Skip to Content

University Registrar


Banner Image

Deadline Dates

Review the deadlines below to ensure you are on track with your graduation application and informed about your commencement ceremony.

Graduation and Commencement Deadlines

Spring 2017
Event Date
Colleges have approved or disapproved all Spring 2017 degree candidates June 15, Thursday
Diplomas mailed to degree recipients No later than Aug. 31, Thursday
Summer 2017
Event Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Summer 2017 May 8, Monday - July 15, Saturday
Graduation application deadline for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Summer 2017; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate July 15, Saturday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges Aug. 4, Friday
There is no Summer Commencement ceremony. If you would like to participate in a Commencement ceremony, please complete the Request to Participate in Commencement Early/Late Form  
Colleges have approved or disapproved all Summer 2017 degree candidates Sept. 14, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.
Fall 2017
Event Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Fall 2017 Aug. 16, Wednesday - Sept. 30, Saturday
Graduation application deadline for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Fall 2017; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate Sept. 30, Saturday

Late Walk request deadline for Columbia campus students; complete the Request to Participate in Commencement Early/Late Form

Note: Students graduating in Summer may apply to walk late in Fall. Students graduating in Fall must walk in the Fall ceremony.

Sept. 30, Saturday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges Oct. 30, Monday
Guest tickets available online to students approved for degree candidacy Nov. 6, Monday - Nov. 17, Friday
Seat assignments emailed to students approved for degree candidacy No later than Dec. 11, Monday
Colleges have approved or disapproved all Fall 2017 degree candidates Jan. 25, Thursday
Spring 2018
Event Date
Graduation application available online for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Spring 2018 Dec. 19, Tuesday - Feb. 14, Wednesday
Graduation application deadline for Columbia campus students who wish to graduate in Spring 2018; online application available in Self Service Carolina under Apply to Graduate Feb. 14, Wednesday
Early Walk request deadline for Columbia campus students; complete the Request to Participate in Commencement Early/Late Form March 9, Friday
Degree candidacy approval deadline for Columbia campus colleges March 14, Wednesday
Guest tickets available online to students approved for degree candidacy TBA
Commencement Program Sent to Printer - degree candidates who submit their graduation application after this date will not have their name included in the program April 9, Monday
Seat assignments emailed to students approved for degree candidacy On or before May 7, Monday
Colleges have approved or disapproved all Spring 2018 degree candidates On or before June 15, Friday