Skip to Content

TRIO Programs

Advisory Board

The members of the Advisory Board are an important connection between the University of South Carolina's TRIO Programs and the Richland County community. The board meets regularly to discuss goals and needs and functions in an advisory capacity to the program director.

Rev. Aaron R.E. Bishop
Vice-Chair, Richland County School District One Board of School Commissioners
Pastor, Grace Christian Church

Deborah Carlson-Boone, M.S.
PASS/McKinney-Vento Coordinator, Richland County School District One

Baron Davis, Ph.D.
Superintendent, Richland County School District Two

Joey Derrick
Director, Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, University of South Carolina 

 Jamil A. Khan, M.S., Ph.D. 
Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering and Computing, University of South Carolina

James T. McLawhorn
Executive Director, Columbia Urban League

Derrick Meggie
Director, Government and Community Relations, University of South Carolina 

Julie Morris
Director, Office of Undergraduate Research, University of South Carolina

Trina Offing
Coordinator of School Counseling, Richland County School District One

Tiffany Richardson, Ph.D.
General Counsel and Director of Policy and Legal Services, South Carolina School Boards Association

Jasper Salmond, 
Senior Member, Richland County School District One Board Member (retired)

Craig Witherspoon, Ed.D.
Superintendent, Richland County School District One

Karen Woodfaulk, Ph.D.
Director of Student Affairs, South Carolina Commission on Higher Education

Scott Verzyl
Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management and Dean of Undergraduate Admissions, Student Affairs and Academic Support, University of South Carolina

Elliot Vittes, Ph.D.
Executive Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor, Palmetto College 

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.