Skip to Content

My Arnold School

  • Group of Delta Omega Society members posing

Delta Omega Society

Delta Omega is the honorary society for graduate and undergraduate students in public health. The Society was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University's School of Public Health.

There are more than 100 chapters throughout the world. The national office is located at the Association of Schools an Programs of Public Health in Washington, D.C. Any questions concerning Delta Omega can be sent to or visit the Delta Omega web page at For information about the Mu Chapter at the Arnold School of Public Health, contact the Mu Chapter directly at

The constitution and by-laws were adopted in 1927 and have been amended occasionally since then. The National Council, composed of elected officers and representatives of each chapter, meets annually. The annual meeting includes a scientific, and a business program. It is usually held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Each chapter conducts the principle Delta Omega activities. The chapters elect new members each year from three groups: students who are candidates for a degree in public health, faculty members at the school of public health, and alumni actively engaged in public health work.

Election from all three groups is based on outstanding performance: scholarship in students, teaching and research in faculty, and outstanding work in the practice of public health in alumni. Election to membership in Delta Omega is intended, not only to recognize merit, but also to encourage further excellence in and devotion to public health work.

Since Delta Omega's establishment in 1924, the meaning and scope of public health has broadened tremendously. While it is still seriously concerned with problems of environmental sanitation and communicable disease control, public health action has come to embrace all aspects of health and disease in populations. These include the planning, organization and support of health promotion, disease prevention and medical care. Basic to modern public health are the social sciences as well as the natural sciences--both in the United States and internationally.

Membership in Delta Omega reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the field of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Faculty members of Delta Omega currently employed by the Arnold School of Public Health may nominate other faculty and graduating students for membership. All current Delta Omega members may nominate alumni for Delta Omega membership. Nominations and inductions are held each Spring.

Winners of the Delta Omega Fellowship

The Delta Omega Fellowship was established in 2008, and 2020 marks the first year of awarding funds to current students. Annually, the Mu Chapter awards two $750 fellowships (one to a current undergraduate student and one to a current graduate student). This fellowship fund is to support worthy students currently enrolled in the Arnold School of Public Health who demonstrate merit based on academic or research ability or show dedication to public health through service activities.

Jennifer Mandelbaum

Jennifer Mandelbaum

Jennifer Mandelbaum is a fourth-year PhD student in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior, where her research centers on health disparities and social determinants of noncommunicable diseases. At the SC Department of Health and Environmental Control, she works on two Centers for Disease Control and Prevention grants addressing diabetes and heart disease prevention and management in medically underserved counties. As a Junior Scholar at the SmartState Center for Healthcare Quality, her research examines the implementation of primary care recommendations for childhood obesity prevention. This work was awarded first prize at the 2018 Clyburn Health Disparities Lecture and the Public Health Education and Health Promotion Student Oral Session Award at the 2018 American Public Health Association Annual Meeting. Jennifer’s research has been published in journals including Social Science & Medicine and the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior. Jennifer is also actively involved in service, having served as co-president of UofSC’s chapter of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement and president of the Graduate Student Association. Outside of UofSC, she is the Scientific Sessions Chair for the American Public Health Association Student Assembly and the Mentorship and Training Coordinator for the Society of Behavioral Medicine’s Student Special Interest Group. She holds a bachelor’s degree in public health and sociology from Brandeis University and an MPH from the Yale School of Public Health.

Anna Rule

Anna Rule

My name is Anna Rule and I am a Junior Public Health Bachelor of Science Major. I am from Summerfield, North Carolina and am one of four children. After I graduate from USC, I hope to go to Dental School where I can follow my dream of becoming a dentist. After my recent dental mission trip to Peru, I hope to not only serve individuals in the United States, but in other countries too. Ever since I was little, one of my biggest role models has been my pediatric dentist Dr. Scott Cashion. One day I hope to impact people’s lives as much as Dr. Cashion has!


2020-2021 New Members

See below for a list of our 2020-2021 new members or visit our inductees page to learn more about them.



Jiajia Zhang
Peiyin Hung
Jennifer O'Neill
Nabil Natafgi


Dianna Colvin
Serena Finley
Diana Diaz
Eboni Haynes

Graduate Students

Ryan Leighton
Gabriel Benavidez
Mohiuddin Ahsanul Kabir Chowdhury
Allie Silverman
Chloe Rodriguez Ramos
Brianna Ashford-Carroll
Hannah Vickery
Hildehardo Viado
Amanda Elmore
Shelly-Ann Williams Dakarai
Melinda Lengel O'Leary  
Alexa Tavares
Gabriella Reynolds
Alicia Oostdyk
Adam Ereth  
Tina Leonard

Undergraduate Students

Chloe Cobb
Donald Baker
McKenzi Norris
Bethany Hamm

Students Nominated to Submit on Behalf of the Mu Chapter to Delta Omega Poster Session American Public Health Association Annual Meeting

Annually, each chapter of Delta Omega can nominate two graduate students and one undergraduate students to submit abstracts to the American Public Health Association (APHA) Annual Meeting Delta Omega Student Poster Session. The APHA annual meeting will be held October 24-27, 2021 virtually and in Denver, CO. Past winners can be found:

To be eligible for participation in the Delta Omega Student Poster Session, students do not have to be Delta Omega members, but must have been enrolled as a student in the 2020-2021 academic year in order to participate. They must have participated sufficiently in the work to take responsibility for the content of the abstract and be willing to provide any relevant data upon request. The student or submitter must certify that the student has contributed substantially to: (1) the conception and design or analysis and interpretation of data and (2) the drafting and final approval of the submitted abstract.

The Delta Omega Mu Chapter Executive Board review and score abstracts based on the following criteria: (1) evidence of student work; (2) clarity; (3) relevance to public health; (4) potential impact; (5) novelty (e.g. originality, innovation); (6) use of sound methodology.


Undergraduate student

Sabah Bhamani (Title: Association between Anxiety and Diet in College Students: Potential Mediation by Gut Microbiome)

Graduate students

Allie Silverman (Title: Creation of an Inpatient Addiction Consult Service: Lessons Learned from Prisma Health Richland)
Kankana Sengupta (Title: Adverse Childhood Experiences in Relation to Cigarette Smoking and E-Cigarette Vaping among U.S. High School Students)

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.