs,” at Western Carolina University.

Congratulations to our three 2019-2020 Bilinksi Awardees

 Russell and Dorothy Bilinski believed that education was a means to obtain independence and this is the legacy they wished to pass on to others. Each Russell J. and Dorothy S. Bilinski Fellowship is worth $30,000; a modest stipend of $1,250 will also be provided to each fellow to support dissertation research and completion. Students enrolled in any of the College’s Doctor of Philosophy programs in the humanities and social sciences may be nominated.  

Tiffany Jones  - Title: Placemaking through Performance: Spoken Word Poetry and the Reclaiming of “Chocolate City”

Anais Parada - Title:The Puruhá Entrepreneurs of Ecuador: Creating and Contesting the Boundaries of Indigenous Identities Through Dress  

Kristina Zarenko - Title: The Impacts of Migration and Racialization on Skeletal Manifestations of Disease in 19th and 20th Century St. Louis, Missouri 

Congratulations to our Anthropology SPARC Recipient

Sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Research, the SPARC Graduate Research Grant is a merit-based award designed to ignite research and creative excellence across all disciplines at USC. The overall objective of the SPARC Graduate Research Grant is to provide support and to encourage outstanding students to develop proposals to enhance their research experience during their graduate career at the University of South Carolina.

Madeline Atwell – Title: Mental Institutionalization and Health: Biocultural perspectives of skeletal trauma and disease from state hospitals in teh 20th-century United States


Congratulations to Leland Ferguson, Emeritus, Univ. of South Carolina, Department of Anthropology

Leland Ferguson received the J. C. Harrington Medal in Historical Archaeology for his lifetime contributions and dedication to historical archaeology at the Society for Historical Archaeology's 50th Annual Conference on Historical & Underwater Archaeology in Fort Worth, Texas, January 6, 2017.

Tiffany Jones

Tiffany Jones has been awarded the AAA (American Anthropological Association) Minority Awards Committee.

News Archive

2020    2019    2018


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.