Skip to Content

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Our People

Learn more about the faculty and staff of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry or contact us. You can also find faculty by specialty or search for additional department personnel including students, researchers and emeritus.

Faculty/StaffNameTitleSecondary TitlePhoneEmailKeywordsTags
Faculty Adams, Richard D. Carolina Distinguished Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Organometallic 803-777-7187 adamsrd@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Angel, S. Michael Carolina Trustee Professor / Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Chair in Chemical Ecology / Analytical Environmental / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-2779 smangel0@mailbox.sc.edu Environmental,Materials,Nano,Physical and Theoretical,Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Ashford, Eric D. Shipping and Receiving Clerk / Departmental Staff 803-777-3905 ashforde@mailbox.sc.edu Stockroom Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Atim, Silvia Instructor / Teaching Staff 803-777-2687 atim@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Bandara, Indika D.M. Organic Lab Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-2117 bandara@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Benicewicz, Brian C. USC Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor / SmartState Endowed Chair in Polymer Nanocomposites / Polymer Materials / Nano / Organic 803-777-0778 benice@sc.edu Materials, Nano, Polymer, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Berg, Mark A. Professor / Physical and Theoretical Biophysical / Chemical Physics / Materials / Nano / Polymer / Spectroscopy 803-777-1514 berg@sc.edu Physical and Theoretical, Biophysical, Chemical Physics, Materials, Nano, Polymer, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Blaisdell, Nancy L. Webmaster and Database Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-1863 blaisden@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Burgess, Samuel Business Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-5010 seburges@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Chen, Donna A. Professor / Adjunct Professor in Chemical Engineering / Physical and Theoretical Analytical / Catalysis / Chemical Physics / Inorganic / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy 803-777-1050 dachen@sc.edu Analytical, Catalysis, Chemical Physics, Inorganic, Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Solid State, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Chruszcz, Maksymilian Associate Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Biophysical / Catalysis / Crystallography 803-777-7399 chruszcz@mailbox.sc.edu Biophysical, Catalysis, Crystallography, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Cohen, Helga J. Assistant to the NMR Director / Departmental Staff 803-777-2649 hjcohen0@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Cotham, William E. Associate Director Mass Spectrometry Services / Departmental Staff 803-777-2039 cotham@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Ferry, John L. Professor / Graduate Director / Environmental Analytical / Bioanalytical / Catalysis / Nano / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-2646 ferry@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Bioanalytical, Catalysis, Environmental, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Freeman, Daniel L. Senior Instructor / Director of Freshman Chemistry Labs / Teaching Staff 803-777-8899 dfreema@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Garashchuk, Sophya Associate Professor / Physical and Theoretical Chemical Physics / Nano/ Materials / Solid state 803-777-8900 garashch@mailbox.sc.edu Chemical Physics, Nano, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Garvin, Demetra B. TFAC / Teaching Staff 803-777-2687 garvindj@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Gatrone, Erin E. Instructor / Teaching Staff 803-777-3904 gatrone@email.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Goodwin, Nanette L. Administrative Assistant / Scheduling Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-0024 lylesl@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Graham, Sarah A. Human Resource Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-7816 sagraham@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Greytak, Andrew B. Assistant Professor / Physical and Theoretical Inorganic / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy / Supramolecular 803-777-0672 greytak@mailbox.sc.edu Crystallography,Inorganic,Materials,Nano,Physical and Theoretical,Solid State,Spectroscopy,Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Handy, George A. Senior Instructor / Organic Lab Director / Teaching Staff 803-777-5188 handy@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Hashemi, Parastoo Assistant Professor / Analytical Bioanalytical / Biochemistry / Nano / Environmental 803-777-6104 hashemi@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Biochemistry, Bioanalytical, Nano, Environmental Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff He, Lijian Mass Spectrometry Center Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-7765 hel@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Karthikeyan, Mythreye Assistant Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 803-576-5806 mythreye@sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Lavigne, John J. Associate Professor / Building Facilities Coordinator / Organic Supramolecular / Bioorganic / Materials / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Polymer / Analytical 803-777-2295 lavignjj@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioorganic, Materials, Nano, Organometallic, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Lovelace, Leslie L. Director of Undergraduate Studies / Departmental Staff 803-777-0458 lovelacl@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Makris, Thomas M. Assistant Professor / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic / Bioorganic / Biophysical / Catalysis / Crystallography / Inorganic / Spectroscopy 803-777-6626 makrist@mailbox.sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioinorganic, Bioorganic, Biophysical, Catalysis, Crystallography, Inorganic, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff McGinnis, Renee M. Undergraduate Student Services Program Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-2597 mcginnir@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Merkel, Jennifer C. Graduate Student Services Program Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-2579 merkelj@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Miron, Jan Stockroom Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-2396 mironj@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Morgan, Stephen L. Professor / Analytical Bioanalytical / Environmental / Forensics / Polymer / Spectroscopy/ Theoretical/Computational 803-777-2461 morgansl@mailbox.sc.edu