Skip to Content

Jewish Studies Program


Jewish Holiday Information

Religious Observance Absences

University of South Carolina attendance policy regarding absences for religious observance suggests that students “meet with the instructor early in the semester to discuss the consequences of potential excessive absences due to … observances of major religious holidays according to the interfaith calendar.”  It is further suggested that “faculty give due consideration to absences relating to … religious holy day[s].”

If you are a student whose Jewish holiday observance falls on a class day, you should consult with your instructor early in the semester to advise him/her regarding your plans to be absent for the holidays that you plan to observe. If you need further assistance in gaining accommodation, you should next consult with your academic advisor (undergraduate or graduate).  You should not expect full accommodation if you do not inform your instructor until the week of the observance, or if you miss a class without first explaining the reasons for your absence.

If you are an instructor needing to observe a Jewish holiday on one of your assigned teaching days, you should first discuss the matter with your department chair. Possible accommodations (depending upon the type of course) may include (but are not limited to): arranging for a colleague in your department to cover your classes, preparing a graduate assistant to provide instruction in your absence, planning an internet-based assignment to be done during the class time, or rescheduling a class meeting (provided all those enrolled in the class can be accommodated).  If you need further assistance in making such arrangements or in explaining your circumstances, you might next consult with the office of your College or School Dean.

Instructors and students with questions about such accommodations, or who wish advice concerning accommodation for Jewish religious observance, are welcome to contact the director of Jewish Studies.

Upcoming Jewish Holiday Schedule

2017-2018 School Year

Rosh Hashanah ................... Thu & Fri, Sep 21-22, 2017
Yom Kippur ........................................... Sat, Sep 30, 2017
Succot ..................................... Thu & Fri, Oct 5-6, 2017
Sh'mini Atzeret ......................................Thu, Oct 12, 2017
Simchat Torah ........................................ Fri, Oct 13, 2017
Hanukkah ............................................. Wed, Dec 13, 2017
Purim ....................................................... Thu, Mar 1, 2018
Passover (start) ............. Sat & Sun, Mar 31-Apr 1, 2018
Passover (end) ........................ Fri & Sat, Apr 6-7, 2018
Yom Hashoah..........................................Thu, Apr 12, 2018
Yom Haatzmaut ....................................... Thu Apr 19, 2018
Lag B'Omer ............................................. Thu, May 3, 2018
Shavuot ........................... Sun & Mon, May 20-21, 2018
Tisha B'Av ................................................ Sat, Jul 21, 2018

2018-2019 School Year

Rosh Hashanah ................ Mon & Tue, Sep 10-11, 2018
Yom Kippur ........................................... Wed, Sep 19, 2018
Succot ............................... Mon & Tue, Sep 24-25, 2018
Sh'mini Atzeret ......................................Mon, Oct 1, 2018
Simchat Torah ........................................ Tue, Oct 2, 2018
Hanukkah ............................................... Mon, Dec 3, 2018
Purim ...................................................... Thu, Mar 21, 2019
Passover (start) .................. Sat & Sun, Apr 20-21, 2019
Passover (end) ..................... Fri & Sat, Apr 26-37, 2019
Yom Hashoah......................................... Thu, May 2, 2019
Yom Haatzmaut ....................................... Fri, May 10, 2019
Lag B'Omer ........................................... Thu, May 23, 2019
Shavuot .............................. Sun & Mon, Jun 9-10, 2019