Provost Home

About the Provost Office


Dean Reviews

Documents, Forms, and Reports

News & Announcements

Policies and Procedures

Programs and Initiatives

SACS Accreditation



Strategic Planning

University Ombudsman


102 Osborne Admin Building University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC 29208
Phone: (803) 777-2808
Fax: (803) 777-9502

FAQs & A to Z Index

A to Z Index | Assessment | CTE | Faculty Manual | Outlook | University Policies

Endowed Chairs

Click here for full criteria PDF document

Name College Department Title
Albrecht, Helmut Medicine Internal Medicine Heyward Gibbes Distinguished Professor in Internal Medicine
Angel, Michael Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Fred M. Weissman Palmetto Professor of Chemical Ecology
Avignone, III, Frank T. Arts & Sciences Physics & Astronomy Carolina Endowed Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Bender, Jay Mass Comm.& Info. Studies Jouralism & Mass Comm. Reid H. Montgomery Freedom of Information Chair
Bennett, Charles Pharmacy Pharmacy Frank P. and Josie M. Fletcher Professorship in Pharmacoeconomics
Berger, Allen Moore School of Business Finance H. Montague Osteen, Jr. Professorship in Banking and Finance
Berger, Franklin Arts & Sciences Biological Sciences George H. Bunch, Sr. Professor of Science
Blackburn, McKinley Moore School of Business Business James A. Morris Professor in Economics
Booze, Rosemarie M. Arts & Sciences Psychology Bicentennial Chair Professor in Behavorial Neuroscience
Bowman, Vicki V. Arts & Sciences Biological Sciences Wade T. Batson, Jr. Professor of Botany
Brett, Allan S. Medicine Medicine Orlando B. Mayer, Sr. And Orlando B. Mayer, Jr. Professor of Internal Medicine
Brinkmeyer, Robert H Arts & Sciences English Emily Brown Jefferies Professor of English
Chao, Bill Yuh-Jin Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering John Ducate, Sr. Chair Professorship of Mechanical Engineering
Chappell, Henry Moore School of Business Business Dewey H. Johnson Professor of Economics
Chaudhry, M. Hanif Engineering & Computing Civil Engineering Mr. and Mrs. Irwin B. Kahn Professor of Civil Engineering
Colbert, Cynthia Arts & Sciences Art Sarah Bolick Smith Professor of Fine Arts
DeFord, Diane E. Education Education John E. Swearingen Professor of Literacy Education
DiPette, Donald Medicine Medicine Health Sciences Distinguished Professor
Dougal, Roger A. Engineering & Computing Electrical Eng Thomas L. Gregory Professor in Electrical Engineering
Doyle, Don Arts & Sciences History McCausland Professor of History
Feldman, Paula R. Arts & Sciences English C. Wallace Martin Professor of English
Fitzpatrick, Mary Anne Arts & Sciences DEAN Educational Foundation University Professor
Grant, August Mass Comm & Info Studies Journalism J. Rion McKissick Chair in Journalism
Hebert, James R. Arnold School of Public Health Epidemiology & Biostat Health Sciences Distinguished Professor
Heiney, Sue Nursing Nursing Dunn-Shealy Professor of Nursing
Helwege, Jean Moore School of Business Finance J. Henry Fellers Professor of Business Administration
Hubbard, Patrick F. Law Tort Law Ronald L. Motley Distinguished Professor for Tort Litigation
Huhns, Michael N. Engineering & Computing Computer Science & Engin NCR Chair in Computer Science and Engineering
Kostova, Tatiana Moore School of Business International Business Buck Mickel Professorship in International Business
Kridel, Craig Education Education E. Smythe Gambrell Professor of Education
Lebioda, Lukasz Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Guy F Lipscomb, Sr. Professor of Biochemistry
Littlefield,  Daniel Arts & Sciences History Carolina Professor of History
Lomazov, Marina Music Music Ira McKissick Koger Professor of Fine Arts
Malhotra, Manoj K. Moore School of Business Management Science Jeff Bates Professor of Public Administration and Finance
MacKenzie, Simon P. Arts & Sciences History Caroline McKissick Dial Chair in History
Medlin, S. Alan  Law Real Estate, Trusts & Estates David W. Robinson Professor of Law
Mills, Heidi Education Instruction and Teacher Ed John C. Hungerpiller Professor
Morris, James T. Arts & Sciences Biological Sciences Class of 1932 Distinguished Professorship in Marine Studies
Portnoy, Donald C. Music Music Ira McKissick Koger Professor of Fine Arts
Powell, Burnele V. Law Law Miles and Ann Loadholt Chair of Law
Pratt, Walter Law Law James P. Mozingo III Legal Research
Reynolds, Anthony P., Engineering & Computing Mechanical Engineering Frank B. Herty Bicentennial Chair in Engineering
Rhu, Lawrence F Arts & Sciences English William Joseph Todd Chair in Italilan Renaissance
Ritter, James A. Engineering & Computing Chemical Engineering L. M. Weisiger Professor of Engineering
Rizvi, Ali Medicine Internal Medicine A. T. Chalk Professorship in Internal Medicine
Roth, Kendall J. Moore School of Business International Business J. Willis Cantey Professor of International Business and Economics
Sharma, Subhash Moore School of Business Marketing James F. Kane Professor of Business
Shields, David S. Arts & Sciences English Euphemia McClintock Professor of Southern Letters
Spinale, Francis Medicine Cell Biology & Anatomy The Professorship of Personalized Medicine
Starr, Harvey          Arts & Sciences Political Science Dag Hammarskjold Professor of International Affairs
Stephens, Diane L. Education Education John E Swearingen Professor of Education
Taylor, R. Caughman Medicine Pediatrics William Weston, MD Professor of Pediatrics
Teegen, Hildy Moore School of Business Business Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor
Vazsonyi, Nicholas Arts & Sciences Lang, Lit & Cultures Jessie Chapman Alcorn Memorial Professor of Foreign Languages
Vogt, Thomas Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Educational Foundation Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Wang, Qian Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Robert L. Sumwalt Professor of Chemistry
Webb, Richard Arts & Sciences Physics and Astronomy John M. Palms Bicentennial Prof & COEE in Experimental Nanoscale Physics
Wei, Ran Mass Comm & Info Studies Journalism Gonzales Brothers Professor of Journalism
Weidner, John Engineering & Computing Chemical Engineering CEC Campaign for Excellence Professor of Chemical Engineering
Weiss, Scott Music Music Sarah Bolick Smith Professor of Fine Arts
Wright, Patrick Moore School of Business Management Science Thomas C. Vandiver Bicentennial Chair in the Moore School of Business
Yell, Mitchell L. Education Educational Studies Fred & Francis Lester Palmetto Chair in Teacher Education
Zur Loye, Hanno Arts & Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry David W. Robinson Palmetto Professor

2008-09 Carolina Distinguished Professors