Skip to Content

College of Engineering and Computing


Advising Contacts

 

Undergraduate Advising Contacts

Students are required to meet with their advisors at least once a semester, prior to course registration for the next semester. Advisors discuss and sign student advisement forms. However, please contact them at any time if you need anything. They are here to help you navigate the path to graduation from the University of South Carolina.

 

Who Is My Advisor?

To find out who your advisor is, log in to Self Service Carolina then click “DegreeWorks.” Your advisors name is at the top of that page.

 

First Year Student Advisors

Our helpful and friendly First Year Advisors help freshmen and new transfer students to succeed in the College of Engineering and Computing. 

Brian McCaster

Brian McCaster

Swearingen Engineering Center, Room 1A01L
803.777.4023
Email: mccastbr@cec.sc.edu

Lisa Pierce

Lisa Pierce 

Swearingen Engineering Center, Room 1A01J
803.576.6333
Email: pierce9@cec.sc.edu

 

  

Continuing Student Advisors

Continuing students are assigned Faculty Advisors who provide information about career planning, professional development, and degree requirements. Faculty Advisors also discuss and sign student advisement forms. 

Contact information for each faculty advisor is found in the CEC Faculty Staff Directory

 

Department and College Contacts

Need help beyond your advisor? Contact the appropriate department person, listed below.

Department/Program

Administrator

 Undergraduate Director

Chair/Director

Biomedical Engineering
301 Main Street
Swearingen 1B33

Leslie Jenkins
Administrative Coordinator
803-777-2310
jenkinl@mailbox.sc.edu

Dr. Mark Uline
Assistant Professor
803-777-2030
uline@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Melissa Moss
Director, Professor 
803-777-5604
mossme@cec.sc.edu

Chemical Engineering
301 Main Street
Swearingen 2C02

Loretta Hardcastle
Administrative Assistant to the Chair
803-777-4181
hardcasl@cec.sc.edu 

Dr. Chris Williams
Professor
803-777-0143
willia84@cec.sc.edu

Dr. John Weidner
Department Chair, Professor
803-777-3207
weidner@cec.sc.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering
300 Main Street C230 

Karen Ammarell
Administrative Assistant
803-777-9482
ammarell@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Juan Caicedo
Professor
803-777-1925
caicedo@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Robert Mullen
Department Chair, Professor
803-777-3614
rlm@cec.sc.edu

Computer Science
and Engineering
301 Main Street
Swearingen 3A01L

Randi Baldwin
Administrative Coordinator
803-777-7979
baldwirk@cse.sc.edu

Dr. José Vidal
Professor
803-777-0928
vidal@sc.edu

Dr. Matt Thatcher
Interim Department Chair, Professor
803-777-2895
thatche1@cec.edu

Integrated Information Technology
1301 Gervais Street
IT-oLogy Tower, Suite 1010

Janice Bedenbaugh
Administrative Coordinator
803-777-6622
bjanice@cec.sc.edu

Dr. John Gerdes Jr.
Associate Professor
803-777-8529
jgerdes@sc.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Regan
Department Chair, Professor 
803-777-2286
earegan@mailbox.sc.edu

Electrical Engineering
301 Main Street
Swearingen 3A80

Nat Paterson
Administrative Assistant
803-777-2877
valuncha@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Grigory Simin
Professor
803-777-0986
simin@engr.sc.edu

Dr. Roger Dougal
Department Chair, Professor
803-777-7890
dougal@cec.sc.edu

Mechanical Engineering
Aerospace Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
300 Main Street A224

Renee Jenkins
Administrative Assistant
Student Services
803-777-9549
jenkinsr@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Stephen McNeill
Associate Professor
803-777-3407
mcneill@cec.sc.edu

Dr. Jamil Khan
Department Chair, Professor
803-777-1578
khan@cec.sc.edu