Skip to Content

Coronavirus: Get complete details about the university's response to COVID-19.

College of Engineering and Computing

Advising Contacts

Students are required to meet with their advisors at least once a semester, prior to course registration for the next semester. Advisors discuss and sign student advisement forms. However, please contact them at any time if you need anything. They are here to help you navigate the path to graduation from the University of South Carolina.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Who is my advisor?

To find out who your advisor is, log in to Self Service Carolina then click “Student Information.” Your advisor’s name is listed under “Primary Advisor.”


Academic Advisors

Our helpful and friendly academic advisors help freshmen and new transfer students to succeed in the College of Engineering and Computing. 

William Brown

William Brown

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.777.0947
Email: webrown@mailbox.sc.edu  

Samantha Malpass

Samantha Malpass

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.576.5681
Email: malpasss@mailbox.sc.edu

Laura Nix

Laura Nix

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.576.6335
Email: nixla@mailbox.sc.edu

Lisa Pierce

Lisa Pierce 

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.576.6333
Email: pierce9@cec.sc.edu

place holder

Shane Prater

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.576.5683
Email: praterst@mailbox.sc.edu

Sam Sawyer

Sam Sawyer

Swearingen Engineering Center, Student Services, Room 1A00
803.576.5682
Email: ss20@cec.sc.edu


Continuing Student Advisors

Continuing students are assigned Faculty Advisors who provide information about career planning, professional development, and degree requirements. Faculty advisors also discuss and sign student advisement forms. 

Contact information for each faculty advisor is found in the CEC Faculty Staff Directory


Department and College Contacts

Need help beyond your advisor? Contact the appropriate department contact, listed below.

Department/Program Administrator Undergraduate Director Chair/Director
Biomedical Engineering
301 Main St.
Swearingen 1B33
Kimberly Bradshaw, Administrative Coordinator
803-777-2310
bradshaw@sc.edu
Mark Uline
803-777-2030
uline@cec.sc.edu
Melissa Moss
803-777-5604
mossme@cec.sc.edu
Chemical Engineering
301 Main St.
Swearingen 2C02
Loretta Hardcastle, Administrative Assistant to the Chair
803-777-4181
hardcasl@cec.sc.edu 
Chris Williams
803-777-0143
willia84@cec.sc.edu
Melissa Moss
803-777-5604
mossme@cec.sc.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering
300 Main St., C230 
Karen Ammarell, Administrative Assistant
803-777-9482
ammarell@cec.sc.edu
Nathan Huynh
803-777-8947
huynhn@cec.sc.edu
Juan Caicedo
803-777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu
Computer Science
and Engineering
M. Bert Storey Engineering & Innovation Center
550 Assembly St., 2nd Floor
Randi Baldwin, Administrative Coordinator
803-777-7979
baldwirk@cse.sc.edu
José Vidal
803-777-0928
vidal@sc.edu
Matt Thatcher
803-777-2895
thatche1@cec.edu
Integrated Information Technology
M. Bert Storey Engineering & Innovation Center
550 Assembly St., 2nd Floor
Janice Bedenbaugh, Administrative Coordinator 
803-777-6622 
bjanice@cec.sc.edu
John Gerdes Jr.
803-777-8529 
jgerdes@sc.edu
Elizabeth Regan 
803-777-2286 
earegan@mailbox.sc.edu
Electrical Engineering
301 Main St.
Swearingen 3A80
Meredith Higgs, Administrative Assistant
803-777-2877
fievet@cec.sc.edu
Grigory Simin 
803-777-0986
simin@engr.sc.edu
Roger Dougal
803-777-7890
dougal@cec.sc.edu
Mechanical Engineering
Aerospace Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
300 Main St., A224
Renee Jenkins or Becky Mayo, Student Services
803-777-9549
jenkinsr@cec.sc.edu
mayo@cec.sc.edu
Ramy Harik
803-576-6247
harik@cec.sc.edu
Jamil Khan
803-777-1578
khan@cec.sc.edu

 


Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©