University of South Carolina

USC Symphony ends season with world-renowned pianist

The University of South Carolina Symphony Orchestra completes its 2010-11 season Tuesday, April 12, with a performance by Romanian pianist Judit Gabos at the Koger Center for the Arts.

Tickets for the 7:30 p.m. performance are $25 for adults, $20 for USC faculty, staff and seniors and $8 for students and will be available online at or by phone at 803-251-2222.

Gabos, a visiting faculty member at the USC School of Music, has performed at music competitions and festivals throughout Europe. Living in Hungary since 1991, she has performed throughout her native country as well as in Belgium, Turkey, Finland, Serbia, Spain and the United States. Since 2000, she has been a featured artist on Hungarian National Radio.

Gabos will perform Franz Liszt’s “Second Piano Concerto,” a lyrical and poetic piece composed for piano accompaniment. Under the direction of Maestro Donald Portnoy, the symphony will also perform George Gershwin’s “Cuban Overture” and Antonin Dvorak’s “Symphony No. 8.” For more information about the University of South Carolina Symphony Orchestra, contact the symphony office at 803-777-7500.

USC Symphony Orchestra concert

  • Who: Romanian pianist Judit Gabos to perform with symphony
  • When: April 12, 7:30 p.m.
  • Where: Koger Center for the Arts

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 03/21/11 @ 3:25 PM | Updated: 03/21/11 @ 3:26 PM | Permalink