Skip to Content

Office of the Faculty Senate

Faculty Senators

The Faculty Senate consists of 10 percent of the voting members of the faculty, elected by each college, school, or regional campus, except that the clinical, teaching faculty from each School of Medicine will be represented by three faculty.

Each spring semester, the Faculty Senate office calculates the appropriate senate representation for each college and school. Senators are elected for a three-year term in the spring, with the term beginning with the fall semester.  Every faculty member has the right to attend and address the senate, but only senators may vote.

New senators should review New Senator Training [pdf], Information for Senators [pdf] and the Quick Guide to Parliamentary Procedure [pdf].


2018-2019 Senators

Current faculty senators are listed by college and department below. To find the contact information for a specific person, search by keyword.

Department Name Year Email Keywords(hidden column)
College of Arts & Sciences
Aerospace Studies
Marc Langohr 2019 langohr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Anthropology
Sherina Feliciano-Santos 2021 felicias@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Zhengquing Fu 2019 zfu@mailbox.sc.edu     
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Robert Friedman 2020 bobf@biol.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Deanna Smith 2020 deannasm@biol.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Joshua Stone 2020 stone@sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Biological Sciences
Sofia Lizarraga
2021 lizarras@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Chuanbing Tang 2019 tang4@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
John Lavigne 2020 lavignjj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
F. Wayne Outten 2020 wayne.outten@mail.chem.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Hui Wang
 
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Criminology and Criminal Justice
John Burrow 2019 burrowj@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Anne Gulick  2019 agulick@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Elaine Chun 2020 chune@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Jonathan Edwards 2020 edwardjj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Michael Gavin 2020 mgavin@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Sara Schwebel 2020 schwebel@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Gretchen Woertendyke 2020  woertend@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
English
Mark Minett
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Kirstin Dow 2019 dowk@mailboxc.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Geography
Meredith DeBoom
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Thomas Brown 2019 browntj@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Carol Harrison 2019 ceharris@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Andrew Berns 2021 aberns@malbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
History
Dinyar Patel 2021 pateldi@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Michael House 2019 housemk@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Alanna Breen 2020 breenam@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences 
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Ellen Brightwell 2020 brightek@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Aria Dal Molin 2020 dalmolin@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Rebecca Janzen 2021 janzenr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures
Greg Patterson 2021 gpatters@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Jess Kass 2019 kassj@math.sc.edu    
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Alex Duncan 2020 duncan32@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Eva Czabarka
 
2021
 
 
College of Arts & Sciences
Mathematics
Paula Vasquez
 
2021  
College of Arts & Sciences
Military Science (Army)
Lou Frketic 2019 frketic@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Naval Science
Robert Osterhoudt
2019  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
Anne Bezuidenhout 2020 annebez@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Philosophy
Heike Sefrin-Weis 2020 sefrinwe@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Steve Rodney 2020 rodneysa@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Matthias Schindler 2020 mschindl@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Physics & Astronomy
Yuriy Pershin 2020 pershin@physics.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
John Hsieh 2020 jfhsieh0@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Political Science
Robert Oldendick
 
2021
 
 
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Amit Almor 2019 almor@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Scott Decker 2019 sdecker@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Jennifer Vendemia
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Psychology
Douglas Wedell
2020  
College of Arts & Sciences
Religious Studies
Stephanie Mitchem 2020 mitchesy@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Gwen Geidel 2020 geidel@environ.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
Susan Lang 2020 langsq@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
David Fuente 2021 fuente@seoe.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Simon Tarr 2019 tarr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Hyunji Kwon 2021 kwon7@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
School of Visual Art & Design
Peter Chametzky 2021 chametzk@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Sociology
Mathieu Deflem 2019 deflem@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
David Hitchcock 2020 hitchcock@stat.sc.edu    
College of Arts & Sciences
Statistics
Lianming Wang 2020 wang99@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
Amy Lehman
 
2019  
College of Arts & Sciences
Theatre & Dance
David Britt 
2021 brittdg@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education
James Kirylo
 
2019  
College of Education Susan Bon 2020 bons@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Daniella Cook 2020 cookda2@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education
George Roy
2020  
College of Education Bridget Miller 2020 btmiller@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Linda Nilges 2020 lnilges@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education Katie Wolfe 2020 kmwolfe@mailbox.sc.edu   
College of Education Melissa Baker 2020 mbaker@sc.edu  
College of Education  Ryan Carlson 2021 carlsorg@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Panayiotis Doutis 2021  doutisp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Education  Spencer Platt 2021  splatt@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Sourav Banerjee
2019
 
 
College of Engineering and Computing Guoan Wang 2019 gwang@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Ehsan Jabbarzadeh 2019 jabbarza@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Ramy Harik 2020 harik@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Joseph Flora 2020 flora@cec.sc.edu

 

