University of South Carolina

Two students among finalists for Rhodes scholarships

Two University of South Carolina students have been named finalists for a Rhodes Scholarship. Seniors Gurjeet “Jeet” Guram and Joseph “Joey” Montoya will interview for the prestigious award Nov. 20 in Kansas City.

Jeet Guram
Jeet Guram
Joey Montoya
Joey Montoya

Guram, a baccalaureus artium et scientiae (BARSC) major, is studying biology, economics and political science and plans to attend medical school. The BARSC is a self-designed degree program available to members of South Carolina Honors College.

Founder of the university’s chapter of the Roosevelt Institution, a non-partisan policy think tank, Guram says he is interested in the intersection of medicine and public policy. He is a recipient of the university’s prestigious Carolina Scholarship, awarded by the A.T. and Frances Chalk scholarship fund. He is the son of Davinder and Surb Guram of Irmo and a graduate of Irmo High School.

Montoya is pursuing dual degrees in chemical engineering and mathematics, with a minor in music performance. Montoya’s interest in catalysis and lab research with Drs. Christopher Williams and John Monnier in the university’s department of chemical engineering led to his being published in the scientific journal, Catalysis Today. He is a student in South Carolina Honors College and is a recipient of the university’s prestigious Carolina Scholarship, awarded by both the William B. Douglas and the David W. Robinson scholarship funds. Montoya is the son of Sara & Barry Montoya of Summerville and a graduate of Summerville High School.

The University of South Carolina has had nine Rhodes scholars.

Among the most prestigious and recognizable national fellowship awarded to U.S. students, the Rhodes allows recipients to study for two years at Oxford University in England. Up to 32 are awarded each year. For more information on the award, go to

The Office of Fellowships and Scholar Programs assists university students competing for national fellowships and scholarships such as the Rhodes. For more information, visit

The University Rhodes Scholarship Committee is chaired by Dr. Davis Baird (S.C. Honors College). Committee members include Dr. Madilyn Fletcher (School of the Environment), Dr. Carol Harrison (history), Dr. Kevin Lewis (religious studies), Dr. Robert Patterson (history) and Dr. William Rivers (English).

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 11/11/09 @ 12:00 AM | Updated: 11/11/09 @ 6:05 PM | Permalink