Bioanalytical, Environmental, Forensics, Polymer, Spectroscopy, Theoretical/Computational Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Myrick, Michael L. Professor / Physical and Theoretical Analytical / Environmental / Forensics / Materials / Spectroscopy 803-777-6018 myrick@mailbox.sc.edu Analytical, Environmental, Forensics, Materials, Spectroscopy, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Outten, Caryn E. Associate Professor and Guy F. Lipscomb Professor of Chemistry / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic / Biophysical 803-777-8783 outten@mailbox.sc.edu Bioinorganic, Biophysical, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Outten, F. Wayne Associate Professor and Guy F. Lipscomb, Sr. Professor of Biochemistry / Assistant Chair / Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Bioinorganic 803-777-8151 outtenf@mailbox.sc.edu Bioinorganic, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Pellechia, Perry J. Director of NMR Services / Departmental Staff Research Associate Professor 803-777-2088 pjpellec@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Perez, Jesus A. Teaching Assistant / Handy Group / Teaching Staff 803-777-2117 perezja@email.sc.edu Chem 102L, Chem 331, Chem 331L, Chem 332, Chem 332L, teaching assistant Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Peryshkov, Dmitry V. Assistant Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Materials / Organometallic 803-777-6414 peryshkov@sc.edu Catalysis, Materials, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Price, Christian A. IT Manager / Departmental Staff 803-777-3160 priceca@mailbox.sc.edu Information Technology, IS Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Rassolov, Vitaly Professor / Physical and Theoretical Chemical Physics / Nano 803-777-7811 rassolov@mailbox.sc.edu Chemical Physics, Nano, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Reger, Daniel L. Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus Inorganic / Organometallic / Supramolecular 803-777-2587 reger@mailbox.sc.edu Inorganic, Organometallic, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Remigino, Peter J. Teaching Assistant / Handy Group / Teaching Staff 803-777-2117 remigino@email.sc.edu TIA for Chem 331 Lab Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Richardson, Susan D. Arthur Sease Williams Professor of Chemistry / Environmental Analytical / Inorganic / Organic / Physical and Theoretical / Spectroscopy 803-777-6932 richardson.susan@sc.edu Environmental, Inorganic, Organic, Physical and Theoretical, Spectroscopy, Analytical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Rombach, Nicole First Year Advisor 803-576-6347 rombach@mailbox.sc.edu University Advising Center Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shaw, Timothy J. Professor / Analytical Environmental / Inorganic / Spectroscopy 803-777-0352 shaw@mailbox.sc.edu Environmental, Inorganic, Spectroscopy Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shimizu, Ken D. Professor/ Department Chair / Organic Physical Organic / Polymer / Supramolecular / Responsive Materials 803-777-6523 shimizu@mailbox.sc.edu Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shimizu, Linda S. Professor / Organic Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Bioorganic / Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Spectroscopy / Supramolecular 803-777-2066 shimizls@mailbox.sc.edu Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Bioorganic, Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Solid State, Spectroscopy, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Shustova, Natalia B. Assistant Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Crystallography / Materials / Organic / Physical and Theoretical / Solid State / Supramolecular 803-777-1903 shustova@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Crystallography, Materials, Organic, Physical and Theoretical, Solid State, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Smith, Mark D. Crystallographer / Departmental Staff 803-576-6032 mdsmith3@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Stefik, Morgan Assistant Professor / Polymer Materials / Nano / Crystallography / Organic / Inorganic / Catalysis / Solid State 803-777-6308 stefik@mailbox.sc.edu Catlysis, Crystallography, Inorganic, Materials, Nano, Polymer, Solid State, Supramolecular, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Tang, Chuanbing Professor and College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Professor / Organic Materials / Nano/ Organometallic / Polymer / Supramolecular 803-777-3628 tang4@mailbox.sc.edu Materials, Nano, Organometallic, Polymer, Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Taylor-Perry, Amelia S. Instructor / General Chemistry Lab Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-1540 taylora4@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Thompson, Rodney C. Grants Coordinator / Departmental Staff 803-777-5265 rct@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Vannucci, Aaron K. Assistant Professor / Inorganic Catalysis / Materials / Organic / Organometallic 803-576-6071 vannucci@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Materials, Organic, Organometallic Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Vogt, Thomas Director of the NanoCenter / Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry / Inorganic Catalysis / Chemical Physics / Crystallography / Environmental / Materials / Nano / Physical and Theoretical / Solid State 803-777-1151 tvogt@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis, Chemical Physics, Crystallography, Environmental, Materials, Nano, Physical and Theoretical ,Solid State Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Walla, Mike Director of Mass Spectrometry Services / Departmental Staff 803-777-2039 mdwalla0@mailbox.sc.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wang, Hui Associate Professor / Physical and Theoretical Biochemistry and Molecular Biology / Biophysical / Materials / Nano / Spectroscopy 803-777-2203 wang344@mailbox.sc.edu Biophysical, Materials, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Nano, Spectroscopy, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wang, Qian Carolina Distinguished Professor / Organic Bioorganic / Materials / Nano / Polymer / Supramolecular 803-777-8436 wang263@mailbox.sc.edu Bioorganic,Materials,Nano,Polymer,Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty Wiskur, Sheryl L. Associate Professor / Organic Catalysis / Organometallic / Supramolecular 803-777-8143 wiskur@mailbox.sc.edu Catalysis / Organometallic / Supramolecular Chemistry and Biochemistry
Staff Zhang, Min Analytical / Instrumental Laboratory Coordinator / Teaching Staff 803-777-3897 zhang339@mailbox.sc.edu Chem 321, Session ll (3S2) Chemistry and Biochemistry
Faculty zur Loye, Hans-Conrad Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education / David W Robinson Palmetto Professor / Inorganic / Crystallography / Materials / Nano / Solid State / Supramolecular 803-777-6916 zurloye@mailbox.sc.edu Crystallography, Materials, Nano, Solid State, Supramolecular College of Arts and Sciences,Chemistry and Biochemistry