 
College of Engineering and Computing Yinchao Chen 2021 chenyin@engr.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Neset Hikmet 2021 nhikmet@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing Nathan Huynh 2021 huynhn@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Jianjun Hu
2021  
College of Engineering and Computing Erdem Sasmaz 2021 sasmaz@cec.sc.edu  
College of Engineering and Computing
Srihari Nelakuditi
2021 srihari@cec.sc.edu  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Scott Smith
 
2019
 
 
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management Sang-Eun Byun 2020 sbyun@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
John Grady
2020  
College of Hospitality, Retail & Sport Management
Karen Edwards
2020  
College of Nursing Phyllis Raynor 2019 raynorp@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Jennifer Hulett 2020 hulettj@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Abbas Tavakoli 2020 atavakol@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing Karen Worthy 2020 kworthy0@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Nursing
Kim Priode
2021  
College of Pharmacy Caitlin Mardis 2019 musgravc@cop.sc.edu  
College of Pharmacy Jing Fang 2021 fang8@cop.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Nikki Wooten 2019 wootennr@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work Bethany Bell 2020 bellb@mailbox.sc.edu  
College of Social Work
Dana DeHart
 
2020  
College of Social Work Michael Ottone 2020 ottone@mailbox.sc.edu  
Law School Bryant Walker Smith 2019 bryantws@law.sc.edu  
Law School Seth Stoughton 2019 swstough@law.sc.edu  
Law School Shelley Welton 2020 swelton@law.sc.edu  
Law School Jesse Cross 2020 jmcross@law.sc.edu  
Law School Andy Kretschmar 2021 kretschm@law.sc.edu  
Law School Eve Ross 2021 rossea@law.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Ling Harris 2019 ling.harris@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Jason DeBacker 2019 jason.debacker@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Nichelle Carpenter 2020 nichelle.carpenter@moore.sc.edu   
Moore School of Business Dongmei Li 2020 li378@mailbox.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Chun-Hui Miao 2020 miao@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Christopher Summers 2020 summers7@mailbox.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business Christopher Yenkey 2020 cyenkey@moore.sc.edu  
Moore School of Business
Elizabeth Ravlin
2021  
Moore School of Business Luv Sharma 2021
 
 
Palmetto Colleges
Extended University
Mary Hjelm
 
2021   
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Elizabeth Easley 2019 easleyea@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Steven Campbell
2021
 
 
Palmetto Colleges
Lancaster
Stephen Criswell
2021 criswese@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Nicole Ramirez 2020 nicoler@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Salkehatchie
Fidele Ngwane 2020 ngwanef@mailbox.sc.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Pearl Fernandes 2019 perfernan@uscsumter.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Wanda Fenimore 2020 fenimorw@uscsumter.edu  
Palmetto Colleges
Sumter
Kajal Ghoshroy
2020  
Palmetto Colleges
Union
Avery Fouts 2020 foutsam@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine - Greenville Thomas Nathaniel 2019 nathanit@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Tara Mortensen 2019 taram@sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
Denise McGill 
2019  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Leigh Moscowitz 2019 moscowil@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Carmen Maye 2020 maye@mailbox.sc.edu       
School of Journalism and Mass Communications Lisa Sisk 2020 siskl@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Library and Information Science Elise Lewis 2020 elewis@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Susan Wood 2019 susan.wood@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Carole Oskeritzian 2020 carole.oskeritzian@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Lucia Pirisi-Creek 2020 lucia.pirisi-creek@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Jay Potts 2020 jay.potts@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Traci Testerman 2020  
School of Medicine Robert Dawson 2021 robert.dawson@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Alexa Gandy 2021 alexa.gandy@uscmed.sc.edu  
School of Medicine Ali Rizvi 2021 ali.rizvi@usced.sc.edu  
School of Music Craig Butterfield 2019 cbutterfield@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Cormac Cannon 2019 cormacc@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Music Mandy Fang 2019 mfang@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music Ari Streisfeld 2020 astreisfeld@mozart.sc.edu  
School of Music
Jeffrey Shaw
2020  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
Charley Adams 2020 charley@sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Communication Sciences & Disorders
William Matchin
2021  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
Mohammed Baalousha 2020 mbaalous@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Environmental Health Sciences
W. Joe Jones 2020 jones7@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Jim Burch 2019 jbburch@sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Marco Geraci 2019 geraci@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Glenn Weaver 2020 weaverrg@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Exercise Science
Terry Moore 2020
 
 
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Courtney Monroe 2019 cmmonroe@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Promotion, Education and Behavior
Heather Brandt 2020 hmbrand@mailbox.sc.edu  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Zaina Qureshi 2019  
School of Public Health
Health Services Policy & Management
Janelle Downing 2020 jdown@mailbox.sc.edu  
Undergraduate Affairs
School of Public Health
Sara Corwin 2020 corwins@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Jessica Harvey 2019 harveyj4@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Jen Wochner 2019 wochnerj@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries Stacy Winchester 2020 winches2@mailbox.sc.edu  
University Libraries
Li Ma
 
2021  
University Libraries 
Megan Oliver
2021 moliver2@mailbox.sc.edu  

Challenge the conventional. Create the exceptional. No Limits.

©