University of South Carolina

College notes

SC College of Pharmacy granted full accreditation

The South Carolina College of Pharmacy has received full accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE).

The SCCP was formed when the University of South Carolina and the Medical University of South Carolina integrated their colleges of pharmacy. Its first class, which enrolled in fall 2006, graduated this spring. While the SCCP went through the accreditation process, the legacy colleges of pharmacy at USC and MUSC retained their existing accredited status so all students who enrolled prior to the integration could finish in the program.

USC professor named American Chemical Society fellow

John H. Dawson, chair of the USC department of chemistry and biochemistry, has been named to the 2010 class of American Chemical Society fellows. He is one of 192 distinguished scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. The 2010 fellows represent academe, industry and government.

Arnold School researcher wins Pfizer fellowship

Dr. Edith Williams of USC’s Arnold School of Public Health has been awarded the 2010 Pfizer Fellowship in Health Disparities. Williams’ study will focus on an intervention to reduce the psychosocial and biological indicators of stress in African-American lupus patients. She will collaborate with the Medical University of South Carolina’s Lupus Erythematosus Clinical Research Group.

Williams is the deputy director for research and sustainability at the Institute for Partnerships to Eliminate Health Disparities and is a research assistant professor in the department of epidemiology and biostatistics at USC.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services reports that African-American women are three times more likely to get lupus than white women. They also tend to develop lupus at a younger age and have more severe symptoms than whites. The Pfizer award, which carries a stipend of $130,000 over two years, is designed to support the career development of talented junior researchers.

By Office of Media Relations

Posted: 08/13/10 @ 1:55 PM | Updated: 08/13/10 @ 2:05 PM | Permalink